Book Notification

Jerry McNeal Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jerry McNeal Books

Always Faithful (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghostly Guidance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rambling Spirit (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chosen Path (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Port Hope (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Case (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Winds (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystic Angel (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uncanny Coincidence (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chesapeake Chaos (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Villages Shenanigans (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Special Delivery (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirit of Deadwood (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Star Treatment (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merry Me (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Treasures (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jerry McNeal (Series by Sherry A. Burton)

Sherry A. Burton writes the “Jerry McNeal” series of cozy mystery novels. They are Paranormal Snapshots (or novellas).

Sherry envisions the books to be like a weekly TV series, like “Odd Thomas” meets “Highway to Heaven”. They’re meant to be quick reads.

Jerry (a Marine Veteran) is able to speak to and see spirits, making for some “lively” conversations. He was born with this psychic ability allowing him to know when something is going to happen before it does.

The series begins when, this one fateful night, as Jerry’s on patrol as a Pennsylvania State Trooper, he finds himself being aided by a K-9 police officer’s ghost. Without this dog’s aid, a woman would have died. With every book that follows, their unique partnership grows while they navigate through their next adventure. Join Jerry and his ghostly K-9 partner while they put their gifts to good use.

“Always Faithful” is the first novel in the “Jerry McNeal” series and was released in 2019. Call it intuition, or call it a premonition. Call it whatever you want, however Pennsylvania State Trooper Jerry McNeal only thinks of it as “that feeling”. This feeling might come on without any warning, it’s so intense that he cannot breathe. It might just be a gentle nag that pulls at him until he decides to do something about it. He never really knows what “it” is until he even gets there, but once he has arrived, he always knows he has found just what he is looking for.

Trooper McNeal, during one of the biggest snowstorms of the year, feels that familiar stir. This unease which grows with every flake that falls. Its intensity pulls at him until he’s got no choice but to venture out onto the treacherous roads, following this invisible pull which grips at his very soul. Tonight, that feeling is going to take him into this blizzard while the streets are supposed to be empty in order to save a life which would have been lost otherwise. Just tonight, he’s not going alone.

This is a quick and enjoyable read that leaves you wanting even more by the end and jump into the next one in the series. It has an interesting premise and some likable characters.

“Ghostly Guidance” is the second novel in the “Jerry McNeal” series and was released in 2022. Jerry McNeal never asked to be born with the gift of premonition. Nor did he ever ask to get haunted by the ghost of this K-9 police dog that does not even seem to like him. Yet in this second book of the series, Jerry finds he’s stuck with both.

While Jerry struggles to coexist with this new ghostly companion of his, he has to also follow the feeling that warns him about imminent danger. This is so that he can save Savannah, this psychic medium that unknowingly puts her own life at risk after refusing to give her client some bad news.

Is Trooper McNeal going to be able to find the dog some other companion to attach itself to? Or is Jerry going to be able to finally accept things he’s got zero power to change and make a choice which will alter his life forever?

“Rambling Spirit” is the third novel in the “Jerry McNeal” series and was released in 2022. Pennsylvania State Trooper McNeal believed resigning from the State Police Post would free him and Gunter (his ghostly K-9 partner) to channel their intuition for the greater good.

What he wasn’t counting on was just how many people would show up on his psychic radar at every turn. What’s supposed to be just a short trip to Louisville, Kentucky in order to take Cat to his new home turns into an extended stay after he sees a picture of Alex (Savannah’s wife) in her police uniform.

Jerry (with his PTSD ramped up) needs all of the paranormal resources at his disposal if he’s going to be able to navigate through a city filled with seven hundred thousand tourists during Derby festivities and save the life of this one police officer. With Savannah and Gunter ready to help, the race has begun. However is this ex-State Trooper, psychic medium, and ghostly dog going to be enough to save the day?

“Chosen Path” is the fourth novel in the “Jerry McNeal” series and was released in 2022. Jerry McNeal has spent his entire life hunting for answers. Why was he burdened with the ability of seeing ghosts? Why was he born with the gift of second sight? Why did he have to be born different from everybody else?

Jerry reluctantly agrees to head on back to his childhood town of Newport, Tennessee for a family reunion that he doesn’t even want to attend, he finds himself being surrounded by ghosts. Spirits, all of whom have a message for him and are forcing this reluctant psychic medium to pay attention and follow their unsolicited advice.

Is Jerry going to be able to get through this family reunion without pushing away the only family that he has remaining? Can Jerry and his ghostly companion help the spirit of one childhood friend find any peace in the afterlife?

Join Jerry while he navigates his way through the truth of his existence and discovers finally his chosen path.

“Port Hope” is the fifth novel in the “Jerry McNeal” series and was released in 2022. Jerry and Gunter are heading off to Michigan so they can visit Max and learn what, if any, secrets are hiding in Lighthouse County Park.

Port Hope, which is the sleepy little town that rests along the coast of Lake Huron, is the very last place that anybody would be expecting to locate a dead body, much less a body which so closely resembles the one Gunter and Jerry found in Tennessee.

Could the redheaded spirit that visits Max in her dreams just a wayward ghost which haunts Pointe Aux Barques Lighthouse? Or is Gunter, Max, and Jerry going to find a truth that’s too frightening to get labeled as a mere coincidence?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jerry McNeal

Leave a Reply