Book Notification

Jennifer Finney Boylan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Falcon Quinn Books

Falcon Quinn and the Black Mirror (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falcon Quinn and the Crimson Vapor (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falcon Quinn and the Bullies of Greenblud (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Getting in (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Black Veil (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Boy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mad Honey (With: Jodi Picoult) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

I'll Give You Something to Cry Aboutla (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

She's Not There (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'm Looking Through You (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stuck in the Middle with You (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

How Beautiful the Ordinary: Twelve Stories of Identity(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Truth and Dare: 20 Tales of Heartbreak and Happiness(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bitch Is Back(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jennifer Finney Boylan is an American author best known for her nonfiction books which delve into her life as a transwoman.

The author was born in 1958 in Valley Forge, Pennsylvania. She attended a private boys prep school called The Haverford School, graduating in 1976 before moving on to Wesleyan University.

Jennifer Finney Boylan’s resume also makes mention of her time at Johns Hopkins University. While Jennifer describes herself as an author, she also identifies heavily as a political activist.

The author made quite a name for herself when she wrote an autobiography in 2003 detailing her life as an openly transgender American. The book was an unexpected hit, becoming a bestseller.

The autobiography wasn’t Jennifer’s first attempt at writing, though. She has works predating the 2000s but her fans might be unaware of them because they were written under the James Boylan name.

James Boylan’s literary career wasn’t particularly successful by the time Jennifer Finney Boylan came into the picture. It took Jennifer’s autobiography to reenergize the author’s literary prospects.

The autobiography (A Life of Two Genders) was able to effectively boost the author’s career because it appealed to both avid readers and casual readers as a result of the candid yet humorous approach Jennifer took to exploring her life.

It helped Jennifer’s case that the book was a novelty, the first to be written and published by an openly transgender woman. Literary professionals that were in the business at the time will tell you that the autobiography elicited a lot of buzz.

While most parties seemed set to laud Jennifer Finney Boylan for her literary efforts, a select few entities like Publishers Weekly took a harsher tone, criticizing the author for choosing to gloss over the prejudices that assaulted transgender people at the time.

But even those criticisms only served to elevate the autobiography to bestseller status.

The book is commonly associated with Jennifer Finney Boylan’s name because it was the turning point in her career. It was the reason she became a renowned author in the first place. The book saw her book numerous appearances on television shows like Larry King and the Oprah Winfrey Show. As such, it was hardly surprising that her name became synonymous with success in the literary arena afterward and that every book she has written since has attracted interest from many circles of society.

Jennifer Finney Boylan is married to Deidre Boylan. They have two sons. The pair tied the knot in 1988. Jennifer’s marriage has remained a critical aspect of the author’s life because she did not expect to maintain her relationship with Deidre when she began the change from male to female in 2000.

Jennifer speaks fondly of the relief she still feels that her marriage stood the test of time and that they have managed to maintain a close family unit over the years despite the turmoil they have experienced in their lives.

+Falcon Quinn and the Black Mirror

Falcon Quinn is a 13-year-old whose life is about to take an unexpected turn. When Falcon joins his neighbors Max and Megan on the number 13 bus, they expect to encounter another ordinary day at school.

It doesn’t take them long to realize that the bus isn’t taking the normal route to school. Before they know it, the kids have arrived at the Academy for Monsters on Shadow Island.

Falcon has seen monsters in movies but the student body on Shadow Island is something else entirely. Every monster and oddity one can imagine walks the halls of the academy. And what begins as a nightmare explodes into something far more exciting as Max and Megan begin to enjoy the bizarre nature of the extraordinary world around them.

Falcon isn’t too certain how to react. The 13-year-old always felt different, and it didn’t help that his eyes were two different colors. Now that he is on Shadow Island, Falcon cannot help but wonder whether or not he is a monster.

Falcon knows that there’s more to his nature than meets the eye and he hopes to discover the truth in the black mirror.

Falcon Quinn and The Black Mirror is the first book in the Falcon Quinn Series. The story it tells follows the exploits of a boy who ends up in a school for monsters. Falcon should be afraid.

But it doesn’t take him long to realize that, besides the monsters, the Academy is no different from his normal school. And even with the extraordinary creatures around him, he still doesn’t feel like he fits in.

Falcon spends this story trying to find somewhere that he belongs. But no matter how hard he tries Falcon keeps finding his way back to the Academy for Monsters.

While this book is written with younger readers in mind, there are some relatively dark elements at play. For instance, the reason the monster academy exists is that the monsters that Falcon meets have been driven into hiding by the humans who hunt them out of fear.

There are many children in the world with a monstrous nature at their core. When those children come of age, they are sent to the Academy of monsters where they hope to be safe from the pitchfork-wielding mobs that are determined to do them harm.

+Falcon Quinn and the Crimson Vapor

Falcon Quinn is a monster, and so are his friends Max, Pearl, and Mortia. Now that he knows who he is, Falcon feels like he has a place where he belongs. And he is more than happy to embrace the monstrous aspect of his life.

Of course, just because he embraces his roots doesn’t mean he understands what it means to be an angel. Falcon’s parents lead two warring groups so Falcon already feels torn between the two halves of his one nature.

Falcon wants to find safety and strength in his friends. But when his loyalty is questioned, Falcon is forced to run off to Guardian Island where his mother rules. There he will be treated as a prince, gain an understanding of the way the Guardians perceive the monsters and determine his place in the world.

This is the second book in the Falcon Quinn series. Falcon’s father leads the Academy of Monsters. His mother rules Guardian Island. Falcon must choose a side.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jennifer Finney Boylan

Leave a Reply