Book Notification

Jasmine Toguchi Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jasmine Toguchi Books

Jasmine Toguchi, Super Sleuth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine Toguchi, Drummer Girl (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine Toguchi, Flamingo Keeper (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine Toguchi, Brave Explorer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine Toguchi, Peace-Maker (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine Toguchi, Bridge Builder (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jasmine Toguchi Series

American children’s author Debbi Michiko Florence is well known for her bright and colorful books aimed at a primarily middle-grade audience. Understanding her readers, she really has a way with words and writing, knowing how to both entertain and educate in equal measure. Teaching and speaking, she writes in a clear and straightforward manner, delivering well plotted and fun stories for her young readers to learn from. A series that really captures this is her highly regarded ‘Jasmine Toguchi’ series of novels, as they feature lots of humor and heart.

With the series itself it’s run for four books and counting, with plenty of room to continue growing as a franchise indefinitely. Creating the illustrations herself, Debbi Michiko Florence designs all of the images herself, really bringing the series to life on the page. The books have also won nominations and awards, such as the fourth book being a ‘Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2018.’

The series itself follows the character of Jasmine Toguchi, an eight year old girl who goes about her life growing up. Learning different lessons such as the value of friendship and what growing up means, there’s always a strong message featured each time. Not only that, but each book also contains an activity for the readers themselves to follow along with and get involved.

Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen

First brought out through the ‘Farrar, Straus and Giroux’ publishing imprint, this was initially released in 2017 on the 10th of July. It would be the first in the Jasmine Toguchi series of novels, introducing the lead eponymous character for the very first time. Illustrated by Elizabet Vukovic, it’s a bright and lively picture book for young readers, with a self-contained story at the heart of it.

With a range of different interests, eight year old Jasmine Toguchi is sick and tired of her older sister Sophie getting to do everything before her. Now New Years is approaching fast, and everyone’s preparing for the celebrations, with the family gathering in Los Angeles for the big occasion. Jasmine’s sister is getting to roll Mochi balls with the women in the family, which Jasmine herself wants to do, but she’s apparently too young. That’s when she decides that she’ll instead roll Mochi rice with the men instead, but that’s been traditionally reserved for me, as she attempts to prove she’s more than capable.

A fun and engaging first book, this really brings the series to life with a colorful and inventive starting title. Setting up the franchise, it not only introduces Jasmine Toguchi for the first time, but it also features a fun and imaginative first story. Keeping young readers entertained all the way, it definitely manages to make the most of its premise, in what promises to be a similarly colorful series.

Jasmine Toguchi, Super Sleuth

Once again released through the ‘Farrar, Straus and Giroux’ publishing house, this would also come out on the 10th of July in 2017. Providing another colorful picture book story for children, it would offer a further adventure for the character of Jasmine Toguchi. Continuing on in a similar vein as before, Elizabet Vukovic would illustrate this book too, really bringing it to life for its young readers.

Looking forward to celebrating Girl’s Day with her friends, Jasmine Toguchi is preparing to celebrate the Japanese holiday that honors girls and women. With her best friend Linnie coming over, they’ll celebrate along with Jasmine’s older sister Sophie, as they’re given clothes to dress up in by Mrs. Reese, Jasmine’s neighbor. It seems though, that something else is underway, as everyone around Jasmine is acting strangely and, not to mention the dark and scary garage where the outfits are stored. With Linnie heading home early and Sophie reluctant to join in the celebrations, Jasmine must put the pieces together and find out what’s really going on.

The second book in the series, this really makes learning to read fun for its younger audience, as there’s a lot of creative ideas here. Knowing her readers well, Florence gives the story a real sense of drive, pushing the story to its fully potential, making it both funny and entertaining. The illustrations are also very well done, as they really bring story to life, perfectly accompanying the characters.

Jasmine Toguchi, Drummer Girl

This would first be published in 2018 on the 3rd of April, and it wast to be the third in the ‘Jasmine Toguchi’ series of novels. Continuing on, it’s illustrated by both Elizabet Vukovic and Debbi Michiko Florence herself this time, with another adventure published by the ‘Farrar, Straus and Giroux’ outlet. It would also pave the way for the fourth book, ‘Jasmine Toguchi, Flamingo Keeper,’ which would be released that same year shortly after.

There’s a talent show approaching, and Jasmine Toguchi’s preparing for it, but there’s just one problem; she doesn’t know what her talent is. Exploring many different ideas from tree-climbing to making Mochi, she isn’t sure what talent she’s going to perform at the show. That’s when she discovers the art of Taiko, learning all about the traditional Japanese drum from her mother, as she finds that she really enjoys it. The only problem is is that she’s not fully confident of her skills, which she needs to work on in time for performing at the talent show itself.

Continuing in much the same vein as before, this really delivers on what came before, while offering plenty of potential for the future too. It’s a story that will really entertain its young readers yet again, as it remains a fresh and inventive series with a lot to offer. There’s also plenty of ideas for the readers themselves to engage with, giving them the opportunity to try out the activities seen in the book, such as learning music.

The Jasmine Toguchi Series

Funny bright and colorful, the books really bring the world and character of Jasmine Toguchi to life upon the page. With entertaining adventures each and every time, the series works on a number of different levels for its young readers, regardless of who they are. It has a universal quality to it, making it timeless, as well as teaching its young audience to read in a fun and engaging way.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jasmine Toguchi

Leave a Reply