Book Notification

Jason Webster Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chief Inspector Max Cámara Books

Or the Bull Kills You (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Death in Valencia (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Anarchist Detective (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing of el Niño Jesús (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Med (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Body in Barcelona (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Sunset (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Duende (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Andalus (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
¡Guerra! (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sacred Sierra (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spy with 29 Names (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Violencia: A New History of Spain: Past, Present and the Future of the West (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The World of Max Cámara (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jason Webster is a published author of fiction. He has appeared in a few television documentaries as himself as well.

This highly acclaimed writer also happens to be an expert when it comes to Spain. His work includes travel, biography, history, and crime fiction. His novels have been sold in a variety of countries, a dozen and counting that include the United Kingdom, China, and the United States, among others.

He has been nominated for a variety of awards, including the First Book Award and the New Blood Dagger Award from the CWA. This author has been compared to such authors like Bruce Chatwin and Ernest Hemingway.

Webster was born in the United States near San Francisco. He was raised in the United Kingdom, Italy, and Germany. He finished his degree in 1993 studying Arabic as well as Islamic history while attending Oxford University.

He has also worked at BBC as their World Service editor for quite a few years. Then he ended up leaving in order to become a writer on a full time basis as well as make a move to Spain to live. Jason is a husband as he is married to his wife, a flamenco dancer. Together they share two children, both sons. They split up their time living and having fun between the United Kingdom and Valencia.

Jason Webster is the creator and the author of the Chief Inspector Max Camara series. This series became available to readers for the first time with the release of the debut book in 2011. The sequel came out the next year and the sixth book in the series came out in 2017 and is titled Fatal Sunset.

Or the Bull Kills You is the debut novel in the Chief Inspector series by author Jason Webster. If you are looking for a really cool mystery story to check out and keep you entertained, then check out this novel for yourself!

Sometimes the bull gets killed by you, while other times the bull comes for you and takes you out. That may not be precisely the way that the proverb goes, but Max Camara does not really care. He’s busy enough with his job working as a chief inspector and hates the sport of bullfighting.

Even though he does not care for it, Max somehow gets roped into it anyway. He’s in Valencia and it is one hot afternoon when he is suddenly finding that he has been involved in judging a festival that happens to feature the most famous matador in Spain. The young matador is known far and wide and it is finally time for him to bring his skills to the rings of Valencia once more.

When he goes back into the ring, this young matador is entirely unprepared for what is about to happen. Death and injury are a risk that any matador accepts when they prepare to take on a bull, but even the audience in Valencia is shocked by what the matador ends up discovering there on the blood stained sand.

Things have taken a turn for the worse and it is up to one private investigator to get down to the bottom of it all. As Max hunts his target, making his way through bars and random streets, the festival of Fallas gets underway and people set off firecrackers to mark the festival and the election at town hall.

At the same time, there are people campaigning to put an end to bullfighting once and for all. When they get into a clash with the breeders who are responsible for raising the bulls, things are about to get violent. With life and death on the line, it seems that the people of Spain are getting stirred to passionate levels to match the passionate nature of the sport.

When it comes to bullfighting, this novel showcases the many different ways that people can feel about the contest. Some think it is a noble tradition that needs to be carried on, while others see it as a cruel practice that needs to be stopped. Some say it is a virility test, but is the ring going to end up a site of shame for Spain or its pride?

Max Camara is about to find out in a mystery that will have the reader on the edge of their seat. This detective usually gets to the truth in the end, but is this going to be one of those times? If he can solve this case, then he’ll definitely deserve some brandy afterwards. With authentic settings and an engaging story, check out this novel to see what happens in the end for yourself.

A Death In Valencia is the sequel in the Max Camara series! If the action packed events of the first story were intriguing to you, be sure to check out this second installment in an acclaimed fiction series for yourself written by author Jason Webster.

The detective is back again, and now he is under more pressure than ever. The life of an investigator like Max is can be filled with stress. That’s the nature of the job, and someone that is tasked with solving the types of cases that he is has reason to enjoy a drink of brandy every once in a while.

Little does he know that yet another murder case is about to end up on his desk. Max could have no idea that a paella chef is dead, but that is unfortunately the case. More than that is happening as well. The people in town hall want to demolish a fisherman’s quarter called El Cabanyal on the Valencian sea front.

Meanwhile, an abortionist gets abducted and the Pope is scheduled to pay a visit to their city soon. It’s all stirring up a lot of emotion among the locals. Even the cops have been notified to provide protection to others from the religious and anti-religious crowds that may gather.

Then one of his old enemies is given the kidnapping case instead of him. Even his apartment is cracking, an ominous sign of things to come. Can Max get his head straight and help peace prevail? Pick up this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jason Webster

2 Responses to “Jason Webster”

  1. Annie Cola: 2 years ago

    Any new Max Cámara books since the final sunset??

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Unfortunately not.


Leave a Reply