Book Notification

Jeeves Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jeeves Books

My Man Jeeves (1919)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inimitable Jeeves / Jeeves (1923)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carry On, Jeeves (1925)Description / Buy at Amazon
Very Good, Jeeves! (1930)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thank You, Jeeves (1933)Description / Buy at Amazon
Right Ho, Jeeves / Brinkley Manor (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Code of the Woosters (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
Joy in the Morning / Jeeves in the Morning (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mating Season (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ring for Jeeves / The Return of Jeeves (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jeeves and the Feudal Spirit (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jeeves in the Offing / How Right You Are, Jeeves (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
The World of Jeeves (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Much Obliged, Jeeves / Jeeves and the Tie That Binds (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunts Aren't Gentlemen / The Cat-Nappers (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jeeves and the Wedding Bells (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jeeves is a famous fictional character appearing in short stories series as well as novels by P.G. Wodehouse. Jeeves is the valet to Bertie Wooster. The difference between a valet and a butler is that a valet only serves one person and for Jeeves, that means Bertie.

Wodehouse was an English author who lived from 1881 to 1975. He was considered a humorist and was one of the most widely read authors of the 20th century in that genre. In addition to Bertie Wooster and Jeeves, he is also the creator of Psmith, Lord Emsworth and the Blandings Castle set, and Mr. Mulliner.

P.G. Wodehouse was born in Guildford and then spent his teenage years at Dulwich College. He went to work in a bank after finishing school, but he didn’t really like it and decided to try writing instead. He had some early success writing about the character of Psmith before debuting Bertie and Jeeves in 1915. This was the character’s introduction, but Wodehouse would go on to write about them for the rest of his life.

Bertie was considered to be an amiable man about town who always needed to be rescued from his own idiocy by his valet, Jeeves.

The Jeeves series is made up of thirty-five complete short stories as well as an additional eleven novels. The short stories in the series were mostly published between 1914 and 1931. The novels came later between the years of 1933 to 1947. Jeeves himself narrates the stories from a first person perspective with the exception of Ring for Jeeves where he uses a third person narration. Many people consider Right Ho, Jeeves to be the best book that Wodehouse ever wrote.

Jeeves has been portrayed as a highly competent valet of a wealthy Londoner by the name Wooster Bertie. Created in early 1916, Jeeves kept appearing in Wodehouse’s work until the last novel he published. The name Jeeves was inspired from Jeeves Percy, a famous cricketer who was killed during the World War I in the Warwickshire. Jeeves has been long thought to be the quintessential name for a butler or valet and has inspired numerous similar characters in the later years.

Jeeves has had numerous adaptations over the years. There have been numerous films inspired by the Jeeves novels by Wodehouse. The first to appear as a film was Thank You Jeeves! in 1936. The film was widely watched, but it has almost nothing to do with the book. Unlike his portrayal in the books as a gentleman, Jeeves was portrayed as unhelpful and unpleasant. Other theatrical films featured the character were Step Lively, Jeeves in 1937 and By Jeeves in 2001.

There have also been thirty-one half hour comedies based on Jeeves that aired on BBC television from 1965 to 1967. Jeeves and Wooster were also aired as 56 minutes episodes and the show became a hit on the ITV series. Additionally, BBC Radio 4 aired What Ho, Jeeves between the years of 1972 to 1982.

My Man Jeeves is a collection of short stories first published in 1919. The collection features eight stories with half of them featuring Jeeves and Bertie Wooster. The other stories in the book feature Reggie Pepper who was actually an early prototype for what would ultimately become Wooster. The stories in this collection cover the period where Jeeves and Wooster were in New York.

Carry On, Jeeves is a comic novel which features ten short stories. It was first published in 1925. Among the stories included in the collection are the the first meeting between Bertie and Jeeves as well as the only story in the series that was ever narrated by Jeeves. Many people consider this to be the perfect place to start for someone who wants to enter the world of Bertie and Jeeves.

Thank You, Jeeves sees Jeeves driven to give his notice as valet thanks to Bertram Wooster’s interminable banjolele playing. Of course, Bertie won’t be able to survive for long without him. Between a narrowly escaped forced marriage, a cottage fire, and a butter theft, the two will end up reuniting and going back to the way things were.

Another adventure in the Wooster and Jeeves saga is Right Ho, Jeeves. This book sees Bertie coping with Market Snodsbury Grammar School prize giving and a broken engagement by his cousin Angela. If things couldn’t get worse, Madeline Bassett is wooed by Gussie Fink-Nottle and Anatole, his genius chef, resigns from his position. If Bertie is hoping to prevail, he once again needs to rely on the aid of his valet.

The Code of the Woosters sees Aunt Dahlia going to Bertie for help in hopes of duping an antique dealer into selling her an antique cow creamer. She gets him in on her scheme by threaten to revoke his standing invitation for lunch. Bertie loves the cooking of Anatole so much that he’s willing to do just about anything. Dahlia isn’t the only one who wants the creamer as Roderick Spode, leader of a fascist organization called the Saviors of Britain, and a man of the cloth want it as well. Bertie has once again gotten himself in over his head and it will be up to Jeeves to rescue him from his own undoing.

Another book in the Jeeves series is Joy in the Morning. Steeple Bumphleigh is a beautiful place, but for Bertie, it is a place to be avoided at all costs. That’s because Steeple Bumphleigh is the home of Aunt Agatha and her husband, the terrifying Lord Percival Worplesdon. Percival needs him to participate in a ruse in order to close a business deal. It’s not something that he is looking forward to. Then Percival’s ward Nobby falls for Boko Fittleworth. They need Percival’s consent for marriage and recruit Bertie to help to win him over. Of course, things go as they usually go for Bertie and Jeeves will be need to arrive and help him to solve all his problems.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jeeves

One Response to “Jeeves”

  1. funfilesgone: 4 years ago

    Thank you <3


Leave a Reply