Book Notification

Jessica Fellowes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mitford Murders Books

The Mitford Murders (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bright Young Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mitford Scandal (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mitford Trial (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mitford Vanishing (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mitford Secret (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Best Friend (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The World of Downton Abbey Books

The World of Downton Abbey (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chronicles of Downton Abbey: A New Era (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Year in the Life of Downton Abbey (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wit and Wisdom of Downton Abbey (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Downton Abbey: A Celebration: The Official Companion to All Six Seasons (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Jessica Fellowes is an English history mystery author. She has worked as an assistant editor for the marketing business, a coordinating editor for the mail on Sunday and also as the deputy editor, country magazine. Additionally, she has contributed to the London Paper as a columnist and currently writes for the Daily Telegraph, Psychologies and, The lady and The Telegraph Weekend. She resides in London together with her family.

She has authored one series, a couple of novels and also has contributed to numerous magazines and journals as a freelance journalist. Jessica has won the New York Times bestselling Author Award and also The Globe and Mail Bestselling Author award.

The Milford Murders

The first book in the Mitford murders series is The Mitford Murders. Louisa cannon together with her mother had a hard life after the passing on of her father and even tighter with the presence of her uncle. They worked for others with her being a seamstress while her mother worked as a washerwoman. The uncle was overly harsh, but her mother could not question him and neither could Louisa. All that was left for

Louisa was to escape and find another better life away from all those hard times.

Events played well for Louisa, and she got the opportunity to work as a governess of some sort to the Mitford family’s six children where she worked alongside Nanny Blor. While nurse Florence Nightingale shore, who had resigned her commission at Ypres, she was murdered in broad daylight on the train she was traveling on from London. The police with the exception of the aspiring Sullivan of the south coast railway police could find nothing that would help in solving this murder. Sullivan was attracted to Louisa as he had assisted her on her journey to Asthall Manor. Nancy, the eldest daughter in the Mitford family together with Louisa, decided to unravel the murder as their suspicions suggested that the murder had a lot that was hidden.

Sullivan and Nancy were fearless and willing to go to any extent to solve this mystery while Louisa feared the outcome of this mission that they had taken. Sullivan decides to embark on this murder even with the absence of approval from his superiors as he is determined to bring the murderer to justice. Nancy jumps into the investigative role as Florence was to visit Rosa who was a twin sister to their nanny. Sullivan and Louisa are both wounded from their past from instances of bullying, insecurity and as a result of these damaged pasts are in able to work together incredibly.

The Mitford Murders is a genuinely captivating story based on a true-life story though Jessica employs fictional characters and events. She describes a time after the world war and life is a bit hard with poverty being evident. This is a captivating read with characters that have been shaped to bring out the picture that she intends her readers to get. The connection and relation of facts are lovely with each forming a web-like picture to develop the entire story. The author paints the character of each meticulously and then creates links between them that form the whole story.

Bright Young Dead

The second book in the Mitford murders series is the Bright Young Dead. Pamela Mitford is celebrating her 18th birthday which culminates with a treasure hunt which was organized by Adrian Curtis. Curtis is an arrogant young man who uses sarcasm as a destructive weapon. While everyone else saw this side of Curtis, his sister greatly admired his actions. A first glance at him would get anyone attracted to him, but on knowing the other side of him, they would all dislike him.

Louisa is living life with her eyes fixed on the brighter future away from the painful past that has seen her bitter and oppressed for a long time. The upper class of the Mitford’s are living comfortably with lost to spare and have fun while people like Louisa and dulce serve them to make ends meet.

After the adults had retired to bed in the early mornings, Louisa lets in Dulcie into the house, and that was when tragedy struck fixing Dulcie as the murderer. Curtis is killed near the Mitford’s home and the police place the burden on charlotte’s maid, Dulcie of which Louisa believes was a false accusation. The treasure hunt was supposed to be a point of fun as they celebrated the birthday party, but the murder of Curtis turns it into a tragic event, and the person that gets blamed is Dulcie. The cops, on the other hand, are after a notorious criminal gang headed by Mrs. Alice moon. The syndicate has been accused of several criminal activities, and Sullivan and his counterpart constable Mary Moon are after the criminals to further their careers.

Louisa’s past is not clean, but she is trying to clear her life and live upright. As Louisa tries to clear her friend’s name, the connection between her and the Sullivan efforts to bring the criminals to justice emerge putting their lives in danger. This is a journey that risks the lives of the detectives and that of Louisa in their quest to deliver justice. Together with the character, the reader revisits the history of these murders that happened back in history getting a better glimpse into both the dark and bright side of the characters.

Jessica explores the world of women who want to grow rich and live life to their fullest. She also shows the hardness of life at that time in history though she does in a way that is entertaining and in a simple to read manner. The story is excellent capturing aspects such as the position of women, social classes and social norms that characterized the society at that time.

The gripping history mystery is expertly written bringing to life the events that happened back then though it is fictional. The fabulously written piece has a strong dash of murder and crime to give the readers an exceptional read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessica Fellowes

Leave a Reply