Book Notification

Jessica Day George Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dragon Slippers Books

Publication Order of Princess of the Midnight Ball Books

Princess of the Midnight Ball (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Princess of Glass (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Princess of the Silver Woods (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Castle Glower Books

Tuesdays at the Castle (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holidays at the Castle (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wednesdays in the Tower (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thursdays with the Crown (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fridays with the Wizards (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saturdays at Sea (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Silver in the Blood Books

Silver in the Blood (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Rose Legacy Books

The Rose Legacy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen's Secret (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rider's Reign (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Happily Ever After Collection(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jessica Day George, who sometimes just goes by the name Jessica Day, is an American author and bestseller that has written numerous adaptations of famous fairy tales.


Jessica Day George was born in 1976. And as far as she can remember, her life has always revolved around books. Everything she did and thought about was merely an obstacle waiting to be moved so she could finally get to her books, not only with regards to reading them and writing them.

All her friends and family can tell you as much. Where other authors might select their bags with fashion in mind, Jessica doesn’t waste money on any purse that cannot fit her paperback book.

It isn’t even that surprising to learn that Jessica was accompanied by books to her honeymoon. This obsession had a direct impact on Jessica’s decisions in life, especially when she chose to pursue a Humanities/Comparative Literature degree.

The degree, which she acquired from Brigham Young University, enticed Jessica because she thought it would let her read as many books as she could possibly want. It was with such considerations that Jessica selected her major.

She also figured that her degree would arm her with all the knowledge she would need to write her own books. Of course, Jessica’s dreams did not always make sense to those around her, and it didn’t help that she was always so open about her plans.

By the time she was twelve, Jessica Day George knew that she wanted to be a writer and she said as much. Nothing less would suffice. Jessica pursued this goal every chance she got.

It didn’t matter whether she was living in New Jersey, Delaware or Utah; Jessica could read and write from anywhere, so she focused her attention on getting her stories together and producing a competent manuscript.

Naturally, as every aspiring author will attest, writing isn’t the easiest field to pursue and it doesn’t always deliver financial rewards, at least not immediately. It comes as no surprise that, because Jessica only cared about writing as a career, she had to do a number of odd jobs in order to support her publishing efforts.

This included working at a video store and at a wedding invitation factory, not to mention all the time she spent in bookstores and libraries. In all that time, Jessica was simply looking forward to the day she would eventually get published.

It wasn’t a question of ‘If’ for Jessica but, rather, a matter of ‘When’. Jessica had no plan B. There would be no giving up on her dream and changing careers, not until she was published.

Luckily for Jessica, she is one of those aspiring authors for whom determination and perseverance paid off. With books like the ‘Princess’ series and ‘Dragon Slipper’ series, Jessica is living her dream; and for her efforts she has been rewarded with accolades like the Whitney Award, this along with receiving nominations for the South Carolina Young Adult Book award.

Jessica Day George, who is a latter-day saint and has contributed to the ‘Writing Excuses’ writing podcast, loves to knit. She has done everything from dog sweaters to socks, and even hats.

The author, who loves to travel and play the piano, not to mention watching Television also studied German, Norwegian and Old Norse. That last one appealed to her because the idea of reading Viking legends and sagas in the original language sounded like an amusing prospect.

Jessica has a husband, a son and a dog. Her favorite places on the planet are Norway and Germany.

+Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

The Lass, as she is known, has been trusted with an important destiny. She could always talk to animals but it was never clear whether this was a blessing or a curse until a polar bear sought her out.

The bear had a promise for her. If she only came with him to his castle, her family would come into great wealth and fortune. The Lass wasted no time in following the bear to his home, a castle made of ice and manned by silent servants.

The adventure that the Lass encounters reveals to her that the bear was a prince who the troll queen cursed. The prince, now a polar bear, doesn’t want to marry the troll princess. However, that is exactly what will happen unless the Lass can free him.

Some people have accused Jessica Day George of plagiarizing another author who wrote a story very similar to this book. However, that isn’t the case. Rather, like those other authors, Jessica based this book on the same Norwegian Fairy Tale.

There are various ways of adapting Fairy Tales. Rather than putting a spin on the beloved classic, Jessica chose to basically retell the original story as it was, only adding some depth and padding to it.

Some fans of the original fairy tale tend to appreciate this approach because the book stays true to the spirit of the original. Others see no point in reading a book that stays so close to the original fairy tale.

Jessica’s book has the advantage of bearing a likable heroine and being so well-written, this along with giving readers access to unique Norwegian sensibilities.

+Dragon Slippers

Creel isn’t worried when she learns of her aunt’s plans to sacrifice her to a local dragon. The idea of a brave knight dragging the family out of poverty after saving Creel, killing the dragon and then marrying her makes little sense, especially since Creel knows that a dragon hasn’t been seen in hundreds of years.

Of course, that confidence quickly evaporates when a dragon actually shows. But Creel doesn’t need a heroic knight to save her. Not only does she successfully bargain with the dragon for her life but the beast grants her a treasure, a pair of blue slippers.

Despite their simple appearance, Creel is shocked when she eventually learns that the slippers have the capability to save the kingdom from an oncoming war. But they also have the potential to destroy everything.

Dragon Slippers is Jessica Day George’s first published novel. It is also the first novel in the ‘Dragon Slippers’ series. The book follows a poor girl who is sent to live with her aunt after losing her parents.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessica Day George

Leave a Reply