Book Notification

Jeanne C. Stein Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anna Strong Chronicles Books

The Becoming (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood Drive (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Watcher (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Legacy (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Retribution (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chosen (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crossroads (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Haunted (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood Bond (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cloud City (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anna and the Vampire Prince (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Paradox (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Rider (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Wonderland (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Fallen Siren Books

as S.J. Harper
Cursed (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Captured (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Reckoning (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Forsaken (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Many Bloody Returns(2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
At the Scene of the Crime(2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2: Love Bites(2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Whedonistas(2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hexed(2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chicks Kick Butt(2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hex in the City(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead But Not Forgotten(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nightmares Unhinged(2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Georgetown Haunts and Mysteries(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood Business(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author Jeanne C. Stein is a best selling author of urban fantasy novels; she has written the “Anna Strong Chronicles” series, which has both novels and short stories to it. One of her stories was published in an award winning collection called “Hexed” in the year 2011. She also co-writes “The Fallen Siren” series with another author (who is named Samantha Sommersby) under the name of S. J. Harper. She lives in Denver, Colorado, and grew up in San Diego (which is where she sets her contemporary vampire fantasy series).

She is active in the writers’ community, and belongs in Sisters in Crime in Los Angeles, San Diego, and nationally. She is also a part of other writers’ groups.

In 2008, she was named Writer of the Year by RMFW, it is an award given to an author that contributed to the organization that year and was successful that year in publication. That same year, she was given an RT Reviewers Choice Award for the Best Protagonist in an Urban Fantasy novel. In the year 2013, Anna Strong was named on Paul G. Allen’s (from Barnes and Noble) list of Paranormal Fantasy’s Top Ten Heroines.

“The Becoming” is the first novel in the “Anna Strong Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2004. Her name is Anna Strong and she is a vampire. How she became one is the biggest reason this story is being told, and she will tell the entire thing the way it all went down. This may not be the story you are expecting to hear.

She is a bounty hunter: gorgeous, trained for anything unexpected, and tough. It all gets shaken up the night that she is beaten up and left for dead. Anna wakes up and finds herself in an indoctrination; she is reborn in a new world where vampires live among us. Starting now, a .38 is not really going to help her in what she goes hunting for.

Between the two worlds of the dead and living, Anna finds herself torn between two different men that she loves. Max and Avery are their names. Avery is a Night Watcher that has joined up with Anna as she hunts for the vampire gone rogue that attacked her. Max is a human, vulnerable, and works as a DEA agent. Her two worlds collide with each other, and fate throws Anna into the battle between evil and good. It is a fight where survival is not just something that living are looking for.

This is a book that takes a few pages before it gets going, but then really starts to cook; some even found themselves captivated by the story. Fans of the novel enjoyed this take on vampires (especially the way it abandons all of the usual tropes that come with them), and that the book built to a strong finish. Some want more from this series, and cannot wait to dig into the other books. What a way to kick off a series, this book was.

“Blood Drive” is the second novel in the “Anna Strong Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2006. Anna Strong was the toughest bounty hunter around, then she was attacked and altered forever.

She is now a vampire, and finds that her long deceased brother might have had a daughter. The daughter is now in serious trouble. Some dangerous people are going after her, but they will learn that a bounty hunter with a large blood thirst, the most lethal of human predators can make for easy prey too.

Some found themselves liking this book more than the first one, it continues the same no nonsense writing, gripping action, and fast paced plotting. Readers liked new comer Daniel Frey, who is a strong and interesting character. Fans of the novel love the main character of this series, who is a vampire, but still has most of her humanity left inside of her. This book makes some readers realize that they have been reading some sub quality novels recently.

“The Watcher” is the third novel in the “Anna Strong Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2007. Anna is now a Watcher, which is an enforcer for the supernatural world, right at a time when she is still struggling to control the vampiric rage that she has.

Some dangerous events happens that threaten to draw out the unstable powers that she cannot yet control. It makes her Watcher mentor send her into hiding for her own protection. One thing that Anna has always been able to find is trouble.

Readers have enjoyed each of the books in this series, and will keep on coming back for more. It is a fun thrill ride that keeps readers wanting to know what will happen next. Fans of the novel enjoyed reading about Max and Anna in this novel, finding him to be an interesting character. There are more elements (like witches, underworld societies, and new characters) being added, which adds a lot to the overall story.

“Legacy” is the fourth novel in the “Anna Strong Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2008. Anna still struggles to adapt to her status in the supernatural world, at the same time, she clings to last remnants of her humanity. She has to deal with her legacy.

The vampire that turned her is now dead, and Anna is able to inherit the vast fortune that he left behind. There is a predatory werewolf that tries to claim the inheritance for herself. She is not above killing to get what what she desires: money and blood.

Some like the fact that Anna’s flaws do nothing to hold her back at all. Fans of the novel cannot help but coming back for more, finding that they are reading these books just about faster than Stein can release them. There are a lot of twists and turns to this that make the novel hard to put down. Stein seems able to top herself with each book that she puts out. Readers hope this series continues for a long time, as Stein does a great job writing each and every installment.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jeanne C. Stein

2 Responses to “Jeanne C. Stein”

  1. jettie Pettit: 2 years ago

    I have just started book 7 (Crossroads) in the Anna Strong Chronicles and am confused: Who is ‘Stephen’ and what is this about Anna and Stephen meeting on the “astral plane” and killing a demon????? Where is THIS story found?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Looking at reviews online I see some similar complaints. Looks like you didn’t miss a book or a story or anything.


Leave a Reply