Book Notification

Jean Fullerton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of East End Ration Books

Pocketful of Dreams (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Christmas (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Childhood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Wedding (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Christmas Kiss (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Daughter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Christmas Broadcast (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ration Book Victory (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nurse Connie Books

Fetch Nurse Connie (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Bells for Nurse Connie (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nurse Millie Books

Call Nurse Millie (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas With Nurse Millie (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Change for Nurse Millie (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Nolan Family Books

No Cure for Love (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Glimpse At Happiness (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perhaps Tomorrow (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold on to Hope (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Rector's Daughter (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Child of the East End (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jean Fullerton is a Historical Fiction and Romance author born in the United Kingdom. Born into a large East End family, she grew up in the overcrowded streets around the Tower of London. Jean fell in love with history at school after reading Anya Seton’s book titled Katherine. She lives five miles from the place she was born, as she feels that it’s her background that gives her historical East London stories some authenticity.

Pocketful of Dreams
Pocketful Dreams is the first novel in the East End Ration series. It’s a family saga set in East London at the outbreak of World War II. The story begins in 1939 when the Brogan family of London’s East End is ready to face what Hitler has in store. They are a brave family, and life must go on even during this critical time. However, things don’t seem good when evacuation, rationing and raids become order of the day and the family is tested.

One day, a mysterious young man comes to Brogan’s local church and gives enough distraction to their eldest daughter, Mattie. His promises are nothing Mattie has ever wished for, but as the two falls for each other, they are drawn to danger in the streets they have always known as their home.

Mattie had a lot of dreams and ambitions even when the war was still going on. She has never been contented with the idea of looking for a husband and starting a family; instead, she chose to go further her education and make everything more of herself. She is so proud of herself for being independent. She works as a warden in the neighborhood, but she soon finds herself in danger when she finds out that spies and Nazi collaborators surround her.

Mattie is surprised to find herself constantly thinking about the new priest who has just arrived in the area even though she is aware that she shouldn’t do it. She seems attracted to the priests even when such romance appears impossible. A bank clerk is also interested in her and thinks he might be the right choice for her.

However, as days pass, Mattie realizes that the two aren’t exactly who they seem to be. She’ll soon find herself caught up in a fight in the community where hate is causing trouble. However, when the truth finally comes out, it’ll change everything, for the priest isn’t the person he says he is.

As more danger presents itself, Will Mattie follow her heart and instincts? Will the discoveries destroy her family?

The theme of spying made the novel more exciting, and no character could be trusted without knowing their real motives. It reflects the dangerous times in the war where spies and treachery were genuine, and trusting a stranger was not expected.

Pocketful Dreams is a heartwarming and engaging read with vivid descriptions and steeped in atmosphere. As the story is centered on the Brogan family in the East End of London, it allows the reader to take a step back in time and learn about things that that war period had to offer. It includes the harsh reality of what each looked like during the 2nd world war.

The secret movements involved those trying to defend their country to those secretly helping and sympathizing with the enemy. As Daniel is in a sensitive situation, Mattie deals with her own problems, but their feelings are still growing intense as the world around them becomes dark.

The historical details are compelling, while most of the characters in the novel are admirable. The suspense and action came right from the beginning to keep the reader hooked.

No Cure For Love
No Cure for Love is the debut novel in The Nolan Family. The story begins in 1832 as Ellen O’Casey is widowed with a little daughter Josephine and working for the arrogant Danny Donovan. She’s an Irish Catholic immigrant working on getting enough money to get herself, her daughter, and mother Bridget a passage to New York to join her brother and the rest of the family.

She lives with her mother in the poorly maintained lodgings and works hard to regain independence and respect. Ellen tries not to fall into traps that poor and defenseless ladies were lured into during that time.

Doctor Robert Munroe is so inspired after watching Ellen sing. She’s used to washing laundry each day, and she sings in pubs at night to make her life better. She is blessed with a good singing voice, but she only finds a chance to sing in Danny’s pub. Danny is a landlord of the pubs, plans on making Esllen his mistress. Being a widow for about ten years, she has not yet decided to allow another man into her life, especially the arrogant Danny.

She constantly resists all his advances until she crosses paths with the new doctor in town, Robert Munroe. from that day, a rivalry forms between Robert and Danny. Robert’s feelings for Ellen are not only reciprocated, but he is also ambitious to investigate her living conditions and for the rest of the local community where Danny’s hand is still on it. Severally, Robert runs up against Danny, who has both the inhabitants and local authorities in his control.
As Ellen and Robert come closer and plot how to bring down Danny’s reign of terror, their possibility of being happy appears to be minimal. When an attempt endangers Robert’s life, he knows that he has become a threat to Donovan.

Ellen goes ahead, risking her reputation and life as she helps him expose the man who has been taking advantage of the poor. Will their efforts succeed, especially for someone powerful like Danny Donovan? This is a historical romance novel set in East London during the reign of William IV in the area close to London hospital.

The author gives details about the poverty and slum landlords, corruption, and the diseases that affect living in the area. Most people lack some basic needs, and Doctor Robert Munroe works hard to relieve the sickness and poverty while conducting investigations.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jean Fullerton

Leave a Reply