Book Notification

Jeff Abbott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jordan Poteet Books

Do Unto Others (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Only Good Yankee (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Promises of Home (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Distant Blood (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Whit Mosley Books

A Kiss Gone Bad (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Jack Point (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut and Run (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sam Capra Books

Adrenaline (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Minute (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sam Capra's Last Chance (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Downfall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inside Man (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Order (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traitor's Dance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Magnolias and Mayhem(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
...And the Dying is Easy(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 5(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Greatest Hits(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Do Us Part(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death's Excellent Vacation(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Rest for the Dead(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Robot Uprisings(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Ends(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Writing his suspense novels for a number of years now, American author Jeff Abbott is a world renowned novelist within his field. Beginning in the mid-nineties with his unique take on the detective genre, he soon progressed to the thriller end of the medium. With a multitude of books behind him, he’s worked to establish a name for himself that’s fast becoming known in Hollywood as well.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1963 he is currently fifty years old, leaving a long and illustrious career behind him already that’s spanned over a number of books so far. Currently living in Austin in Texas, he resides with his and two sons where he spends the majority of his time writing and researching information for his latest novel. Known for his accuracy, he takes his time over each work creating a piece that will resonate with his readers as he takes inspiration from current world events. Not only this, but he also tends to inject a sense of realism into his works by taking everyday people and inserting them into worlds fraught with danger and peril, something which his readers find easy to relate to.

Educated in both History and English, he managed to gain a degree from Rice University where he graduated from. This has helped him over the years to formulate his stories giving them the extensive background they need, thus bringing them to life for his audience. Gaining both critical and commercial success over the years, he shows no signs of stopping anytime soon and will continue into the foreseeable future.

Writing Career

Creating his first novel in 1994, he wrote the book ‘Do Unto Others’ to much acclaim. as he received awards and praise for it from both critics and readers alike. This then helped to propel him into the forefront of his field, as he became a successful and highly adept author within his chosen field. Over the years his writing began to progress, along with his characterizations, as he attempted to take his writing forwards creating more and more compelling scenarios with each page turn.

Building a number of reputable series that his readers have come to identify with over the years, he’s managed to build himself a collection of franchises that have helped inform the writer that he is today. Starting with the Jordan Poteet mystery novels, these were more traditional fare as they based themselves around the activities of the eponymous protagonists rather strange family. This then moved onto the Whit Mosely series, which tended to deviate somewhat in that they had a darker and more thriller oriented edge to what came before. Then there’s the Sam Capra series, perhaps the best known of all his franchises as it’s the culmination of all his work to date.

Over the years he has gained a number of awards for his books, such as the Agatha Award for his first novel, right up to Thriller Award for his 2005 novel ‘Panic’. This has also led to that book becoming optioned for a film by the Weinstein Company, as a film is set to be made in the near future based on his book. With all this success there seems to be plenty of potential for Abbott to expand as writer in the future as he goes from strength-to-strength.

Do Unto Others

This was to be the book that Jeff Abbott originally made his name with in 1994 on the 1st of October, as he also claimed both the Agatha and Macavity awards for his effort. Setting up the Jordan Poteet series of novels, it helped establish not only him as an author, but the world he was operating in as well along with that of his protagonist. Working as a mystery novel, it was somewhat traditional in tone, but a strong confident effort from this first time writer.

At the start Jordan Poteet is living in the bog city, but it’s too much for him so he wants a quieter life away from all the noise and commotion. This then leads him to head back home to the small idyllic town of Mirabeau, Texas, whereby he hopes to settle down as a librarian away from all the busyness of the city. This isn’t to be though as he soon comes into contact with Miss Beta Harcher, a local well known fanatically religious woman, who keeps herself busy enforcing her beliefs on others around the town. Coming up against Poteet, they both clash over their ideas on censorship, which she feels should be implemented within the library there. Following this she’s found murdered leaving Poteet as the chief suspect. It seems though that the whole town had some sort of run-in at one time or another with her, evidence which comes to light after a list is found next to her body. Will they find the killer who resides within the midst, or will it be too late letting them go free? Can Poteet clear his name and find out the truth of what happened so he can finally find the quiet life he’s been searching for all these years? What will become of them all as they find out what happens when they do unto others?


First published in 2005, this was a standalone novel from Abbott brought out within the midst of his writing career. Nominated for a Thriller award, it has also managed to gain the attention of the Weinstein Company with a film currently set in the pipeline. Taking a different tone, it sets up a turn of events that are somewhat surprising in this ‘fish out of water’ story.

Starting with Evan Casher, it shows his life as a successful filmmaker who seems to have everything he wants as his career is on the rise. That is until he gets a call from home as his mother calls him back. Going there he finds he dead in her kitchen along with a hitman waiting there for him. This then brings about a turn of events where he finds out his parents, his girlfriend and his entire life is a complete lie. It’s then up to him to learn the truth before it’s too late. Will he be able to find out in time? What are the secrets those closest to him have been hiding all these years? Can he take the truth or will he simply panic?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jeff Abbott

Leave a Reply