Book Notification

Jessica Weir Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Rat Catcher's Orphan (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan in the Blue Satin Dress (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan's Scandal (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife's Dream (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Lost Nightingale (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mill Daughter's Courage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jessica Weir is a bestselling sagas fiction author who has made a name for herself writing some interesting historical fiction works. She is someone that had always loved to lose herself in the world of books.

Weir spent much of her childhood in Lancashire but when she got married, she moved to London where she now lives with her daughter and husband. Growing up in London, she loved the stories of Charles Dickens but as she grew older, she gravitated towards historical romance.

The Victorian era with its wars and hardship was particularly enticing for the aspiring author. She has a knack for finding all manner of aspects of history that mirror the contemporary one as her characters love, cry and laugh just as we do.

Jessica often writes books from her roots as she sets her human stories in Lancashire and London, showing how ordinary people triumph over adversity.

While she has become quite a popular author, Jessica Weir works a day job investigating public sector governance, human-environment relations, societal norms and justice. Her work intends to place humans in the proper place in their environments going beyond the ethical and cultural domains.

Her research practice has been informed by more than 20 years of collaboration with Australian Aboriginal people.
Her work intends to examine and transform societal and public sector understanding of topical issues such as academic knowledge, climate change, natural hazards, fresh water, practice and evidence based policy.

Jessica published “The Rat Catcher’s Orphan,” her debut novel in 2020 and has never looked back since. She now has more than four novels to her name and does not seem to be slowing down any time soon.

Jessica Weir’s novel “The Orphan’s Scandal” is about a girl and her grandmother who are left destitute following the death of the girl’s mother. At the opening of the novel, the girl is introduced as an orphan whose mother died in childbirth.

To earn a living, she went to live with her grandmother’s friend who provided room and board and taught her how to sew, read and write. But she would eventually take on more responsibility back home as her grandmother became older.

Things go bad when the family which gave her employment fell on hard times and they end up living in a tenement. She then has to find work in a textile factory but the money she earns is not enough to pay the rent, let alone fuel and food.

To survive, her grandmother has to manufacture and sell gin. Over time, she becomes ill and being so old, the illness takes a huge toll on her health. Desperate for company, the girl makes friends with a young man that accompanies her home several nights a week.

But this soon upsets her grandmother, who believes there is something off about the young man.

“The Mill Daughter’s Courage” by Jessica Weir is an exhilarating story of a woman named Daisy. Life has become unbearable for her after the death of her thirteen year old twin sister. But she is determined to fight for her family and will not give in. She is devastated but she knows she has to work so that the family can survive.

After the death of her sister, she doesn’t even have time to grieve as she has to immediately go back to working. Since Daisy earns so little, she is forced to take her mother to an asylum as she tries to fend for herself. When the landlord tells her that she could pay rent in another way, she knows the time to leave has come.

She struggles to see any light at the end of the tunnel even though she manages to snag a better job. Unfortunately, appearances can be deceiving and it is not long before tragedy visits her once again. But she was never a quitter and she continues fighting in the hope that she will be able to bounce back.
Will she survive to find her happily ever after in such a cruel world?

Jessica Weir’s novel “The Orphan in the Blue Satin Dress” introduces an orphan named Violet who lives in a workhouse. She had been abandoned there and everyone supposes that she does not have parents.

At the workhouse, she has made friends with a cheeky boy named Joe who makes things somewhat better when she is feeling down. The workhouse is demarcated according to age as under eight children can mingle freely, while those above have to go to either the girls or boys section.
At 15 years old, all the children have to stay with adults. Just before Joe, Violet and three other kids are to head out to their new areas as they turn eight, Joe uis belittled by the administrator in charge of the workhouse, to add to the stress of his mother’s mental issues.
When he tries to defend his mother he is caned in public but not one adult among the wardens will speak of the injustice. Violet who is still a child decides to step up and do what no adult dares to do.

She cannot let the director have his way with Joe and steps up to him and asks him to stop. Even though she gets nasty bruise on the face she manages to stop him from killing Joe by breaking the trancelike state he was in.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessica Weir

One Response to “Jessica Weir”

  1. Jan: 10 months ago

    I really enjoy reading Jessica’s books


Leave a Reply