Book Notification

Jefferson Bass Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Body Farm Books

Carved in Bone (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh and Bone (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Bones (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bones of Betrayal (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Thief (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Yard (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bones of Avignon / The Inquisitor's Key (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut to the Bone (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Breaking Point (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Without Mercy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Body Farm Short Stories/Novellas

Madonna and Corpse (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jordan's Stormy Banks (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Death's Acre: Inside the Legendary Body Farm (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond the Body Farm (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Identity Crisis (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jefferson Bass is a writing team constituting contemporary American Author Jon Jefferson and the globally renowned forensic anthropologist, Doctor Bill Bass. Their collaborative effort has brought forth a slew of highly successful novels in the crime fiction genre.

Since their debut in 2006 the pair has endeavored to publish a new novel within their Body Farm series each and every year.

Jon Jefferson

Jon was born in Missouri and grew up in Guntersville, Alabama. His high school life was characterized by excellence, especially in the field of English, Jon garnering the title of National Merit Scholar and Presidential scholar during his senior year.

Following a stint at Birmingham-Southern College via scholarship, Jon majored in English, graduating at the top of his class and then going on to pursue graduate studies at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, in English and comparative literature.

Jon’s career veered towards writing rather early, some of the young scholar’s many detours along the path towards fictional writing including the position of Oak Ridge National Laboratory’s staff science writer, a stint at Planned Parenthood as administrator, a few years in journalism and some commendable work within the television documentary arena.

Jon Jefferson’s written works have made appearances in popular outlets such as USA today, The New York Times and Popular science to mention but a few. His documentary work (both as writer and producer) includes collaborative programs with and for big names such as The History channel and the A&E Network.

Jon Jefferson is most popularly known for his work on the Body Farm, Jon writing and directing the two part documentary (Biography of a Corpse/Anatomy of a Corpse) revolving around the Anthropological Research Facility in the University of Tennessee for The National Geographic Channel.

It was during his work on this project that Jon Jefferson and Doctor Bill Bass first met, Doctor Bass being the Body Farm’s founder. Their collaboration began with Death’s Acre, a nonfiction memoir about Doctor Bass, this sparking Jon’s interest in working with the anthropologist on a more permanent basis.

William M. Bass

William Bass was born in 1928 and, over the years, earned a reputation as a highly talented forensic anthropologist. Along with his work on human osteology and decomposition, Doctor Bass has worked hand in hand with law enforcement agencies from various diverse jurisdictions on several occasions in identifying human remains.

Doctor Bass acquired his undergraduate degree from The University of Virginia, completing the Masters program at the University of Kentucky. Acquiring his PhD.D in Anthropology in 1961 from the University of Pennsylvania, Doctor Bass’ career began in the archeology field in the 1950s during which the doctor partook in the excavation of many a Native American grave site.

Doctor Bass is best known for his work with the so called Body Farm, the name derived from The Body Farm, a novel by Patricia Cornwell, a crime writer that inspired Doctor Bass’s work.

The anthropologist also taught at the University of Tennessee; Doctor Bass still plays an active role at The Body Farm, even though he’s officially retired. While work with Jon Jefferson began with William Bass’ memoir, Death’s Acre, the pair has collaborated extensively on several crime fiction works.

The Dr. William M. Bass III Forensic Anthropology Building was named after William Bass, the third generation of his family to have this honor.

Jefferson Bass

Following their work on Death’s Acre, the collaborative efforts of Jefferson Bass (derived from the surnames of Jon Jefferson and Bill Bass) have produced numerous works of crime fiction.

Beginning with Carved Bones, the pair has published a novel every year since 2006, their latest being Cut to the Bone.

The pair makes use of accurate forensic science (drawing upon Dr. Bass’ expertise), Jefferson Bass’ collection of novels in The Body Farm series playing an active role in increasing public interest in the field specifically regarding human remains.

Carved in Bone

The first novel in The Body Farm series was published in 2006; the book introduces Doctor Bill Brockton, a renowned anthropologist that has spent his career at The Body Farm surrounded by death. When he’s summoned to solve a curious puzzle in the death of a young woman from three decades past, his work in a remote mountaineous community risks opening old wounds. With the mummified corpse threatening to unravel Bill’s own guilt even while bringing to light a long forgotten secret, hostile enemies arise; bitter foes that are determined to watch him fail.

The first book in The Body Farm series is sensational to say the least, laying out quite the intricate explanation of the minutiae of forensic anthropology, simple enough for even the layman to comprehend even while weaving an entertaining story.

There is something to be said about Jefferson Bass’ ability to explain the forensic art even while developing an engaging story alongside a rich cast of characters. Most fans would refer to Carved in Bone as being an easy read within a realistic setting.

Flesh and Bone

In this 2007 release, we are reintroduced to Doctor Bill Brockton, renowned anthropologist and founder of the body Farm, a place where human remains are allowed to decay with the aim of gaining crucial forensic information. A crime occurs nearby in Chattanooga and Bill’s services are requested by Jess Carter.

The rising star among state medical examiners, Jess needs help unraveling a mysterious murder. Seemingly ordinary in comparison to Bill’s typical cases, the anthropologist’s life takes a sudden turn, the decision to re-enact Jess Carter’s puzzle placing Bill’s reputation and career on the line.

When Bill Brockton is accused of committing a horrific crime and his world is upended, he will have to use every ounce of skill in his arsenal to escape a slowly but steadily tightening trap to prove his innocence and bring his enemies to justice.

The second book in Jon and Bill’s collaborative project attracted a wide array of mixed reviews from fans; while some readers praised its masterful plotting and maneuvering of characters, other complained about its clumsy storytelling, ill-devised protagonist and odd detours.

Most common was the complaint that the forensic science in all its depth and intricacy proved to be more engaging than the actual story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jefferson Bass

One Response to “Jefferson Bass”

  1. Marci anderson: 2 years ago

    What happens to Miranda at the end of the inquisitors and before cut to the bone. There’s no mention of Miranda in all of cut to the bone.


Leave a Reply