Book Notification

Jessica Park Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Flat-Out Love Books

Flat-Out Love (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flat-Out Matt (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flat-Out Celeste (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Left Drowning Books

Left Drowning (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Restless Waters (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Death Trippers Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Relatively Famous (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
180 Seconds (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Color of Us (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What the Kid Says (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
What the Kid Says 2 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jessica Park is an American author of romance and young adult novels best known for her Relatively Famous and Flat-Out out Love series. She was born and raised in Boston and graduated from Macalester College. She now lives in New Hampshire with her family husband, son, two selfish cats, and their pooch named Fritzy.

Flat-Out Love

Flat-Out Love is the first novel in Flat-Out Love series by Jessica Park. We meet a young Ohio woman named Julie starting her college life in Boston. When she arrives, she realizes that the apartment she had rented was a total scam and so her last resort is to phone her mother’s old college friend, Erin to give her assistance and provide her with some temporary accommodation while she finds the solution. And that’s how Julie gets to meet the Watkins family, Roger and Erin, the self-involved and academic parents, Fin their ever happy older brother on tour around the world, Matt, physics and math’s nerd and Celeste, their youngest quirky sister in the family. The Watkins give Julie Finns room, and she connects with him via social media, and despite never meeting him, she begins to develop love feelings for this deeply caring guy, fun loving guy, and she cannot get him out of her head.

On the surface, the Watkins seems to be a normal family, but Julie soon discovers that all is not well with Watkins familial dynamics. What irritates her the most is the fact she cannot point the finger to the exact cause. Everything in the family rotates around Celeste, but there is something they are not telling Julie, and she is hell-bent on finding out the truth.

The characters in this novel are so vivid. As the reader, the author writes it in a way that transports you into the story and lets you experience everything the main character experiences. Jessica Park makes use of email, Facebook statuses, private messages, and normal dialogue to narrate the Watkins and Jessica’s story. This type of narration truly immerses you into the story and connect with each character because of it’s relatable. For example, you can learn so much about a person’s personality from a simple Facebook status. Most of the chapters in Flat-Out Love series debut novel start with Facebook statuses, and this lets you learn so much about them adorably and cutely.

It’s also evidently clear that the main character has issues of her own she has to deal with. Her dad shows no interest in her life and deserts her at every turn, even though she hopes that he’ll spend Christmas with her. On the other hand, she can’t wait to get away from her mother with her holiday décor even though her mother is a responsible and caring mother. Julie is the type who judges almost everyone based on their appearances and spends most of her time considering about her appearances. She is an intelligent and nerdy girl on the inside, but she doesn’t embrace that part of herself. Well, these traits are highly expected from an 18-year-old girl, and this makes her a relatable character. Throughout the novel, the show grows as a character.

Flat-Out Love is a book all about relationships, and not only romantic types but also deep family relationships. The story deals with the painful hurts that the Watkins family has experienced, and throughout the story, we witness the healing process as this broken family puts the broken pieces together to live normal lives. The writing is fluid, while the pacing is brilliantly done. There are no slow points in the novel and no scenes that make you feel like you missed large chunks of time. Jessica Park storytelling is quite addictive, and she reveals the big family secret in a twisty way in the end of the book that leaves you wanting to read the second in the series.

Flat-Out Celeste

Flat-Out Celeste is the story all about Celeste, Matt’s little sister. In the previous novel, the Watkins were on the verge of destruction after a devastating loss, and Julie played a key role in their healing process and over the years, the family has made positive significant steps. Now Celeste is a high school senior trying to survive without getting too much attention because she’s got a hard time fitting with others socially. But she only realizes that everything she’s trying to avoid will only cause more trouble in college and so she invents a plan which leads to some pretty hysterical results.

Celeste also needs to decide on a college. All the Ivies have dated her and has her own pick, but when Justin from Barton College sends her an email, her world changes and opens up. The two begin some charming and wacky email exchanges and soon finds herself addicted to the man. Justin’s outgoing and sweet emails beguile her, and when he finally comes back home, and the two meet, sparks fly. Celeste finds herself in love with Justin on every level. He is handsome, and their personalities match.

The sweetness of Celeste and Justin relationships is off the charts charming. You’ll love how Justin allows his woman Celeste to try and experience new things, whether it’s trying out new delicacies or experiencing her first kiss. This life transformation Justin brings out Celeste is utterly breathtaking and refreshing. What makes this story an enjoyable story worth reading is Celeste’s growth in character. While she was the same girl she was years back at the start of the book, Justin’s entry into her life changes everything for good. He was the yin to her yang, and the two truly balanced each other.

Flat Out Celeste, the second novel in Flat Out Love series, is evident that Jessica Park is a true storyteller. She brings life to Julie, Matt, Justin, and Celeste. These are not just fictional characters because the more you get to know them, the more they feel real. The emotional transformation of these characters feels real through each motion they evoke.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessica Park

Leave a Reply