Book Notification

Jennifer Worth Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Midwife Trilogy Books

Call the Midwife / The Midwife (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of the Workhouse (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Farewell to the East End (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Toffee Apples and Quail Feathers (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Eczema and Food Allergy - The Hidden Cause? (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Midst of Life (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Complete Call the Midwife Stories (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Letters to the Midwife (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

The late Jennifer Worth was a British penwoman. Worth, whose birth name was Jennifer Lee, was born in September 1935 in Clacton-on-Sea upon Essex but she grew up in Buckinghamshire; she was a registered and a certified midwife. Jennifer Worth, who died of esophageal cancer in May 2011, at the age of 75, also doubled up as a musician and at one time served as a piano teacher.

Jennifer Worth had other occupations, especially in her formative years. For instance, when she was freshly out of school, then aged fifteen, she studied shorthand writing and typing; these stood her in good stead at a secretarial job which she held in a grammar school, in the run-up to studying nursing. She started working as a nurse in 1950 and left nursing in 1973, in a bid to follow her musical ambitions.

In the context of literary work, Jennifer Worth started writing later on in her life. However, her books, especially those which were reissued, became instant hits and shifted over a million copies in her home country alone. Generally, her books tackle various controversial aspects relating to midwifery and nunnery.

Description of Two Early Books in a Series
Jennifer Worth debuted in 1997. However, her debut book, which is titled Eczema and Food Allergy, is nothing worth writing home about and is a pale shadow of her subsequent books. Despite the fact that the debut book gave her a literary foothold, it is overshadowed by the series which she published half a decade later. There are more than 65 editions of the first book in The Midwife Trilogy. Subsequently, the first ever edition was originally published in 2002, titled The Midwife, and the series is shelved under the nonfiction, autobiography, medical, historical, biography, and memoir genres.

Another early book that Jennifer Worth published in The Midwife Trilogy is titled Shadows of the Workhouse. This is the second book in the said series. The book has over twenty five editions and the first one was initially published in 2005; just like its precursor, this book is also classified as historical, nonfiction, biography memoir, and autobiography memoir.

In the book called The Midwife, the plot chronicles the life of Jennifer Worth as a humanitarian aid worker during her early twenties; it is set in the wake of the Second World War. Hereby, Worth left her comfort zone and the convenience of a good life, and relocated to the then poverty-stricken area of East End of London. She chances upon variegated characters in yonder place. For example, there are an elderly nun who is somehow crazy, a mother who has given birth to over twenty three children, teenage sex workers, and rough and tough dock workers.

All in all, this book revisits and exemplifies the lives of London’s East End in the face of adversity, and the poor working and living conditions which midwives experienced in London’s East End but the aid workers soldiered on for the betterment of the society.

In the book named Shadows of the Workhouse, the plot revolves around especially: Frank, Jane, and Peggy. Jane, who is reportedly the illegitimate child of a nobleman and integrated into the workhouse at infancy, gets into a romantic affair with and ultimately marries a reverend. Frank and Peggy, who were orphaned at an early age, are siblings and double up as lovers. Another integral character in this book is Sister Monica Joan who is a nonagenarian. The Sister has been fingered for the theft of jewellery things from a regional market.

Jennifer Worth Awards
On October 2009, Jennifer Worth clinched the Mothers Naturally Award, in the category of the Outstanding Book of 2009. She was awarded courtesy of her 2002 book The Midwife.

Jennifer Worth Books into TV Shows
Jennifer Worth’s first book in The Midwife Trilogy, The Midwife, has since been adapted for the screen. The adaptation, which has also retained the original title, first run on BBC One; moreover, the TV show first aired on January 2012. The starring actor is English actress Jessica Raine wherein she appears as Jennifer Lee, notably in the first three series. However, on a special episode which was released on Christmas 2014, the elderly English actress Vanessa Redgrave appears as the aged Jennifer Worth.

Best Jennifer Worth Books
The books in The Midwife Trilogy–namely The Midwife, Shadows of the Workhouse, and the third book in her trilogy–are the three best books authored by Jennifer Worth. The two books titled The Midwife and Shadows of the Workhouse have just been described. The third and last book in The Midwife Trilogy was initially published in 2009. Hereby, Jennifer Worth wraps up her midwifery experience in London’s East End. The book is infused with a touching narration of an outbreak of tuberculosis, two females sharing one spouse, and, worse still, a mind-blowing case wherein a prostitute who served all the crews of a ship.

Other Books You May Like
Bibliophiles who enjoyed The Midwife Trilogy penned by Jennifer Worth also greatly enjoyed the following suchlike books. The first one is titled Rediscovering Birth and is authored by educator-cum-activist Sheila Kitzinger. This book was initially published in 2000. Hereby, Kitzinger, who is a birth educator, discusses the various aspects involved in pregnancy and child birth, especially the feelings and behavior. The spiritual and physical dimensions are also tackled and the significance of a midwife. To give an authoritative point of view, Ketzinger incorporates the traditions from diverse cultures across the globe.

The second one is called Women’s Reality and is penned by Anne Wilson Schaef. This novel was initially published in 1981 and is about feminism and psychology. It is all about what author Schaef aptly calls White Male, Female, and Asian-American systems. She uses these systems to disseminate social aspects such as competition, cooperation, domination, and equality.

The third one is called Emma and I penned by Sheila Hocken. This is a biographical account of the real-life experience of Sheila. The plot revolves around a blind child character yearning to see once more and realize her dreams just like the other sighted people. She acknowledges her labrador dog, called Emma and which is her guide, and the past master at surgical operations who gave her a new lease of life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jennifer Worth

2 Responses to “Jennifer Worth”

  1. Lynn Duncan: 1 year ago

    What is the order of the following 3 books
    Call the Midwife
    shadows of the workhouse
    farewell to the east end?

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      It’s listed above


Leave a Reply