Book Notification

Jenny Cooper Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jenny Cooper Books

The Coroner (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disappeared (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Redeemed (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flight (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Innocent (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chosen Dead (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Life to Kill / The Last Post (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chronological note: The Innocent is a prequel to the series.

The Jenny Cooper series is a series of mystery and thriller novels written by one of the well known British novelist and screenwriter named M.R. Hall. It consists of a total of 6 novels and 1 novella published between the years 2009 and 2014. All the novels of the series feature the central character in the form of Jenny Cooper, who is depicted as a coroner living in the Severn Vale, Gloucestershire. The first novel of the Jenny Cooper series written by author M.R. Hall was published under the title ‘The Coroner’. It was released in the year 2009 by the MacMillan Books publishing house. The plot of this novel introduces the main character named Jenny Cooper as a coroner hailing from the Severn Vale, Gloucestershire. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the dead body of a vulnerable young boy is discovered from a center of young offenders’, who is believed to have hung himself. It is followed by the death of a young girl, who dies due to an overdose of heroin.

Coroner Harry Marshall, who is appointed to look into the investigation of the two death cases, is found dead. He is believed to have apparently died due to natural causes. It is at this point that Jenny Cooper gets appointed as the replacement of Coroner Harry Marshall. She is asked not only to solve the mysterious cases of the death of the young teenagers, but also investigates about the death of the former coroner. While studying about the events in the life of Harry Marshall just before his death, Jenny finds that he was behaving in a strange way. This leaves her puzzled and she does not seem to be able to think how to proceed further. One thing about Jenny Cooper is well known all over the city that when the people in power try to hide the reality, she goes on to risk everything in order to reveal it. When Jenny Cooper gets promoted from being a lawyer to the post of the District Coroner of the Severn Vale district, she hopes to spend the rest of her life in a quiet environment. Jenny needs some space in her life so that she could recover from the traumatic experience of her divorce.

However, when she inherits the office of the recently deceased and her predecessor coroner named Harry Marshall, she finds that there are several neglected files which hide some dark secrets as well the trail of an important buried evidence with them. Jenny Cooper begins to think whether there is possibility that the tragic custodial death of the young boy have a link with the case of the apparent suicide of the teenage prostitute. She also wonders whether the fate of Harry Marshall is linked with the two cases or not. Her curiosity goes on rising as she learns about the strange behavior of Harry Marshall right before his death. It seemed the he was planning to reveal a previous injustice and it was not getting clear as to why he changed his heart abruptly. Being surrounded all over by the sinister and powerful forces, which appear to be determined to prevent the hidden truth getting uncovered and keep a watch on the activities of her, Jenny Cooper embarks on a dangerous and lonely journey for serving the justice. She appears to be leading a one woman crusade, which not only threatens her career, but also her life and sanity.

The second novel of the Jenny Cooper series written by author M.R. Hall was published under the title ‘The Disappeared’. It was released by the Simon and Schuster publishing house in the year 2009. The plot of this novel continues to depict the main character named Jenny Cooper as the District Coroner of the Severn Vale district in Gloucestershire. In the opening sequence of the plot of this novel, it is shown that a couple of young students of Britain named Rafi Hassan and Nazim Jamal get vanished mysteriously and do not get traced even after a lot of efforts. Later, the parents of the two young students come to know that the police had kept both of them under surveillance. Therefore, the police believes that they must have left the country in order to get off from the surveillance and eventually go on to pursue their evil new ideals. Even after the passage of 7 years of the incident, Nazim Jamal’s grief stricken mother does not seem convinced that her son has fled the country. So, she turns to Coroner Jenny Cooper as her last hope in finding her missing son as well as his friend Rafi Hassan. It is at the same time that Jenny has finally begun to settle into her post as the Coroner of the Severn Vale district. She has finally been able to banish the ghosts of her troubled past that threatened to harm her, to the sidelines once again. However, as she begins to carry on with the inquest into the disappearance case of Nazim Jamal and Rafi Hassan, the stink of conspiracies and corruption begin to intensify in her life once more.

Jenny begins to get pressurized from the top officers of her organization, which causes a code of extreme silence to be imposed in the disappearance case of the two young students of Britain. Jenny Cooper is forced to such an extent that she is pushed to her breaking point. She had never thought that while trying to uncover the mystery behind the disappearance of the young students, she will be forced to unearth and face the buried secrets of her own past life. Jenny Cooper had also not imagined that she will be forced to bear the pressure of the corruptions and conspiracies from her own department. But even after all the troubles in her life, she does not lose hope and keeps on moving ahead with the investigation. Jenny Cooper gains motivation from her determined efforts, which help her to break all the barriers and succeed in whatever she is trying to achieve. Both the initial novels of the series became highly successful all over the world. This helped author M.R. Hall to receive a lot of praises from the readers as well as from the critics. He was also appreciated by his fellow authors, who motivated him to write the further novels of the series. The encouragement worked wonders for him and helped him to write a few more novels in the series, all of which also became very much successful.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jenny Cooper

One Response to “Jenny Cooper”

  1. Frances Baker: 1 year ago

    Love the TV program. Is the books series different that the TV series made in Canada anything like the books?


Leave a Reply