Book Notification

Jean Hanff Korelitz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Jury of Her Peers (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sabbathday River (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Interference Powder (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Rose (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Admission (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Should Have Known (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil and Webster (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plot (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Latecomer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

What My Mother Gave Me(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Jean Hanff Korelitz

The American writer Jean Hanff Korelitz is well known for her suspense fuelled thrillers and mysteries, gripping readers worldwide. Holding her audience on the edge of their seat, Korelitz is a gifted writer when it comes to establishing a general mood and atmosphere. This is something that she clearly excels at, creating a level of tension quite unlike any other, maintaining it constantly throughout. Understanding her craft inside out, she really knows how to pull the reader in, something which she’s managed with readers from all over the world.

Instantly getting to the heart of what she wants to say, she delivers her stories in an engaging and extremely direct manner. This is something that her audience has come to appreciate her for, as she really allows her words to effectively come alive on the page. Drawing from a rich tradition, she is definitely an inspired novelist as well, largely writing stand-alone novels, that push the format to the limit. Her books also contain romance and wit, with many of them being adapted for the big-screen, as she creates strong and inventive storylines.

She’s a well known figure upon the literary circuit, often speaking about her craft, making a name for herself. Creating long lasting characters too, many of her protagonists remain with readers long after they’ve put the book down. This is something that she has managed to do extremely well, as her characters feel wholly real, authentic, and three-dimensional. With plenty more books to come yet, she’s definitely a writer who will carry on growing from strength-to-strength.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1961 on the 16th of May, Jean Hanff Korelitz was born and raised in New York City, growing up with a keen passion for literature. Attending Dartmouth College she would graduate with a major in English, before going on to attend Clare College, Cambridge, in the United Kingdom. It was also here that she would receive the Chancellor’s Gold Medal, followed by publishing her first novel in 1996.

Following this she would go on to build a name and profile for herself as an author, building a strong brand throughout the literary world. Writing for a number of different publications, she’d produce numerous essays for various different outlets, along with several novels. Currently living with Paul Muldoon the Irish poet, they’ve had two children, and now currently live in New York City, as she continues to write.

Writing Career

The first book that Jean Hanff Korelitz would publish was titled ‘A Jury of Her Peers’ and it would come out in 1996. A mystery title it would be a stand-alone novel, and she would go on to release another mystery novel titled ‘The Sabbathday River’ just two years later in 1998. Prior to this she would have work published in the collection ‘The Properties of Breath’ in 1988, along with work in various publications.

Working in the theatre as well, she would write in a number of different mediums and style, adapting her work as well as the work of others. She would also see her work adapted for the big-screen, with films such as ‘Admission’ coming out in 2013 starring Tina Fey and Paul Rudd in the lead-roles. With a lot more to come she continues to win awards, while maintaining a strong presence both online as well as off.


Initially published through the Grand Central Publishing outlet, this would first come out in 2009 on the 1st of January. Not a part of any series as such, it would be a fun story with moments of drama and romance, making for an engagingly told piece of fiction. It would also later be made into a film starring Tina Fey in the lead-role in 2013, which go to find an audience around the world.

Drawing heavily from her own experience here, Korelitz depict the college admissions process with a high degree of authenticity. Taking her knowledge of the subject, she really brings it to life, allowing it to fully flourish upon the page. Well plotted and narrated, it uses the perspectives of the applicants as well as the main protagonist in delivering its story.

Hiding from her own past, Portia Nathan is the admissions officer of Princeton University and, at 38 years old, she balances work and home-life. Dealing with a gruelling work schedule, she must decide upon the fate of thousands of students and their futures on an annual basis. It seems that she must make an important admission of her own though, as she must confront her own fraught history. Will she be able to make the ultimate decision? Can she confront her own past? What will become of her own admission?

The Plot

Released through Celadon Books in 2021 on the 11th of May, this would be a later novel from Bonner, showing her clear development as an author. A stand-alone thriller with an intriguing premise, it would receive a lot of praise upon its release, gaining good reviews from readers and critics alike. The characters are well developed being just as central to the book as the idea and concept behind it as well. One of the key features of this book is its intelligence, as it uses its premise extremely well, really making the most of it and pushing it to the limit.

Dealing with his position in a third-rate university MFA course, Jacob Finch Bonner was once a promising young writer with a well received debut novel. Now he’s facing a student who’s arrogant and brash, telling Jacob he doesn’t need his help as the plot is a sure thing, which Jacob realizes to be true when he hears the story. That’s when his student suddenly dies, which leaves the plot free for Jacob to use and achieving success, he’s abruptly e-mailed years later accusing him of theft, leading him to wonder where the plot actually came from. Will he discover the truth and where the story came from? Who exactly wrote him that e-mail? What is the secret behind the plot?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jean Hanff Korelitz

Leave a Reply