Jeff Rovin Books In Order

Publication Order of Earthend Saga Books

A Vision of Fire (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dream of Ice (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sound of Seas (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Zero-G Books

Zero-G (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Green Space (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

April Fool's Day (1986) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Re-Animator (1987) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mortal Kombat (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Angels (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Game (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Return of the Wolf Man (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vespers (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stealth War (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fatalis (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tempest Down (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Rising (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rogue Angel (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Conversations with the Devil (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Coldwater (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Pictorial History of Science Fiction Films (1975) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Transgalactic Traveller's Guide to Solar System M-17 (1981) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Encyclopedia of Monsters (1990) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Adventure Heroes (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Conquering Sega Genesis Games (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Complete Video Game Guide 1995 (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Aliens, Robots, and Spaceships (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kelsey Grammer (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Essential Jackie Chan Source Book (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Jeff Rovin is an American author best known for his work in genre fiction, not to mention all the authors he has helped to enter the publishing arena.


Jeff Rovin has attracted more attention over the years than many of his peers in the publishing industry; however, most the renown he has garnered has very little to do with the books, short stories and essays he has written.

The author made quite the name for himself on the political scene, and his reputation with regards to working for notable figures in the United States like the Clintons has drawn a lot of attention to his literary works.

Born in 1951, Jeff Rovin comes from Brooklyn. Like most authors, Jeff always knew that he wanted to write. In fact, unlike most authors who always knew that they wanted to write, Jeff always wrote.

The activity consumed a lot of his time. He was also an avid reader. Science fiction appealed to him at a very early age, with the likes of Edgar Rice Burroughs and Doc Savage keeping him awake at night.

Over time, Jeff’s interests began to change and he soon got into comics; by that point, DC and Marvel, the biggest names in comics, where experiencing a surge of popularity, with the likes of Superman gaining considerable renown and interest globally.

Even with his interest in comics, Jeff always went back to science fiction, and his tastes grew more refined over time. He discovered the authors like Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke.

The education system back then did little to encourage and nurture Jeff Rovin’s interests. The author survived public school and high school, and he even went to college for a few months before money ran out.

Not that it mattered; Jeff Rovin was determined to put his storytelling abilities to test. The education system might not have been conducive for Jeff’s particular talents, but he was lucky enough to grow up in a time where there were few barriers for authors with an interest in writing, ideas of note and a determination to turn their passions into something tangible.

By the 1970s, Jeff was getting by in the writing and publishing fields, proofreading, writing columns and producing stories for companies like Skyward Comics. Jeff can count himself lucky to have contributed to DC comic book titles like Swamp Thing.

The author has since held jobs like Editor-in-Chief of Weekly World News and Editor for Warren Publishing. The author was smart enough to ride the video game boom of the 1980s and 1990s during which time he wrote ‘How to Play’ books for games coming out of companies like Nintendo.

There was even a time when the author wrote encyclopedias about Popular Culture. Though, his claim to fame has more to do with the biographical and film books he has written on celebrities like Kelsey Grammer, Charlton Heston and Elvis Pressley than anything else.

Jeff Rovin has always been passionate about getting his fans to read his genre fiction. The author has written everything from horror to mystery and adventure not to mention military fiction.


The Op-Center is an unrivalled nexus of intelligence and crisis management technology, working at the center of the American Defense machine. At the heart of the Op-Center is a crack team of experts working to accomplish those missions too difficult or dirty for everyone else.

Director Paul Hood finds his confidence in his Op-Center team tested when the machinations of a frightening power are discovered.

Anyone that has read a Tom Clancy novel knows exactly what to expect from this book. As far as military fiction is concerned, this book spends more time than most exploring minute details about military vehicle and equipment.

In fact, anyone that doesn’t understand army lingo will not only be confused but they will wonder why Jeff Rovin saw fit to include so many details that are completely irrelevant to the plot. Of course, fans of military fiction who understand and love tedious minutiae about weapons and vehicles will probably appreciate Jeff’s approach.

The book was published in the 1990s and it definitely shows its age. A lot of the technology Jeff writes about is dated. And the women in the story follow very clichéd paths, this including a wife that is too consumed by her duties as a homemaker to understand the difficulties of her husband’s job and a coworker that is unable to control her hormones.

The bulk of the story takes place in Korea, with a conflict between the North and the South igniting. Beneath all the explosive action, of which there is a lot, Jeff Rovin includes an underlying family conflict.

The book does an amazing job of fleshing out the Korean conflict and painting a vivid picture of the unique culture in the region.

+Conversations with the Devil

Psychologist Sarah Lynch stumbles upon a puzzle, one that begins with the death of Frederic, her young patient. Frederic might have hung himself but Sarah isn’t so willing to dismiss his death as just another suicide.

Evidence suggests that Frederic had become a Satanist; and in an attempt to understand the demons that drove him to his death, Sarah tries to conjure the devil.

Sarah never gave much credence to religion. She concluded at a young age that God and the Devil were creations dreamt up by the human mind. She was certain that religion only thrived because people couldn’t accept the fact that human beings had the capacity for both great good and great evil.

Her own family history proved as much. Her mother had still refused to recognize her dead husband’s alcoholism, though that did not stop her from being an amazing grandparent to her housekeeper’s son.

And even though her brother’s alcoholism was destroying his life, he was always there when Sarah needed him. For Sarah, this is proof enough that people do not need God or a Devil to manifest good and evil intentions.

Sarah is so confident in her cynicism that it comes as a shock when her attempts to summon the devil work. Not only does Satan emerge in her office, but he begins to make a compelling argument as to why people can only find happiness when they follow him.

This book plays with an interesting premise but Jeff Rovin doesn’t do a very good job of closing out his story.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Jeff Rovin