Book Notification

Jason M. Hough Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dire Earth Cycle Books

The Darwin Elevator (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Exodus Towers (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plague Forge (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dire Earth (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Injection Burn (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape Velocity (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mass Effect: Andromeda Books

Nexus Uprising (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Initiation (By: N.K. Jemisin) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Annihilation (By: Catherynne M. Valente) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Gears of War Books

with Michael A. Stackpole, Karen Traviss
Aspho Fields (By: Karen Traviss) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jacinto's Remnant (By: Karen Traviss) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anvil Gate (By: Karen Traviss) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coalition's End (By: Karen Traviss) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Slab (By: Karen Traviss) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ascendance (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodlines (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ephyra Rising (By: Michael A. Stackpole) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Jason M. Hough is a New York Times bestselling writer from America, who likes to write science fiction, thriller, and fantasy novels. He is particularly well known for writing the Dire Earth Cycle book series as well as the near future spy thriller called Zero World. Prior to the start of his writing career, author Hough used to work as a 3D animator, game designer, and artist. He is known to have worked as a designer for popular games likes Aliens v/s Predator: Extinction, Metal Fatigue, etc. Author Hough has also been involved in the field of high performance cluster machine learning and computing. He started writing his first book, The Darwin Elevator, as a part of a 2008 project of National Book Writing Month. Author Hough was able to publish the book in 2013. Immediately after its release it went on to reach the list of the bestselling books by New York Times. The Darwin was the debut published fiction of Hough. During the summer time in the same year, he wrote and released the subsequent books, and also came up with a prequel novella called The Dire Earth in the next year. The first novel in his other well known series written by author Hough is called as Zero World. It was published in the United States by the Del Rey Spectra publication and in Australia and New Zealand by the Titan Books. The book has been called as a thrilling rampage of action confirming the inclusion of author Hough among the important new voices in the fiction genre. As far as the personal life of author Hough is concerned, he is happily married and has a couple of young sons. He lives along with his family in Seattle, Washington.

Hough is very fond of pet animals and he has kept a pet dog in his house, whom he calls Missbuster. The most recent novel that Hough has written in known as Mass Effect Andromeda : Nexus Uprising. It was released by the Titan publication in 2017. In writing this book, author Hough collaborated with another author named KC Alexander. When author Hough is not busy with his writing work or when he is not behind schedule with his upcoming projects, he can be seen spending time in playing with his children and reading books. He can even be seen becoming busy with the exploration of virtual reality or trying his hand at coaxing his 3-D printer in the form of something useful. Author Hough is represented At the KT Literary Publishing by the literary agent named Sara Megibow and at IPG by the agent named Jerry Kalajian for film and TV. He is actively involved with the SFWA and the ITW, and considers himself a proud member of both these writers’ associations. Author Hough has obtained a patent in regards to an invention that he had carried out related to the location based content licensing. After author Hough started work on Darwin Elevator, he kept on making changes in the manuscript for three years. Finally, when he felt that the book was perfect in every sense, he decided to sell the publication rights of the book to the Del Rey publication. The company offered author Hough the contract for writing two more sequels. Hough thinks that he was able to secure the contract because of his dedication towards writing the first book.

The Dire Earth Cycle series written by Jason M. Hough is comprised of 3 novels and 2 novellas in total, which were released between the years 2013 and 2014. In 2017, author Hough added a couple more novels in this series, which are common to a different duology series based on the same series as the original one. The debut book of this excellent science fiction series is entitled ‘The Darwin Elevator’. It was released by the Del publication in the year 2013. Author Hough has mentioned the main characters in this book in the form of Skylar Luiken and Dr. Tania Sharma, and has set the story in Darwin, Australia at the time of the mid 23rd century. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Darwin stands as the only city left with human population on the entire Earth. It appears that the world has fallen victim to a type of alien plague, because of which a majority of the population has transformed into savage and mindless creatures. The ones left unharmed from the plague move to Darwin. It is learned that there is a space elevator in Darwin, which is manufactured by this apocalypse’s architects, the Builders. This elevator is known to emit an aura that suppresses the plague. Skylar Luiken comes to know that he is immune to the plague. He is supported by an international group of immunes like him to lead missions into the deadly wastelands beyond the edge of the aura in finding the resources that Darwin needs to prevent its collapse. However, the Elevator starts malfunctioning and puts the lives of the remaining human race in danger. Skyler Luiken is tasked to find a solution to the mystery of the failing technology of the aliens. By doing so, he will prevent the human race’s ragged remnants to from dying due to the plague, just like the many others. Skylar Luiken is assisted in this attempt by a brilliant scientist named Tania Sharma.

Another excellent novel of this series that author Hough wrote is called ‘The Exodus Towers’. The Del Rey publishers released this book too in 2013. Once again, the characters of Tania Sharma and Skylar Luiken are depicted in the lead roles in the story, which is set in Brazil. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that a 2nd space elevator suddenly appears in Brazil. Because of this sudden appearance, the mystery is deepened even further about the Builder aliens who made it available. On the other hand, the captain of scavenger crew, Skyler Luiken and his brilliant friend Dr Tania Sharma have developed a colony around the base of the new elevator. They have utilized the mobile towers for protecting the humans from the plague of the Builders. Soon, the colony of Sharma and Luiken faces an attack from a band of soldiers who are immune to the plague. This causes Skyler to get cut off from the formed colony. Now, he must fight a war single-handedly against the murderous Subhumans, a new threat, and the Darwin thugs. While doing so, he keeps trying to solve the master plan puzzle of the Builders. Skylar Luiken knows very well that he must come up with the solution very soon or else humanity’s last vestige will also succumb to the plague.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jason M. Hough

Leave a Reply