Book Notification

Jeff Hirsch Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Darkest Path Books

The Darkest Path (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bear's Story (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Eleventh Plague (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magisterium (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black River Falls (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unnatural Disasters (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The 39 Clues: Unstoppable Books

Nowhere to Run (By: Jude Watson) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breakaway (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Countdown (By: Natalie Standiford) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Countdown (By: Natalie Standiford) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flashpoint (By: Gordon Korman) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jeff Hirsch is a science fiction, young adult fantasy, and children’s fiction author from Rhode Island. The author is originally from suburban Richmond where he spent much of his early life.

Hirsch got started writing when the class was given a homework assignment when he was in the 7th grade. After getting an A and being told that it was a very good story, he made the decision to become a writer when he grew up.

When he went to college, he got more into acting becoming a theater nerd. During this time he acted in plays such as Dancing at Lughnasa, The Taming of the Shrew, Blood Wedding, One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest, and The Tempest among many others.

He started acting while living in New York as a result of some interesting circumstances. Trudging home one night after spending 9 hours working a day job he was caught up in a huge winter storm.

Jeff had an audition later that night but knew he was never going back out there. It was at that time that he rationalized that if he loved acting that much, he would never have been kept indoors by a little bad weather.

Soon enough, he started asking hImself what he would really love to do with his adult life. Not long after that incident, he heard a voice in his head clearly tell that he needed to be writing.

A few weeks later, he started applying for MFA programs as he sought to become a fiction writer penning screenplays.

After he graduated with his playwriting MFA, he started reading the works of authors such as David Almond, KL Going, and MT Anderson. Hirsch was so blown away by these writings that he was determined to become an author in their mold.

The first manuscript he ever wrote was the “Real Names of Rock Stars,” about a drag queen fairy godmother and a teenage rockstar. The work was so terrible that he is certain he will never publish it.

However, this gave him the confidence and belief that he could write a full-length novel. His second attempt was “After the End of the World,” which would ultimately become “The Eleventh Plague,” heis official debut novel that was published in 2013.

He is now a successful author with more than half a dozen novels to his name. When he is not writing her novels, he can usually be found working at Crisis Text Line where he volunteers as a crisis counselor.

Jeff Hirsch’s novel “The Eleventh Plague” is an apocalyptic novel that opens to a world in runs following a world war.

While there are no zombies, the world has to deal with the “Eleventh Plague,” which is a killer flu virus known in the scientific community as P11.

Stephen, his father, and his grandfather have so far survived by salvaging, as they traverse the United States from North to South. They collect anything they can find, which they then sell to big camps in Florida and Canada.

However, things turn hairy when they get into an acccident and her father gets injured so badly that he slips into a coma. Luckily Stephen and his father are located at the bottom of a ravine by survivors combing the area.

Apparently, they were rescued by people from a sanctuary called Settlers’ Landing. They are people who live in a state of pre-collapse with real house playgrounds, parks, schools, and even Thanksgiving celebrations.

Stephen finds himself completely lost and utterly dumbfounded. He never experienced pre-Collapse life and wants to stay with the Settlers so that he can have a normal life.

However, he now lives in a very different world and even the sanctuary might not be that safe.

“Breakaway” by Jeff Hirsch introduces Dan Cahill, a thirteen-year-old who is a member of the most powerful family in history.

He had been kidnapped, shot at, and at some point dumped into a pit inhabited by a venomous snake. Still, he survived everything thanks to smarts, luck, and Amy his older sister who always has his back.

Amy and Dan are now facing their greatest threat yet, given that a formidable nemesis has found a means of using the Cahill family’s power to beat them.

If they are to stop him, Amy and Dan need to go on a desperate mission that will take them from the Arctic Circle and its frozen wastes to the hottest deserts of the world.
With their enemy on the horizon, Dan has to face betrayal from his sister which is a scenario he never imagined.
Similar to the previous novels, this work is genius that showcases the complexities that arise when one wields immense power. It also comes with some impressive geography, history life, and science lessons that make it a gripping read.

“Sovereign” by Jeff Hirsch is another fascinating story about Micah Cole. At the opening of the novel, Micah Cole has spent almost four years in deep space.

Meanwhile, his parents continue indulging in their obsession with finding intelligent life deep in the recesses of space and the universe, while all he wants is to reunite with friends he had left behind.

Even as the family heads deeper into space, he keeps counting the days until the time when they will come back to Earth. Things take a turn for the worse when their ship is nearly destroyed by a devastating meteor shower.

Micah finds himself stranded all alone on a vast planet, separated from his family. It is a massive planet with towering forests and raging rivers that could terrify anyone, let alone a boy who just wants to see his home and family again.

Nonetheless, he will have to learn to make a living in the alien and very hostile world. With only determination and his wits, he will have to fight his own deepest fears, the elements, and the strange presence in his new home.

It makes for an original and neat space adventure despite the scary and sometimes very intense moments.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jeff Hirsch

Leave a Reply