Book Notification

Jessica Cluess Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kingdom on Fire Books

A Shadow Bright and Burning (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Poison Dark and Drowning (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sorrow Fierce and Falling (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of House of Dragons Books

House of Dragons (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
War of Dragons (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Midnight Symphony: Tales of the Macabre and Supernatural(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worlds Long Lost(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Jessica Cluess was born in the city of Los Angeles (where she has lived for a lot of her life), and writes young adult novels. For a time, she lived in Chicago, but left when the weather was too bad. While she was in high school, she did not get to hang out with the cool kids, but was in the AP classes with them. As a kid, she kind of knew how to skateboard, and her impressive accomplishments starts and ends there. She also claims that she spends a lot of time writing in dark rooms and hissing at the sun.

She worked some different kinds of jobs after graduating from Northwestern University. She was moderator for a radio news site, served Orson Scott Card his coffee, and performed Cinderella for a lot of Texas. While working in the coffee shop, she was working on her first novel. When not writing, she also helps teens and kids write their own stories, working as an instructor at Writopia Lab.

She does not apologize for being a nerd. She became a nerd after she found “Dune” by Frank Herbert, when she was just 24 years old and finished with college. It was hard to find work, with a recession on and all. “Dune” sucked her in, and took her to a new world. It made her a big nerd and she realized that genre fiction is able to take people to new worlds and immerse them in the stories. It was here that she started writing full on. “Lord of the Rings”, however, was the one that made her fully passionate about the genre of fantasy. She loves “James and the Giant Peach” for its dark twists.

While in college, she found some people that had seen Eddie Izzard’s “Dressed To Kill” and knew that she found her tribe. She also thinks that Bram Stoker’s Dracula is a wonderfully insane movie. She also likes the television series “Glow”, about the women’s wrestling league from the eighties, which her and a friend binge watched one time, even though her friend had jet lag at the time.

She published her first novel, in the year 2016, called “A Shadow Bright and Burning”, which is a part of her Kingdom of Fire series. It stars Henrietta, who trains as a sorcerer, after revealing that she has powers. She says that from the first time she sat down to write, until it was published was a two year span that sounds like it was a long time, but feels a lot faster to her now.

“A Shadow Bright and Burning” is the first novel in the “Kingdom on Fire” series and was released in the year 2016. Henrietta is able to burst into flames, and she has to reveal that she has this power so that she can save a friend of hers. It shocks her that instead of being executed, she is declared the first female sorcerer in centuries. She gets an invite to train as a sorcerer for Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers.

She is thrown right into the glamour that is in Victorian London, she is seen to be the prophesied one. The one that is going to beat the Ancients (which are bloodthirsty demons that terrorize mankind). Henrietta meets the other sorcerers in training, they are all handsome men that are quick to test both her heart and her power.

She is not the chosen one, however. She is playing at deception, and finds out about the sorcerers keeping their own secrets that they want to protect. There is battle on the horizon, just how much is she going to risk to save the city, as well as the one she loves?

This is a solid and fun way to kick start a fantasy series. Fans of the novel like the messages this book sends to kids; inner strength, embracing the things that make you insecure, and equality. Readers cannot wait to read more books from this fantastic series, and hope they live up to the promising start that this one had. Some especially liked the strong main character of the book, named Henrietta, who was strong and she stood up for what is right, no matter how society feels about it. This book will stick with you a long time after you have finished the story.

“A Poison Dark and Drowning” is the second novel in the “Kingdom on Fire” series and was released in the year 2017. Henrietta is not in need of a prophecy to know that she is in danger. She cam to London so that she would be named the chosen one, to be the first woman sorcerer in hundreds of years and the one that would defeat the Ancients. What she found, was a city of secrets; the biggest of which is that Henrietta is not the chosen one.

She has to play the role of the chosen one, so that she can keep herself and Rook (who is her best buddy and her childhood love) safe. Will she be able to save him? The poison he has in him is starting to change him into a monster, while he starts to master his own dark powers.

She finds a clue about the Ancients’ past that could change how the war is going, she gets Blackwood (Earl of Sorrow-Fell) to go up the coast to find some new weapons to use. Magnus (a boy that is a brave and reckless flirt that would like to win her back) is going to help out on their mission. They will meet some new allies with a lot of power, face off with more monsters, and find the truth (which is the biggest and most powerful weapon there is).

Some found this book to be a novel that seemed stole their heart, and at the same time, ripped it from their chest. Fans of the novel loved the world that is built here, and the way that Cluess describes the beasts and her writing overall. Fans believed that Jessica wrote an even better book this time around, than book one in the series. The book has nice new characters to go along with the characters that were around in book one. The book is just as atmospheric as book one, and readers cannot wait to get their hands on more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessica Cluess

Leave a Reply