Book Notification

Jeremy Clarkson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Diddly Squat Books

Diddly Squat - A Year on the Farm (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
‘Til The Cows Come Home (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diddly Squat: Pigs Might Fly (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The World According to Clarkson Books

The World According to Clarkson (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Crying Out Loud! (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Another Thing (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
How Hard Can It Be? (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Is It Really Too Much To Ask? (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
As I Was Saying . . . (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
If You’d Just Let Me Finish (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Motorworld / Jeremy Clarkson's Motorworld (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clarksons Hot 100 (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jeremy Clarkson’s Planet Dagenham: Drivestyles of The Rich and Famous (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Born to be Riled (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clarkson on Cars (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Know You Got Soul (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dont Stop Me Now (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Round the Bend (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Driven to Distraction (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Top Gear Years (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Could Possibly Go Wrong. . . (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grand Tour Guide to the World (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Really? (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

An outspoken media personality and writer, the British author Jeremy Clarkson is well known for his highly vocal views on a whole range of different subjects. Using his own distinctive sense-of-humor he is known for causing a certain degree of controversy over what he says and does within the media. This has lead to him becoming a highly divisive yet successful figure in his own right, drawing in a particular audience who his work resonates with. Working both on television and in print, he made a name talking and writing about automobiles, but it was his later penchant for railing again political correctness as he perceived it, that would gain him a great deal of national notoriety. Whether people are arguing for or against what he has to say though, they can be sure that plenty are still out there listening regardless. This has lead to him enjoying a rich and varied range of positions over the duration of his career thus far, whether it be presenting on BBC for their flagship car program ‘Top Gear’, or his later position working for Amazon with their program ‘The Grand Tour’. Along with this he has created a whole selection of books, from memoirs to collections of articles, all of which combine his thoughts and feelings on a whole range of different subjects.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1960 on the 11th of April, the future writer and broadcaster would grow up in Doncaster, with his parents Edward Grenville Clarkson and Shirley Gabrielle Clarkson who ran their own business. Later on he would go on to attend private school, attending Hill House School in Doncaster, before going on to attend Repton School as well. Whilst he didn’t have such a good time there, experiencing bullying, he would later go on to have a successful career, working for the Rotherham Advertiser, which would be his first job writing for a larger audience. This would soon develop, as he would go on to write for a number of other publications, all the while making a name for himself in the print-press as an outspoken critic.

Working as an actor during his early youth on the BBC’s radio series of ‘Jennings’ books for the ‘Children’s Hour’, he would stop after his voice broke. This would give him some insight into the industry early on, as he would later go on to work for a number of publications before going back to work at the BBC. During his time at Repton School he would also come into contact with Andy Wilman, who would later become the executive producer of ‘Top Gear’. This would then take him into his career as a well established writer, as he currently lives in Chipping Norton, where he continues to write and broadcast to this very day.

Writing Career

Starting out in the Rotherham Advertiser at a young age, this would be his first job writing whereby he would also be trained as a journalist, getting experience in the industry. This would later be followed up by a succession of other publications, such as the Rochdale Observer, the Shropshire Star and Lincolnshire Life. It was during 1984 though, that he would go on and form the ‘Motoring Press Agency’ with his fellow journalist Jonathan Gill, whereby they would conduct road tests then write-up on them for the press. This would later lead to him working at the ‘Top Gear’ magazine upon its initial inception in 1993, something which he would return to throughout the years.

The program of ‘Top Gear’ itself would run with him from 1988 to 2000, then he would return in 2002 staying until 2015. This would be where he would make his name as a broadcaster, raising his national profile, whilst becoming a famous public figure and celebrity. It was in 1996 that he would have his first book published with the title ‘Jeremy Clarkson’s Motorworld’, as he would largely write non-fiction, whilst mainly focusing upon cars. Many of his later books would utilize his public persona of being opinionated within the media, taking a lot of his ideas from his columns written for numerous different British tabloids, something that is expected to carry on for some time to come.

Clarkson on Cars

Originally brought out in 2004 on the 27th of May, this would collate a lot of his articles dating back to the eighties, bringing them all together for the first time. Focusing on his thoughts on cars and the various issues surrounding them, he would incorporate a wide range of disparate topics, all circulating around automobiles. Using stories and anecdotes as well, he would also bring his infamous brand of humor for which he would make his name with over the years as well. It would pack in his ideas and reveries, creating a collection that would draw them together giving an insight into who he is and how he thinks.

For Crying Out Loud!

This was to be the third title in ‘The World According to Clarkson’ collection of books, as it would provide further insight into his mindset and how he thinks as a person. Preceded by ‘The World According to Clarkson’ followed by ‘And Another Thing’, these titles would help make his name as a populist writer of non-fiction. With over six titles in the series overall, this has probably been his most successful franchise in the publishing world, with a collection of omnibus editions too. Bringing his perspective to the forefront once again, it manages to incorporate his now trademark sense-of-humor and insight into his work once again.

Driven to Distraction

Brought out in 2009 through the ‘Michael Joseph’ publishing outlet, this would initially be released upon the 16th of September that year. Focusing mainly on cars once again, it gives his views on the subject of automobiles and everything surrounding them, along with a collection of his own thoughts and musings once more. Combining engines with his own outlook, it sets about providing another foray into his mind, as he makes jokes in his own unique manner, something that will carry on into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jeremy Clarkson

Leave a Reply