Book Notification

Jessica Young Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fairylight Friends Books

A Magic Spark (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time to Shine (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Moon Party (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Finley Flowers Books

Original Recipe (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nature Calls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
New and Improved (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art-Rageous (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Super Spooktacular (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fin-Tastic Fashion (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pet-rified (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Room to Bloom (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Haggis and Tank Unleashed Books

All Paws on Deck (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Digging for Dinos (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howl at the Moon (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

My Blue Is Happy (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spy Guy: The Not-So-Secret Agent (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Play This Book (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pet This Book (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wish Is a Seed (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baby's Here! (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Jessica Young

The lively and creative Canadian children’s author Jessica Young is an interesting and humorous writer with a lot of imagination. Producing highly colorful and vivid children’s stories, she engages young readers, giving them a real love and passion for reading from an early age. This is something that she excels at, as her books are extremely entertaining and very easy to relate to for her audience. There’s a lot in each of her books that really stand out to, from their fun engaging narratives, to their bright and vibrant visuals.

Working with numerous different illustrators over the years, she’s produced a score of books that have definitely ensured her readers continue coming back for more. Establishing her own voice and style, she’s definitely got a gift for understanding exactly what it is that her audience are looking for. Featuring funny stories with a positive message, she’s always has something to say as well, making sure her books have multiple layers of depth. Often featuring fantastical fairies and imaginative journeys, she’s got a lot to offer, providing a sense of escapism, along with a passion for reading.

Featuring a diverse range of different characters throughout all of her books, Young writes about spies, pirates, and dinosaurs. Capturing an ethereal sense of magic and wonder, she transports her readers to far off lands, allowing them to really explore her rich and immersive worlds. This has seen her become a hugely successful household name for many, reaching a worldwide audience of readers from all over. With a lot more to come, she’s definitely a writer to watch in the following years to come, as she’s definitely not finishing any time soon.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up in Thunder Bay, Ontario, in Canada, Jessica Young would grow up with a strong creative streak, expressing herself through art from an early age. This would continue throughout the years, until she turned her focus primarily on writing and articulating herself and her voice through literature. Constantly drawing in inspiration from the world around her, she would continually be putting it back into her work.

Developing her approach to the written word, she would go on to find a style that was entirely unique to her. This would come to form the basis for much of her work in the years to follow, allowing her to create the brand and profile she’s known for today. Now living with her family in Nashville, Tennessee, she continues to write children’s fiction consistently and regularly.

Writing Career

Beginning her literary career with the children’s picture book titled ‘My Blue is Happy’ in 2013, this would be her first stand-alone. As a piece of fiction for younger readers, it would be a colorful, bright, and vivid story that really leapt out from the page. Later in 2015 she would begin her first series with the ‘Finley Flowers’ collection of novels, which number of eight books in total.

In 2016 she would start her much loved ‘Haggis and the Tank Unleashed’ series of books, along with the ‘Fairylight Friends’ books later in 2020. Producing a rich and creative backlog of work, she would also go on to win awards, which would be the case for many of her books. There’s a lot of novels published over the the course of Jessica Young’s career, as her audience worldwide grows every day.

Room to Bloom

This would be the eighth book in the ongoing ‘Finley Flowers’ series of children’s novels, following on from the last ‘Pet-Rified.’ Illustrated by Jessica Secheret, this would be a bright and lively picture book for young children, with bright and colorful visuals. First published in 2017 on the 15th of September, this would initially come out through the ‘Picture Window Books’ imprint.

Making for a great introduction to reading for children, it’s great for gaining their interest, and giving them a passion for literature. There’s a lot of humor and heart here, with bright vivid imagery every step of the way, bringing all of the characters to life. The story itself provides positive ideas for young readers too, as it offers them potential activities to get themselves involved in.

Finley Flowers is a young active girl who likes to pursue many creative activities, from arts and crafts, to nature and baking. Here she’s tasked with working on a service-learning project with her class at school and she has a great idea for everyone. What she wants to do is create a more attractive outdoors area where the class can all go and sit, with vegetables and a garden. When they plant the seeds though, they all wonder if they’ll ever grow and give them vegetation in the story ‘Room to Bloom.’

Full Moon Party

Originally published on the 19th of October in 2021, this would first come out through the ‘Scholastic’ publishing house this time. With it being the third book in the ‘Fairlight Friends’ series of books, its young readers may already be aware of the characters, although they don’t need to be as it’s simply another adventure. It would also be illustrated by Marie Vanderbemden, who would bring the whole thing to life, as she did with the previous books in the series.

The text itself is easy-to-read, making it another great introduction into reading for children, allowing them to build the fluency and reading skills. With its magical story too, it’s definitely a book that has a lot of positive elements to it yet again, as it features a strong friendship between the characters. Its format is short and succinct, not overburdening its young readers, allowing them to easily follow along with the story.

The fairylight friends are a small group of friends who do everything together, having many different action packed adventures. Heading off to a full moon party, three best friends Ruby, Pip, and Iris, are all going there together to have some fun. Taking place over the course of five different stories, they all dance, play games, win prizes, and ultimately create their own rides. This sees them helping each other and forming friendships and bonds that are magical and filled with fun and excitement in a ‘Full Moon Party.’

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessica Young

Leave a Reply