Book Notification

Jenny Lawson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of JennyLawson Non-Fiction Books

Let's Pretend This Never Happened (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Furiously Happy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Are Here (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken (in the best possible way) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Choose Darkness (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jenny Lawson is a humor, memoir and biographies author from Wall, Texas. She went to Angelo State University in her earlier years and is now best known as the author at the “Bloggess” website.

She was formerly a columnist at “SexIs magazine,” the “Houston Chronicle” and the “Ill Advised Blog.” She has made a name for herself on the web for her irreverent writing style, which got her fired from several publications.

She is afflicted with rheumatoid arthritis, mild obsessive compulsive website, avoidant personality disorder, anxiety and depression.
Nielsen recognized the blogger in the list of the Top 50 Most Powerful Mom Bloggers. Her website “The Bloggess” made the list of the Top 100 Websites for Women by “Forbes.” She was also a finalist for the Weblog of the Year, and Most Humorous Writer in 2010.

The Huffington Post would name her the Greatest Person of the Day in 2011 since she had been very effective in helping raise money for struggling families hit by the 2008 financial crisis. For her work, she was interviewed on Connect with Mark Kelley on the CBC News Network.

Jenny Lawson is one of the most honest and extremely funny bloggers on the web. Her relentless quest for authenticity is what results in the darkly hilarious blogs and memoirs. What is so great about her is that she manages to find something funny even when she is writing works about dark themes such as depression.
But that is not all that she does as she has become known for writing comforting and unexpectedly inspiring blogs, articles and memoirs that are surprisingly very endearing. As a sufferer of depression, she humanizes what it is to suffer from one of the most debilitating human conditions.

She does this while still managing to make her readers laugh. Lawson usually tackles everything from how she was attacked by bears, how a vacuum cleaner almost burnt her house to the ground, why she doesn’t like to go to the post office and how dogs come to realize that they have penises.
Of course Victor, her long suffering husband, is often a character in the many stories that she tells.

She has written several works of the years including “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened,” an autobiography that she published in 2012. The work would go on to become very popular on release and it would become a New York Times bestselling title. It would also be a Goodreads choice winner of the Best Humor Book in 2012.

“Furiously Happy” her second book was published in 2015 and was her humorous take on her experiences with anxiety and depression disorders. Just like with her debut, the work would become a New York Times bestselling title that debuted on number 3.

The work, which was published in 2015 would go on to top the list in 2016. She also won the Audie Award for best humor book for the audio version of “Furiously Happy.”

Jenny Lawson the renowned author and blogger made her literary debut with the memoir “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. “
According to Jenny Lawson, the most horrifying moments of human life are the ones most people pretend never happened. She asserts that this is the wrong thing to do since these are the moments that define the core of our being.

Jenny takes the reader on a humorous journey that recalls her weird upbringing in rural Texas, her relationship with Victor, her long suffering husband and her awkward years in high school.

The chapters are on weird topics such as the time she snuck a dead Cuban alligator onto an airline, a series of angry notes to her husband and her menagerie of pets among many authors. She accompanies all the stories she tells in the memoir with pictures as she says nobody would believe anything without proof.
To write the work, she read a ton of memoirs and this is perhaps what makes this very different from the usual memoir.

Unlike other memoir authors who just talk about their messed up lives, Jenny talks about the dysfunctionality in her life but never dials it back as she believes she is energized by the bizarreness and dysfunctionality of life.

Jenny Lawson’s novel “Furiously Happy” is a humor memoir that she peppers with just enough pathos and tragedy to make for a worthwhile read. Lawson explores her own experiences with severe depression and several other conditions. She also explains how these led to her living life to the fullest.

She believes that anyone that has had to deal with severe depression typically develops a well for experiencing extreme emotion. As such, these people can experience extreme joy in a way that would boggle the minds of most normal people who have not experienced such emotion.

Whenever she goes on book readings, she has often had fans line up to have her sign their bottles of Prozac or Xanax as often as they want her to sign their books. The work appeals to the core fan base that Jenny has cultivated over the years even though it does to a point transcend it.

There are many people in the world who struggle with mental illnesses and depression and if not someone in their family or friends circle. In this work, they will find a tribe member who offers an uplifting message.

“Broken” by Jenny Lawson is a novel that brings Jenny’s readers on her physical and mental health journey. In this work, she provides some hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking anecdotes.

With depression and anxiety becoming more relevant in the modern world, Jenny humanizes what so many people face in an all too real way. She reassures sufferers that they are not alone, even as she makes them laugh at their condition rather than commiserate.

From the many business ideas she has thought she could one day get to present to Shark Tank, to why the post office is a place she will never visit, Jenny leaves nothing to the imagination.

Broken is a wellspring of laughter and beacon of hope for people who suffer from mental illness that will be a treat for both new and existing fans.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jenny Lawson

Leave a Reply