Book Notification

Jayne Davis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Marstone Books

Sauce for the Gander (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Winning Trick (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Suitable Match (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing with Fire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Marchioness (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Question of Duty (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Molly's Tale (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Mrs MacKinnons (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Embroidered Spoon (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curlew's Call (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
King George's Man (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Captain Kempton's Christmas (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving Meg (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fair Ellen (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing Regency England: A Resource for Authors (With: Gail Eastwood) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Jayne Davis is a historical romance fiction author from the United Kingdom who has said that she writes under a pseudonym since she works a day job writing nonfiction school textbooks.

Her writing name is based on the first part of her original surname and her middle name and hence she is simply known as Jayne to most people she interacts with while producing her fiction works.
Davis grew up in England, Malta, and Singapore as she moved around with her father who worked at Service Children’s Schools all over the world while she was growing up.

She would then qualify as an engineer and spent a decade in that profession before she quit to become a teacher and publisher of school textbooks.

Ultimately, she would end up juggling everything with fiction writing when she published her debut work of fiction “The Mrs MacKinnons” in 2018.

Jayne Davis now has more than a dozen works to her name spread across several series, single-standing novels, and collections of short stories and novellas.
She now makes her home in Gloucestershire in the United Kingdom which is the setting for her debut novel.

Like many of her contemporaries, Jayne Davis chose historical romance since she had always loved reading the likes of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer as a teenager.

One thing she wanted to correct was the restrictions on characters from this era and this provided her with a lot of possibilities for her fiction.

She wanted to correct not only the lack of human rights but also more mundane things such as journeys abroad taking months, letters taking weeks to arrive at their destination, and more mundane things such as analgesics.
It was while she was working as a publisher of school textbooks that she began writing and discovered that she was very good at fiction writing.

A few years after starting in her textbook publishing job, she decided to go freelance and she would begin earning a decent living working as a freelance ever since.

She has said that she is lucky that she can work half days and accept work on her own terms. This leaves her with a lot of time to pen her fiction works which she has been publishing since 2019.
She often does most of the writing in the morning as she finds she gets too distracted in the afternoons and evenings and cannot get much done.

While Jayne Davis only began to get serious with writing when she was publishing textbooks, she had been a writer since her late childhood and teenage years.

She used to write long rambling stories which she thinks must have tortured her poor English teachers even if they never voiced it. As an adult, she tried writing fiction on and off and even sent some to editors and was told her plots needed a lot of work.
Since she was working a full-time job, she put fiction writing behind her and the manuscript still lies in her loft never to be published.

Davis first considered herself a writer when she began getting more ideas and story plots than she could ever find time to write.

As for her debut novel, she always had this vague idea of two people falling in love while she was helping him with renovations to an old house. Once she started writing, all manner of complications occurred to her resulting in a blockbuster debut.

Jayne Davis’ novel “Sauce for the Gander” is a story of a marriage of convenience which then turns into an adventure.

The lead in the novel is Will who is the son of an earl that is obsessed with heritage and rank He is the heir who is expected to perpetuate his father’s line.

But lately, he has been all about excessive gambling, bedding willing married women, and gallivanting all over town like your typical Regency romance hero. One day things get very serious when an irate husband catches him and challenges him to a duel.
He survives the duel but just barely but his father tells him he will need to style up and marry a woman he has chosen for him. The lucky lady is the little regards daughter of a lesser nobleman named Connie.

She comes with an obedient and meek demeanor but inside she hides a spirited intelligence. Connie and Will meet at the altar and immediately after head to the groom’s Devonshire estate.

Upon arriving, Connie finds the locals and the servants to be strangely unwelcoming. In addition to worrying about her husband being a consummate gambler and womanizer, they will come to realize that their home conceals some dangerous secrets.

“A Suitable Match” by Jayne Davis is the story of Lady Isabella Stanlake the daughter of Earl Marstone. Her elder brother and sisters are all married and her father wants her to get married next and in fact, he has already chosen someone for her.
She is resisting but her father has recruited her aunt to ensure she does as he wants. Fortunately, she is an enterprising and smart young lady and somehow manages to make it through the season while keeping the hideous men she is introduced to at bay.
She wants her brother who helped her sisters find suitable husbands that she could like to help her too. However, he is away on business but has asked Nick Carterton his friend to keep an eye out for his sister and help her with anything she needs.
Nick has been looking for a wife for a couple of years but agrees to look out after Bella and soon finds her to be far more interesting than the many ladies he has met during the season.
Alongside the main story arc are a number of subplots that involve blackmail, spying, and an intriguing look into the less pleasant aspects of Regency life.

Jayne Davis’s novel “Playing with Fire” is a work set in 1793 France that introduces the lead character Phoebe.

She has nothing in her future except for the prospect of tedious routs and balls living under the critical eye of her shrew-like aunt and in the shadow of her glamorous cousin.
All she desires is to get a love match similar to what her parents have so that she can do something with her life.

But the first thing she has to deal with is a hazardous return home making her way across France which has just had its revolution and is at war with England.

The imperious sensitivity of her aunt soon makes people suspicious of her thus endangering her life at a time when she will be making a dangerous journey back home to England. Will the stranger she meets on the road be the one that saves her?
Alex is a man who likes being alone but then he is driven to a small act of kindness and helps Phoebe and her small group and in doing so puts himself in a lot of danger.

As he tries to get them to England, he finds his affection to ward the quick-witted and resourceful read head growing even though they have many differences.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jayne Davis

Leave a Reply