Book Notification

Jess Haines Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of H&W Investigations Books

Hunted by the Others (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taken by the Others (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deceived by the Others (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stalking the Others (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forsaken by the Others (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Cravings (With: E. Blix) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enslaved By the Others (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Blackhollow Academy Books

Smoke and Mirrors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Phoenix Rising Books

Ashes of the Phoenix (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Nocturnal(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Real Werewives of Vampire County(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jess Haines is one of the noteworthy novelists from America, who likes to write paranormal romance, urban fantasy, mystery, humor, and science fiction genres. She is particularly well known for writing the H&W Investigations series. This series revolves around the vampires and is set in a paranormal world. Author Haines has described that the universe gets filled with the supernatural beings, which come out past the 9/11 disaster. Haines is from New York. She was born there, but now lives in Southern California. Author Haines began her career as a novelist in the year 2010 with the release of her debut book titled Hunted by the Others. Besides the paranormal romance books, Haines has also written a few short stories in her writing career. She has said that she is a displace New Yorker and has a penchant towards the obscure, fantastical, and silly things. Currently, she is staying at her temporary home in Tampa, Florida, where she is working on the plot development of her next H&W Investigations book. After the immense success of this fantasy series, author Haines has started writing a young adult/contemporary fantasy series known as the Black Hollow Academy series. Author Haines has mentioned in her interviews that she was inspired to become a writer by reading the popular works of some of the prominent authors like Piers Anthony, Jim Butcher, Laurell K Hamilton, Bill Watterson, Kim Harrison, and Stephen King. The H&W Investigations novel series depicts the central character in the role of Shiarra Waynest. She is described as a New York lady who witnesses the arrival of the werewolves and vampires in her supernatural world after the attacks of 9/11. Unlike the normal urban fantasy books in which the main characters are described as having paranormal powers, author Haines has described Shiarra Waynest as a human being living in an alternate world.

Shiarra Waynest gets extra boost from her friends and things like the sentinent, snarky belt that allows her to hunt down the vampires. However, from inside she is just like any other human being. She does not possess any super power, super strength, stamina, or mind-reading abilities. Whenever a time comes when she is required to deal with the supernaturals, it scares her from inside out. Shiarra Waynest is dragged into the messes of the ferocious werewolves, sexy vampires, cunning magi, etc. The only thing that she wishes for is to keep afloat her private investigating business. Unfortunately, it is the Others that keep demanding more from her. Shiarra does not get affected by the sudden arrival of the vampires and werewolves. She thinks that whatever they are doing in the human world is their own business. But, without getting thrust into the events of the supernatural beings is not going to help her in any way. In an attempt to save her investigating agency from falling, Shiarra Waynest accepts a lucrative offer. She had no idea that this offer would result in a roller coaster ride full of nightmares. Since then, she is required to deal with the vampires frequently. Shiarra’s phobia of vampires does not help her. Even her own mother causes a lot of troubles in her life unknowingly as she tries to reset her relationship with her former boyfriend, who is actually a werewolf. Also, Shiarra is threatened by a vigilante hunters group to join them in hunting the supernaturals or die. In lacking the skills to hunt vampires Shiarra Waynest is made fun of quite often.

The H&W Investigations series written by Jess Haines is comprised of 8 books in total, which were released between the years 2010 and 2014. One of the initial books published in the series is entitled ‘Taken by the others’. It was released by the Zebra publication in the year 2011. The main characters mentioned in this book include Shiarra Waynest, Alec Royce, and Max Carlyle. At the start of the book, it is shown that private investigator Shiarra Waynest’s biggest problem in life is to keep her business up and running. But now, she is more worried about a couple of seductive and dangerous vampires with whom she is forced to deal. These vampires, Max Carlyle and Alec Royce are the biggest enemies of one another and the only thing that they agree with is that both of them want to have Shiarra for their own reasons. Max wishes to destroy Shiarra for being involved in the killing of his progeny. Alec Royce wants to have her for a more personal reason. Because of this, the werewolf friend of Shiarra named Chaz does not take it well. As time goes by, the feud between Royce and Max becomes even more deadly. In the meantime, Shiarra Waynest is forced by a powerful vampire hunting group to join them for eradicating the supernaturals from the human world. Shiarra has always thought of the vampires as bad guys, but recently she has been getting different thoughts about them. This new thought enables her to have soft feelings for them. As a result, she finds herself in two minds in deciding whether she should be with the vampires or against them. Because of the mixed feelings, Shiarra’s friendship, loyalties, and desires are put on the line and she feels the need to sort out the things in her life as soon as possible.

Another popular book written in the series is called ‘Deceived by the Others’. The Zebra publishers released this book also in 2011. Once again, the main characters depicted in the story include Shiarra Waynest, Chaz, werewolves, and vampires. At the beginning of the novel, Shiarra is shown having an unconventional relationship with the sexy werewolf named Chaz. Despite having several bumps, Shiarra seems ready to take it seriously. This requires her to meet Chaz’s family. Shiarra invites the werewolf pack of Chaz for a family weekend in Catskills. As soon as Chaz’s pack arrives at the venue, they come across a threatening note that warns them to go home. Soon after, the pack’s cabin gets ransacked. In order to get to the root of it, Shiarra starts investigating. She tries to find whether it is the work of the teenaged werewolves or a more sinister force. And as the rumors about her connections with the vampires arouses the hostility of the pack, Shiarra seems more contend with the other dangers. She feels more threatened about the fatal intentions of an adversary as well as a close threat that she knows about very well.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jess Haines

One Response to “Jess Haines”

  1. Jessica: 3 years ago

    Really love the h&w investigation books and I’m rereading them now for the hundredth time and can’t wait for more.


Leave a Reply