Book Notification

Jessie Black Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jessie Black Legal Thrillers Books

Burnout (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Informant (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Evidence (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Defense (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grave Testimony (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
False Justice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silenced Witness (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lethal Innocence (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conviction (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Witness Hunt (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Charge (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return of the Prosecutor (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Stand (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stand Down (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grave Testimony is a prequel to the series.Stand Down is a bonus epilogue to Last Stand.

Jessie Black series by Larry A. Winters
Author Larry A. Winters writes the “Jessie Black” series of legal thrillers. The series began publication in the year 2013, when “Burnout” was released.

Jessie Black is a brilliant Assistant District Attorney that applies the law to everybody.

“Burnout” is the first novel in the “Jessie Black” series and was released in the year 2013. One man’s breakdown might just set a killer free.

Jessie’s Black’s successful prosecution of a serial rapist and killer put her right on the path to stardom at the Philadelphia District Attorney’s Office. Jack Ackerman, a public defender, represented the opposition, and his public breakdown after the trial ended got him put in a mental institution. It also gave Frank Ramsey a second chance at freedom.

Ramsey petitions the court to have a new trial with a claim that Ackerman was most ineffective, Black has to step up and defend him. To keep this convicted murderer off the streets, she is going to need to prove Ackerman’s sanity, which is one fact that she is far from sure of. While preparing for the trial, some powerful forces work to get Ramsey back out on the streets.

Black just has one chance to keep Ramsey in jail, and it is going to be the most difficult fight of her entire career.

Larry does a great job of grabbing the reader right from the start, and keeps you hooked the whole way through. The plot has a lot of twists and turns that you don’t see coming and keep you on your toes. Larry’s writing style is incredibly vivid, which helps keep this long book interesting the entire time.

“Informant” is the second novel in the “Jessie Black” series and was released in the year 2014. Jessie Black has got an airtight case against a gang thug named Tyrone Nash who shot a guy behind a bar in West Philly. What should be an easy trial becomes complicated when Nash is somehow able to intimidate her eyewitness, and he recants his testimony the night before the trial starts.

Jessie’s only move to stop the killer from walking is to call on a witness she hoped to avoid. It is a smooth-talking jailhouse snitch, named Reggie Tuck, who claims that Nash confessed to him during a short time they were sharing a cell. Worse, there are some other people that have an interest in the trial, people that are intent on silencing Reggie’s big mouth, for good.

Quickly, Reggie and Jessie find they are trapped in a courthouse taken hostage by some armed assailants. She has to figure out a way to keep both Reggie and herself alive just long enough to learn who they even are and how to stop them. Is Reggie Tuck worth protecting at the risk of her own?

Fans of the book were on the edge of their seat during this one, and simply couldn’t put it down. Readers loved these characters, particularly Jessie, who is just as tough as they come, yet has got her own vulnerable side underneath. The book is fast paced and keeps you wondering about what is going to happen next.

“Deadly Evidence” is the third novel in the “Jessie Black” series and was released in the year 2016. A school shooting and a city in mourning. A prosecutor out for justice.

A massacre at one elite private high school leaves a total of seventeen dead and a city reeling in horror, Jessica Black, Philadelphia assistant district attorney, is going to stop at nothing to find justice for the victims. However, doing so is going to require facing an adversary much more terrifying than the young shooter.

The Internet can be just as deadly as a gun.

Lurking in total secrecy is just an evil voice known only by the handle of True_Man. True_Man haunts the Internet, making friends with the frustrated and the lonely, turning some adolescent emotions towards total destruction. Jessie believes that True_Man is as guilty of murder as the teen that he manipulated, however proving it, and bringing this True_Man to justice, is going to take every bit of her formidable legal skills and much more.

Jessie Black is a confident, strong female prosecutor, that still has a conscious and empathy. Larry does a magnificent job of bringing the twists and suspense in this book that hold the readers’ interest and keep you turning the pages. He also has an easy to read style to his writing that improves in each novel, and there is enough details that allows you to picture what is happening at all times.

“Fatal Defense” is the fourth novel in the “Jessie Black” series and was released in the year 2017. After many years of prosecuting murderers, Jessica doesn’t believe there is anything left that can truly disturb her anymore. She is wrong.

One distraught teen girl shows up, demanding to talk, Jessie believes the girl looks a bit familiar, but is unable to place her. She claims her dad was murdered and the cops are letting the killer just get away with it. While Jessie does feel for the girl, however, investigating murders is the police department’s role. Jessie’s just an assistant DA.

Then she realizes why the girl, named Carrie, looks so familiar, and what murder she is talking about.

Jessie, who is reluctantly drawn into one politically explosive case that both the DA’s office and cops don’t want her touching, finds she is face-to-face with horrifying questions of morality and law. All taking place in this upside-down world where lines between killer and victim is a dangerously blurred one. Much like Carrie, however, she isn’t going to stop looking for the truth, even if she has to risk her values, her career, and even her life.

Once again, Larry hooks readers right from the start and never lets them go for an instant. Fans felt like they were in court with Jessie, hanging on each word, and even felt like they were out investigating with Leary. These are excellent and well-developed characters, along with a superb plot that is pulls the reader deep into the story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Jessie Black

Leave a Reply