Book Notification

Jason Goodwin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Yashim The Ottoman Detective Books

The Janissary Tree (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snake Stone (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bellini Card (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Evil Eye (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baklava Club (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yashim Cooks Istanbul (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Time for Tea (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gunpowder Gardens (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Foot to the Golden Horn (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lords of the Horizons (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Otis (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Greenback (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Learning Akka (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Global Debt Crisis and How We Can Get Out of It (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Pilgrim's Guide to Sacred London (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Born in the year 1964, Jason Goodwin is an historian and an English writer. At Cambridge University, Jason studied Bryzantine History. After Gunpowder Gardens, Travel in China and India and a Time for Tea proved to be successful, Jason decided to walk from Poland to Turkey. On the Foot to the Golden Horn talks about his journey and also this book scooped the John Liewellyn Sunday Prize in the year 1993. Later on he wrote about the Lords of the Horizon, a book which was to be future in the front page of the New York times. Later on he became an exceedingly popular author of mystery series with the Janissary Tree being his first ever mystery novel. This novel talks about Yashim the Ottoman investigator, who lived in Istanbul during the 1930’s. This novel won the Edgar Award in the category best novel. All the novels in this series have all been translated to more than 40 languages.

Another novel that Jason authored is the snake stone and it talks about Byron’s doctor and a French archeologist. Bellini card takes the reader to venice and it involves one of the great portraits by Gentile Bellini. The fourth novel is An Evil Eye, which revolves around harem’s sultan and the Istanbul adventure. Jason Goodwin parents are John Mitchel and Jocasta Innes. Nonetheless, his parents had divorced way before he was born. Goodwin met his father first when he was 28 years of age in 1992. He has a half-sister, Daisy Goodwin who is also a novelist and a British novel producer. Goodwin is currently married and has a total of four kids. Throughout his career as an author, Jason has managed to scoop several awards such as the Sunday Telegraph Award, the Thomas Cook Award, John Llellyn award, Edgar Award and the Library Award.

The Janissary Tree

This is the first installment in the Yashim Detective series. This installment introduces the reader to one, Yashim who is a eunuch detective. He is exceedingly resourceful and well versed with the Ottoman and Western cultures. In the year 1826, Sultan Mahmud the Second, not only disbands but also slaughters the Janissaries who were once a great part of the Ottoman empire. However, as time went by they became unruly and were even beyond the control of the sultan himself. More than ten years, the Westernised corps who were brought in as a replacement for the Janniseries were expected to perform a military exercise. 10 days prior to the event, 4 of the officers disappeared beyond trace and later on an officer is found dead. The general decides to entrust Yashim with the mystery. In the meantime, the sultan’s concubine is found dead while his mother’s jewelry is stolen. Yashim must be able to investigate all the three cases at a go.

The cases eventually begin bringing Yashim into and out of the palace, to the mosque, embassies and the streets and alleys of Istanbul. So as to find a solution to these cases, Yashim decides to seek the assistance of the Polish Ambassador, together with the Russian ambassador’s wife. As time goes by, he discovers that all these case are interlinked with one another. Additionally, they are also not a plot for revenge conducted by the Janissaries but it is also the power struggle between the military extreme punishers and the palace eunachs. Eventually, Yashim manages in the end to succeeds to prevent all this conspiracies.

Snake Stone

This is the second book in this series, and just like the first installment, the main protagonist is Yashim. Snake Stone has been set in the year 1838 in Constantinople. Chef, Eunuch, polyglot and detective makes a return in this award-winning book. While in his palace, the Sultan is dying and the city is filled with rumors and swirls. The sudden arrival of a French archeologist who is more than determined in finding out all the lost treasures of Byzantite, eventually throws the community into confusion. Yashim is again appointed to look into the matter. However, when the mutilated body of the archeologist is found, just outside the French embassy, it only appears that there is one suspect. As the number of bodies continue to rise, Yashim must be able to find the hidden truth behind a shadowy society which is fully dedicated to revive the Byzantine empire. Along the way, he encounters exceedingly vibrant characters such as the Lord Byron’s doctor and also the Sultan’s west born mother, Valide. With an irresistible flair and striking wit, Jason takes the reader into a world where it is extremely dangerous while the consequence of betrayal is death.

With that said, the two aspects within this book truly deserve a praise. Since the plot in this book rotates around the discovery of the priceless antiquities, this is definitely a perfect book set which has been set in the city of Istanbul. This plot gives the protagonist, an exceedingly great opportunity to explore the rich and diverse culture of Istanbul both socially and archeologically. Because Goodwin took Byzantine history in college, he is well-versed with the Ottoman history and this is quite evident in the book. By using this knowledge, the author is able to paint a very great picture of Istanbul, which captures the sounds, sights, and the smells of the streets. Additionally, the author is also able to convey a social and political backdrop, which drove all the characters in the book.

Additionally, Goodman does an exceedingly great job of developing the main character, Yashim. In the second book, Yashim is well transformed and an exceedingly endearing character. The other characters are also equally engaging. Finally, Yashim is not the very first detective officer to be as a great cook. By reading the book, you will come to the discovery that the descriptions of the recipes in the book are exceedingly enticing. With that said, this series is a great read. The author has done an excellent job in describing the Ottoman Instanbul. All the characters are well developed throughout the series from the first book in the series to the last.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jason Goodwin

One Response to “Jason Goodwin”

  1. Rosemary Mulligan: 2 years ago

    Love the Yashim stories and now am reading them for the second time. i am a new reader of these 5 books.

    does he plan or has he written any more in this series. i crave a new one or two or three….

    Plese keep up the good work and thanks for writing these great books.

    regards, rosemary mulligan


Leave a Reply