Book Notification

Jenny Eclair Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Camberwell Beauty (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Having a Lovely Time (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life, Death and Vanilla Slices (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moving (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inheritance (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Writing on the Wall (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Book Of Bad Behaviour (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wendy: The Bumper Book of Fun for Women of a Certain Age (With: Judith Holder) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grumpy Old Couples (With: Judith Holder) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chin Up, Britain (With: Judith Holder) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Older and Wider (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Listening In: Stories (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Booby Trap and Other Bits and Boobs(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Jenny Eclair

The British author and comedian Jenny Eclair is known by many due to her work in entertainment and broadcasting over many years. Regarded as a leading personality within her field, she’s well known for her incisive wit and style, making her one of the foremost figures within her field. Often seen presenting on television, she’s a regular fixture on numerous shows, as well as featuring upon the radio as well. All of this has seen her become a big name over time, with her being a familiar face for many all around the world.

Speaking on stage, she started out as a stand-up comedian, which would then lead to her becoming a well respected writer. Producing a number of books, she would humor books that would feature her signature brand of wit and intelligence running throughout. Appealing to many from all over, she has fast risen to prominence, with both critics and readers alike singing her many praises. Previously working in radio as well, her books have resonated with many with their vivid descriptions and compelling stories that are highly accessible.

Knowing her audience well at this point, she really manages to draw them in, keeping them there with her interesting and engaging stories. The books she has written over the years are testament to this, having written them alongside managing her long-running career in broadcasting. Ensuring readers continually come back for more, she’s also well known for her characters who really manage to leap off the page. With lots more to come in the career of Jenny Eclair, it’s definitely clear that she isn’t finishing any time soon in the near future.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1960 on the 16th of March, Jenny Eclair was born in Kuala Lumpa in the Federation of Malaya, which is now Malaysia. Living there until she was two years old, she would then come to England with her father who was a Major in serving the British Army at the time. Living in England, she would grow up and soon adopt the name of Eclair for herself, which she would come to use throughout her life.

Studying at Manchester Polytechnic School of Drama, she would join a cabaret group, where she would come to gain a stage presence. Moving to London she would find work doing punk poems on stage, which is where she would begin to develop her voice and stage persona. Winning the Time Out Cabaret award in 1989, she would also go on to become the first woman to win the Perrier Award in 1995, and has been writing and performing ever since.

Writing Career

In 2000 Jenny Eclair would write and publish her first novel titled ‘Camberwell Beauty,’ which was a stand-alone piece of general fiction. She’d later follow this up with ‘Having a Lovely Time’ in 2000 as well, along with ‘Life, Death, and Vanilla Slices’ in 2012. Later she’d also publish ‘Moving’ in 2015, and then ‘Inheritance’ in 2019 as well, making a name for herself as a fully fledged author.

During this time she would also write a lot of her own material for performing on-stage, allowing her to make a name for herself. Often seen acting too, she would appear in various shows, along with appearing as herself as a guest on many shows too. This continues to this very day, as she maintains a presence both online and off, appealing to readers and viewers from all over.

Having a Lovely Time

Originally published through the ‘Sphere’ publishing imprint, this would first come out back in 2000, and would be the second book from Jenny Eclair. Released as a stand-alone novel, it would feature a contemporary look at modern day romance and relationships in the real-world. Easy to pick up, yet just as difficult to put down, it’s accessible to a wide range of readers, regardless of their background.

Easy-going and straightforward, this is a fun and engaging look at modern relationships, and the interplay often surrounding them. Getting to the heart of a number of deeper issues, Eclair leaves room for plenty of jokes and humor along the way. The characters themselves are also very well drawn, making for some compelling personalities that the reader can really relate to, along with some more repellent personalities too, who are just as engaging.

Discovering his girlfriend Nina is pregnant, Joe Dobson leaves his wife and kids behind, only to feel that he’s now living a cliched existence. Booking them both a holiday in Tuscany, Nina’s excitement soon evaporates when she realizes Joe’s kids are also coming. Then there’s Guy Jamieson who wants to leave his wife Alice, but she wants to secretly have another baby. How will they all get along, what will become of each of their relationships, and will they end up having a lovely time?


Initially published through the ‘Sphere’ publishing outlet once again, this was first released on the 1st of August in 2019. Working entirely as a stand-alone once more, it’s a fun and well told story, with a lot to offer the reader throughout, along with some darker elements too. There’s plenty of more poignant details too, as it really delivers on every single level, making for a compelling family story.

Looking at an extremely dysfunctional family, this book doesn’t hold back in its portrayal of how things really are. There are plenty of flawed characters for the reader to enjoy following here, making for an extremely engaging and well told story. As a family saga it works well on a number of different levels, and there’s plenty for the reader to really invest themselves in here.

The Kittiwake mansion is located in deep Cornwall, and it’s seen numerous people pass through its hallways over the years. Purchased by Peggy Carmichael the American heiress seventy years prior, the keys have been passed down through the generations, now ending up Lance. He’s Bel’s adoptive brother, and he’ll now be celebrating his 50th birthday at the mansion, and Bel is returning to the mansion for the celebrations, and a collection of unhappy memories. Will she be able to overcome her own past, can the memories of each generation be overlooked, and what will become of the inheritance?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jenny Eclair

Leave a Reply