Book Notification

Jefferson Tayte Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jefferson Tayte Genealogical Mystery Books

In the Blood (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
To The Grave (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Queen of England (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Empress (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kindred (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying Games (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Letters from the Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Painting (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

The titular character of this historical mystery and thriller series that is written by Steve Robinson, named Jefferson Tayte, who works as an American genealogist. Even though the novels are a part of a series, they can be read and enjoyed on their own. He digs into the histories of certain families to find out about them so that he can solve mysteries.

He is six foot two inches tall, is over weight, and he is single. He finds that he never has been close to getting married and that probably will not ever change. Tayte has black hair that is untidy and brown eyes. There is a scar on his right thigh that a dog gave him when he was looking around on the grounds, prowling for burial plots. The only family that he has is his briefcase and his Torch Red 1955 Ford Thunderbird.

For a lot of things, he is too busy to do, like go out to see a movie or get his hair cut or even have any hobbies. That being said, he likes West End or Broadway tunes and show tunes; he has seen all the shows and owns all the soundtracks. Tayte likes the Redskins football team and likes to watch as many games as he can, although this is not much. He likes Mr. Goodbar and Hershey’s chocolate bars. Sometimes, when he has the time, he will watch an old movie, and prefers them to the new ones. All he does and has is his work, that he started once he left high school.

He was told by his parents, after they died, that he was adopted and they apologized that they did not tell him about it sooner. They gave him a photo of his birth mother, who it is said had an English accent.

The author of the series, Steve Robinson got into genealogy while writing the first novel; it helped too that he did not know who his mother’s father was at the time. All he knew was that he fought on the American side as a GI in World War Two in England.

“In the Blood” is the first novel in the “Jefferson Tayte” series by Steve Robinson that was released in the year 2011. Two centuries ago a loyalist family left their home in America to get away from the revolution. They seemed to vanish into thin air. Jefferson Tayte is hired to find out what happened to them. It would appear that someone is out to get him, so that he will not be able to solve the case. His research has him look at a young girl from Cornwall, a writing box, and he finds out a dark secret that may just take him to a family that he is trying to locate.

Fans of the novel loved all of the characters that you meet in the novel and find that it is much easier to keep pen and paper handy so that you can plot out everyone. It combines suspense, revelation, and intrigue; Robinson is great at using the atmosphere of Cornwall as his setting. It has well drawn characters that you want to get to know, and you want to keep on reading to know what happens to the main character when he gets into danger. This novel was so good that some went and bought the rest of the novels in the series. This is a novel that will keep you up reading into the morning to see what will happen next to these great characters; you will be riveted the whole entire way.

“To the Grave” is the second novel in the “Jefferson Tayte” series by Steve Robinson that was released in the year 2012. The suitcase of a child comes in, with no notice and no explanation; it is obvious that the suitcase is quite old and comes to a suburb in modern day Washington. One week later, Tayte is staring down the barrel of a loaded gun in an English hotel room. This time, Tayte goes in to wartime in Leicestershire, England. He hopes that he can just reunite his current client with her birth mother that she never got to know; with not a single idea that she had even been adopted in the first place. What he finds instead is a serviceman for the US 82nd Airborne and a young girl and a wartime love affair that went way wrong.

Fans of the novel found themselves being touched in a way by this book that so few have down. They finished reading the novel with tears running down their faces. This novel seems to be even better, which is something that is hard to do, than the first. This novel has some people hoping that more will be divulged about where Tayte comes from and his family in later novels.

“The Last Queen of England” is the third novel in the “Jefferson Tayte” series by Steve Robinson that was released in the year 2012. Jefferson Tayte goes to visit a colleague and friend of his in London, who later dies in his arms. Tayte and a historian and professor named Jean Summer go on a trail that is full of corpses. They wind up at the Royal Society of London in the early seventeenth century. What are they supposed to make of the five men of science, who knew Newton and Christopher Wren, that were hanged for treason? They get closer and closer to the truth and find that murder is something that is again in season, once again. This killer is doing anything they can to restore the royal bloodline to the way that they think it should be. There is also someone who is looking for a fortune, who thinks all of this represents some kind of great business opportunity.

Fans of the novel were gripped from the start of it, with the intriguing conspiracy that is woven into things nicely and a race against time. Some found themselves unable to put the book down, it was that exciting. Like the rest of Robinson’s work, it has great description and a killer story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jefferson Tayte

Leave a Reply