Book Notification

Jaye Robin Brown Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of No Place to Fall Books

No Place to Fall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Will's Story (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Meaning of Birds (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Key to You and Me (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Five Months or Forever (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Our Stories, Our Voices(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jaye Robin Brown, known as Jro to her friends, grew up on the Gulf Coast of Alabama in the small town of Belle Fontaine. She had attended high school in the neighboring city of Mobile. During her life, she has been known by many occupations, such as a jeweler. However, she has now dived into the existence of a permanent writer. Brown resides and writes in the northern mountains near Asheville, North Carolina. Before that, she had lived in Atlanta, Georgia. If she is not writing, Brown could be found in the local high school’s art room as a teacher. Though, this fall, she will travel to Boston, Massachusetts for some city living. Although she would like to believe that brownstones may find a way into her writing, Brown assumes the kudzu will always be what initially enters her imagination.

Brown’s first adolescent book, No Place to Fall, was released by the publishing company, Harper Teen, in late 2014. A companion bookla, Will’s Story: A No Place to Fall Bookla, was made available through Epic Reads Impulse, a completely digital print. On August 30, 2016, her second book, Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit, was also released by Harper Teen.


No Place to Fall

Brown’s first book, No Place to Fall, is a story about dreams, singing, friendship, love, betrayal and family. In addition, it is a ballad to small-town girls and the music of the mountains. Both of these influence the region that Brown currently calls home. Referred to as The Sky is Everywhere meets This Lullaby, this book is amatory and moving.

The main character, Amber Vaughn, is the typical good girl. She is a soloist at her church, looks after her nephew, and spends Friday nights hanging around the house of her best friend, Devon McKinney. However, when she hears about an audition at a prominent arts school, Amber determines that her wish—to sing on larger stages—could also be her way to a new life. Will, Devon’s rebellious older brother, assists Amber in preparing for her one opportunity to audition. Amber and Will’s relationship becomes more complex as they spend more time together. This is when Amber begins to doubt if she is such a good girl nevertheless. Then, in one afternoon, the foundation falls out of her family’s world. Amber is now confronted with the unbearable decision between her potential as an artist and her loved ones.

Amber has been described as a lovable, imperfect character that is always attempting to do what is right. Brown depicts her as frequently becoming caught up in situations beyond her control. Like most people, Amber finds herself contemplating how she can get to where she wants to go. Attempting to travel from Point A to Point B always appears so straight, yet Amber’s story shows that sometimes life has something else planned for us that entails a crisscrossing, rough road.

Will’s Story: A No Place to Fall Novella

Will’s Story: A No Place to Fall Novella is a companion story to Brown’s first book. It is mainly the first book being told from the point of view of one of the other characters, Will McKinney. It is ideal for fans of No Place to Fall and newcomers alike.

Will, one of the main characters from No Place to Fall, is a former bad boy. After almost getting taken into custody for a few poor choices concerning prescription drugs, he has been attempting to change his life. Will can either do this or endure the ire of his father, the judge. Will is beginning to get his life in order in Sevenmile, North Carolina. He is submitting applications to colleges and going out with the most popular girl at his school. Will has just realized a fondness of playing the banjo and performing in front of a crowd. However, it is that similar fondness of music that pulls him to Amber Vaughn, the best friend of his younger teenage brother. Will now discovers himself doubting if he just may actually be a bad guy. Although he has a girlfriend, he cannot stop dwelling on Amber.

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit, Brown’s second book, is the tale of Jo Gordon, the publicly lesbian daughter of a reasonable Intense minister. It also tells what occurs when he chooses to remarry and the new family relocates from Atlanta to a small town in Northern Georgia. This book is both a romantic story and glimpse at the occasional challenge of having faith and being gay. It has been described as a captivating adolescent romance that is ideal for aficionados of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ and Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda.

The main character, Joanna “Jo” Gordon, has been openly living as a lesbian for years. However, when her well-known radio evangelist father gets married again and chooses to relocate the trio from Atlanta to the more traditional Rome, Georgia, he has a favor to ask of Jo. Her father wants her to keep a low profile for the remainder of her final year in high school, which she unwillingly agrees to since he will let her have her own radio-talk show. Even though it is mainly much simpler for Jo to conform as a heterosexual girl, things become difficult when she encounters Mary Carlson, her new friend’s extremely alluring sister. However, Jo could not conceivably break a promise that she made to her father even though she is beginning to be attracted to Mary or there is a chance she may also be attracted to her.

Jo has been described as a riveting narrator. She also tackles the difficult trials of her outspoken lesbian best friend in Atlanta and her stepmother’s pregnancy, together with pretending to be a heterosexual girl to her new crowd and something rather different for Mary. Through Brown’s use of words, Jo’s likable voice mostly directs the reader through the book’s plot twists and changes, which are somewhat difficult to understand. In addition, she has Joanna considerably living her life as a gay Christian teenager, giving her character and the book additional individuality. Brown primarily depicts Jo’s story as being considerate and real.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jaye Robin Brown

Leave a Reply