Book Notification

Jayne Sinclair Genealogical Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jayne Sinclair Genealogical Mystery Books

The Irish Inheritance (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Somme Legacy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The American Candidate (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vanished Child (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Christmas (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sinclair Betrayal (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Merchant's Daughter (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Carol (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Missing Father (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Irish Convict (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Jayne Sinclair Genealogical Mysteries series is a successful series of mystery, crime fiction, and historical fiction stories. It is written by a reputed British writer named M.J. Lee. The series is comprised of a total of 7 books released between 2016 and 2019. Each book of this series features the lead protagonist in the role of an ex-police detective named Jayne Sinclair. M.J. Lee has set this series in the early 19th and 21st centuries in Ireland and the United Kingdom respectively. Some of the important characters created by M.J. Lee in the series other than Jayne Sinclair include Freda Duckworth, David Roberts, Rachel Marlowe, William the Conquerer, and several others.

The debut novel of the Jayne Sinclair Genealogical series written by author MJ Lee is entitled ‘The Irish Inheritance’. It was released in 2016 in the Kindle format. The book opens by mentioning that a British officer was killed by a gunshot in a distant hillside region located south of Dublin in June 1921. After this, the plot switches to the present time in 2015 and introduces Jayne Sinclair as a former police detective and current genealogical investigator. She receives a call from an American billionaire living with his adopted parents. The billionaire asks Jayne Sinclair to help him in finding his real father. As soon as she begins working on the case, Jayne discovers a strong connection with the case of the killing of the British Officer in 1921. She wonders how the two cases are connected and what does her client has to do with the murder case that happened almost a century ago.

The clues that Jayne Sinclair has to help her to find the truth include a stolen book, a photocopy of a birth certificate, and a very old photograph. Soon after, she comes to know that someone else is also trying to unravel the mystery. To her shock, Jayne learns that the person is a deadly killer, who will not stop at anything to prevent her from uncovering the hidden secret of the past. This novel takes the readers through 1916’s Easter Rising and the War of Independence of Ireland. M.J. Lee has combined a modern-day thriller’s tension with the search for past truth. It helped the book to connect to a large number of readers in all parts of the world and eventually become widely successful.

Another exciting installment of the series is known as ‘The American Candidate’. It was also published in 2017 as a Kindle book. This novel opens by depicting that Jayne Sinclair gets the most dangerous case of her career as a genealogical investigator yet. She is asked by her client to investigate the family background of an American citizen, who has the potential to become a candidate for the US presidential election. But, the politician who hired Jayne to carry out the genealogical research gets killed in her presence with a gunshot, forcing Jayne to run away for the safety of her life.

The events the follow later make her wonder why the politician was murdered and who would have wanted to murder him in such a brutal manner. Also, she thinks that the murderer took such a big step to prevent the family history of the American candidate from getting revealed. Jayne Sinclair finds herself caught in a dangerous race against the clock to unravel the truth. She only has her ability and wit as her weapons to help her in conducting the research and find out the hidden past.

This book succeeded in reaching out to a large number of readers across the globe. It entertained them from start to finish and mostly attracted those readers who have a particular taste in reading historical fiction/mystery novels. Many noteworthy critics, reviewers, and fellow authors gave rave reviews for this book and praised the efforts of author Lee in writing such an exciting novel. They also appreciated the various character descriptions, plot settings, and illustrations provided in the book. All these factors helped the novel to gain enormous success. The worldwide success of the book motivated author Lee to continue writing interesting stories of mystery and historical fiction genres.

MJ Lee is a successful English writer of historical mystery, crime fiction, and historical fiction novels. He is famous for creating the chief protagonists Pyotr Danilov, Thomas Ridpath, and Jayne Sinclair. The book series featuring these three lead characters are popular in all corners of the world. They are widely appreciated for their rich content, original stories, the unique writing style of MJ Lee, and his storytelling abilities. Lee has worked very hard and spent a lot of time in developing the stories that are now recognized by readers and prominent critics as excellent works of fiction. Before deciding to step into the world of writing, he used to work as a university researcher of history. During his former career, Lee used to take down notes about a vast number of topics that came to his notice and interested him.

For a few more years after that, Lee worked for social causes and improving the condition of the refugees from Vietnam. He used to write memoranda to contribute to various social work activities. Another life experience that Lee has is working in the field of advertising. He has held the position of a creative director in the past and has written advertisements for TV commercials, hotel websites, print & press, and short films. For over twenty-five years, Lee lived in England’s northern region and worked near his residence. The other countries that he has lived in include Hong Kong, Singa pore, Bangkok, and Taipei. Many organizations have rewarded Lee for his contribution to art. When Lee was in Shanghai, he liked to take long walks and explore the city’s ancient setups. These explorations and experience helped him to develop the plot of his crime novels. During spare time, Lee likes to indulge in traveling to different locations and taking life experiences. Also, Lee loves to spend time with his daughter, read books, try his hand at downhill ironing, and gardening. As of now, Lee is busy with the writing part of his latest novel. He intends to write as many books as possible and make his writing career much more prosperous than it already is.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jayne Sinclair Genealogical Mystery

Leave a Reply