Book Notification

Jay Coles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lionheart Saga Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Growing Feathers (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Lights (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come as You Were (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tyler Johnson Was Here (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Things We Couldn't Say (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Outer Banks Books

with Alyssa Sheinmel
Lights Out (By: Alyssa Sheinmel) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Break (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Jay Coles is a young adult author, who resides in Indianapolis with his two dogs, Clyde and Bonnie. Apart from being an author, Jay Coles is also a blogger, teacher, musician, composer and a member of the ASCAP.

Jay Coles Best Books
Tyler Johnson Was Here
Tyler Johnson Was Here is an extremely important read mainly because it not only focuses on various key societal issues, but it also highlights the predicaments that most families have to deal with. Irrespective of the color of your skin or the country that you come from, Tyler Johnson-Was Here is a novel, which will change the way in which readers look at certain things such as racism, racial profiling, and extrajudicial killings. Moreover, Tyler Johnson-Was Here is a brilliantly written novel which focuses on a young boy, Marvin as he comes to terms with the disappearance and the sudden death of his twin brother, Tyler. There are numerous key societal issues that author Jay Coles speaks about openly. One of the key societal issue highlighted in Tyler Johnson-Was Here is police brutality, and how people from different races react to police brutality. Moreover, author Jay Coles also shows how hard it can be to try and get over the sudden death of a loved one, especially if they died at the hands of police officers.

Marvin is an extremely fantastic character and getting to see things from Marvin’s point of view was mind-blowing. Apart from being caring, Marvin is also quite compassionate. As author Jay Coles goes through Marvin’s day to day life and his experience as well, the readers will feel nothing but remorse. Nonetheless, seeing Marvin progress throughout the narrative is quite fantastic. The readers will get to see how these events are going to change Marvin’s perspective on life, and also what he may want to do with his life. Apart from being truthful, Marvin is also quite honest. As expected, Tyler Johnson-Was Here is narrated from Marvin’s perspective. The readers get to see Marvin struggle especially after his twin brother; Tyler began to pull away from him, Marvin’s fear after Tyler went missing and Tyler’s anger after his brother was found dead. The entire plot is pushed by Marvin’s emotions. Apart from wanting to find answers, Marvin also wants to know the truth and find justice for his brother.

When Tyler decides to attend a party that he had been invited to, Marvin insists on accompanying him to the party. However, as the party was going on, a shootout breaks out. A few minutes later, the local police conduct a raid on the premises where the party was taking place. During the raid, Tyler goes missing, only to be found a few days later dead. After Tyler’s body is found, things continue to become extremely complicated for Marvin and his mother, when a video of Tyler being shot by the police goes viral. As Marvin and his mother are trying to come to terms with the death of their loved one, a trial against the policemen involved in Tyler’s death begins. As the trial commences, Marvin must decide whether he is determined to go against what everyone else believes in.

Come As You Are
Come As You Are
In Come, As You Are, author Jay Coles introduces the readers to Gunner Bradley, a varsity soccer captain, 80s rock enthusiast, and flutist. Ever since he was young, Gunner Bradley has always believed that life is a series of tragedies and miracles. There are times when certain tragedies will be much bigger than others. According to Gunner, his biggest tragedy, waited until he was in his prime, a time when he lost everything. On one memorable night, a drunk driver breaks Gunner Bradley’s arms and in the processing ruining his social life and his lifelong dream of playing soccer professionally. A few months down the line, Gunner is not only a member of the varsity’s soccer team, but also he is not dating the hottest girl in school. Gunner Bradley eventually finds himself slowly drifting into a depression bout. Nonetheless, as luck would have it, the eccentric new girl, Piper Michelle, comes along. What Bradley does not know is that Michelle is going to change his life forever. Piper Michelle is unlike anyone that Gunner Bradley has ever encountered in his life.

Apart from being fiercely clever, Piper is also carefree and lives on the brink of death and life. Working and living together as a team, Michelle and Piper eventually discover the beauty of living from flash mobs to nude beaches. There are instances when Michelle and Piper, would sit on top of trees just to watch the world. Nonetheless, as Gunner begins to come into terms with his new life and the new friendship between him and Michelle, things begin to get more complicated when he realizes that Michelle does not understand love but is also incapable of feeling love. As Gunner Bradley continues to deal with all these tragedies that continue to come along his path, he eventually realizes that new beginnings can crop up tragic and abrupt endings. Moreover, Gunner also gets to learn that life is a duality and thereby he must consider whether suicide is the answer that he has been looking for.

Lionheart is the first installment in the Lionheart book series, a highly entertaining series, set on what was once known as North America. After the Baitland rose to power, North America was divided into 50 compounds with each compound having its system of government. The system of government within each of the compounds have total control over who lives and who dies. Within this dystopian saga, approximately 25 percent of the population of the world consists of Lionhearts. The Lionhearts are a group of human beings with unique and strange abilities, which ranges from being able to transform into an ice sculpture to controlling the time loops within one’s mind. The remaining 75 per cent is made up of humans. The head of the Baitland, the Guardian also doubles up as the head of the national government.

The Guardian has put in place, a system of government where all the compound governments are given the powers of isolating and keeping certain individuals in captivity. Moreover, all the government officials are exempt from all the laws of the land.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jay Coles

Leave a Reply