Book Notification

Jen Gilroy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Firefly Lake Books

The Cottage at Firefly Lake (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer on Firefly Lake (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Back Home at Firefly Lake (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Wishing Tree in Irish Falls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wish in Irish Falls . (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sweetheart Locket (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Montana Carters Books

Montana Reunion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Family for the Rodeo Cowboy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jen Gilroy is a Canadian author that writes romance novels.


Jen Gilroy was a big reader as a child. Growing up under the big Western Canadian sky, she looked at books as doorways into other worlds. And it didn’t take her long to start dreaming about becoming the next Jo March and Laura Ingles.

The author began laying the foundations for publishing success as early as elementary school. At the time, the author was dabbling in short stories and poems. By the time she was in high school, Jen had begun making submissions to short story contests.

The author’s defining moment wasn’t winning or losing at the contests but encountering a judge who recognized her talent and encouraged her to keep writing

And Jen Gilroy promised to do just that. However, like most authors, Jen found that objective all but impossible to achieve. As she progressed through life, her world became a busy and complicated place.

First, she had to study. Once that was done, Jen began teaching. And once that ended, she found her way into the Marketing Communications and International business development arena.

There was never time for Jen to pursue her writing and it wasn’t long before she put it aside altogether, especially when her family came into the picture.

Jen read a lot. She had a passion for romance and she also dabbled in women’s fiction. She loved being transported to new places and reading about characters whose lives changed for the better as they fought to achieve their happy endings.

The more she read, the more she yearned to write. Jen Gilroy eventually reached a point where she realized that, by not pursuing her creative writing, she was allowing an important part of herself to die.

That couldn’t be allowed to happen. Jen immediately embarked on a journey that saw her finally produce the same heart-warming romances she always read. Jen Gilroy’s books revolve around family and friendships and the concept of home.

The author writes about normal women who must overcome extraordinary circumstances.

+Literary Career

Jen Gilroy has loved books for as long as she can remember. She knew at a young age that she wanted to tell stories. By the time she was in junior school, Jen had set her sights on publishing as a career.

She knew that she would see her name on a book in a library one day, or at least that is what she daydreamed.

Even when life intervened and took her far from the shores of publishing, Jen never forgot the dream she nurtured in Junior School. Though, it wasn’t until she was much older that the author actually sat down to seriously write.

Jen had to overcome many challenges to get her first book in the hands of a willing publisher. At the time that the author was writing her first book, not only did she have a husband and a young child but she was holding down a fulltime job.

So many years later, Jen has no idea how she managed to write so consistently at the start. She remembers taking everything opportunity that was afforded her. It didn’t matter if it was a couple of hours or just a few minutes.

If the author had a chance to get a sentence on paper, she took it. Jen Gilroy’s goal is to write an average of 250 words a day. While that might not seem like that much for many authors, Jen’s slow and steady approach has seen her write and publish multiple books.

Jen Gilroy succeeds in writing consistently despite her busy schedule because writing isn’t just a job to her. The activity allows her to escape and find emotional solace, if only for a little while. As such, even after a busy and tiresome day, for her sanity, Jen never fails to find the time to write.

It took the author a couple of years to get her first book done. She used the Romantic Novelists’ Association New Writer’s Scheme to polish her manuscript. Then she made several submissions until she elicited the interest of the Blue Ridge Literary Agency.

It took the author’s agent (Dawn Dowdle) quite a few months before she was finally able to find Jen Gilroy’s manuscript a home. Jen frequently mentions the help Dawn afforded her when it came to getting her book published.

Despite the many rejections, Dawn never gave up on Jen or her story. She was certain that a publisher out there was looking for Jen Gilroy’s story and she did not stop looking until she found it.

The author’s ‘Firefly Lake’ series did not necessarily set the publishing world on fire. But it definitely announced Jen’s arrival on the publishing landscape. That was in 2016 and the author has only continued to build upon her success.

+The Cottage at Firefly Lake

Charlotte Gibbs was happy, and she had every reason to be. After all, she had the job of her dreams. It isn’t until Charlotte is forced to return to Firefly Lake that she begins to question her life choices.

Traveling the world has its perks but when Charlotte goes to Firefly Lake to sell her mother’s cottage, she begins to think about everything she has missed.

Sean Carmichael doesn’t know why Charlotte disappeared eighteen years ago. He never got over his feelings for her, not even after a divorce and a teenage son. All those years later, Charlotte is still the only one that gets Sean. He just has to find a way to convince her to stay.

+Summer on Firefly Lake

Mia Gibbs lost everything in the divorce, or at least that is how she felt. After all, for the longest time, her life revolved around her husband. She always put his needs before her own.

Now that she is no longer attached, Mia must learn to stand on her own and build a new life back home at Firefly Lake.

With two daughters in tow, Mia cannot afford to tangle with another man. She is especially hesitant to let former bad boy Nick McGuire into her life.

Nick McGuire has always put his law career above everything else. A family life was never in the cards for him. But then he met Mia and her daughters and he realized that he wasn’t content to simply be her friend.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jen Gilroy

Leave a Reply