Book Notification

Jessie Mihalik Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Books & Broadswords Books

Books & Broadswords, Volume One (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Consortium Rebellion Books

Polaris Rising (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aurora Blazing (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chaos Reigning (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rogue Queen Books

The Queen's Gambit (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen’s Advantage (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen's Triumph (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Starlight's Shadow Books

Hunt the Stars (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eclipse the Moon (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honor and Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Capture the Sun (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jessie Mihalik is a romantic science fiction and urban fantasy author that is best known for the “Consortium Rebellion” and “Rogue Queen” series of novels. She published her debut work “The Queen’s Gambit,” the first of the “Rogue Queen” series of novels in 2018. “Polaris Rising” novel her debut novel was published in 2019 and became a bestselling title and the breakthrough she needed as an author. While she now considers herself an author, she started as a software developer having graduated from college with a bachelor’s in Computer Science. Even though she loves geeky things, she is now a professional author and pens her novels full time. When she is not writing her novels, she can be found reading books she gets from her shelves, trying out the newest board games or playing coop video games.

Jessie Mihalik has always been a voracious reader and cannot remember a time when she was not reading. Some of her earliest memories are checking out the huge stacks of books at her local library. A lot of the classics she read during this time included the likes of “The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy,” “The Dragonriders of Pern,” “Dune,” and anything she could find by Tolkien. However, her biggest influence was Ilona Andrews and the novel “Magic Bites” is one of the first that she read that made her want to become an author. She would later become friends with Gordon and Ilona who make up Ilona Andrews, even though she loved their works long before that. Her debut work “The Queen’s Gambit” first ran as a serial on her blog as she wanted to give her audience something while they waited for “Polaris Rising” to get published. She had already announced a novel in the works and since it takes up to two years for work to get published, she wanted something to keep them hooked. The novels of the “Rogue Queen” series are romantic science fiction works set in a universe where the land is devastated leaving people starving. The queen tries to save her people but things spiral out of control.

Jessie’s first career was as a software engineer and still wonders how she became an author given how different creatives tend to be from the logical engineer type. While it is a common belief that engineering is a left-brain type profession, she has asserted that some creativity is also required to work around limitations and find new solutions in engineering. She has always loved to read and been a creative person from her days writing fanfiction and hence the shift to writing fiction novels was a natural jump. Her first manuscript was an urban fantasy story and even though she binned it, it taught her a lot about relationship building, plot, and structure. It also got the attention of an agent who would demand the first three chapters of “Polaris Rising” immediately she heard that she had a new manuscript in the works. Since she loves all kinds of romance fiction from science fiction to paranormal and thriller, she thought it would be a good idea to include aspects of romance in her debut. However, while she had decided that only part of it would be romance once she started writing it became an all romance fiction work. Her novel is grounded in cool science fiction technology that is grounded in the growing relationships between people that desperately love each other but are still in denial about their attraction.

“Polaris Rising” the first novel of the “Consortium Rebellion” series of novels by Jessie Mihalik is the story of a notorious outlaw soldier and a space princess on the run that become unexpected allies. The novel is set in the distant future, where the world is ruled by the heads of three high houses known as the High Councilors who have delegated the authority to the Royal Consortium. Ada von Hasenberg is the fifth of six siblings and hence she is low on the totem pole whose only value to the High House is as a bride meant to cement political alliances. Her father has arranged for her to get married to a man she neither loves nor wants from the House Rockhurst. She decides that she has to take control of her destiny and flees before the betrothal disappearing in the many stars of the galaxy. She had been successful in eluding the people sent to find her for two years but her luck seems to be running out. She is found and thrown into prison alongside the man nicknamed the Devil of Fornax – one Marcus Loch. The Consortium wants him dead as he is believed to have killed his entire battalion when the Fornax Rebellion was fomenting. On their transport back to Earth, they are attacked by a battle cruiser sent by House Rockhurst and Ada knows that her only hope is to ally with the dangerous fugitive.

Jessie Mihalik’s “Aurora’s Blazing” is the story of Bianca von Hasenberg who was forced to marry a man she did not love to further the interest of the house von Hasenburg. She now finds herself in a terrible marriage and when her husband unexpectedly dies, she is overjoyed and vows that she will never marry again. She intends to use the connections she has made to get other young women out of desperate situations. After an attack on her oldest brother, the man who was the heir apparent goes missing without a trace, and in spite, orders to stay at home Bianca vows to find him. When she does not return her father instructs the director of the family’s security Ian Bishop to bring her back home. Bianca takes Ian on a merry chase all over the galaxy but when he finally catches up to her, she convinces him to work with her to find her lost brother. She is determined to save her brother, even if that means she has to live on a small vessel with a man that once broke her heart. Their investigations point to the rival territory but before they can embark on the journey, Bianca needs to decide if it is worth it sharing a vital piece of information with Ian Bishop.

Jessi Mihalik’s “Chaos Reigning” is the story of Catarina von Hasenberg, the youngest daughter of the high house. She is used to everyone underestimating her though she has a stubborn determination, clever mind, and bubbly personality in her favor. The good thing is that her enemies do not know of her true strengths, which mean she is the best candidate to spy on the rival house when the summer retreat is announced. While she is perfectly capable her overprotective sister insists that she has to take along with her a gorgeous and quiet bodyguard named Alexander Sterling that will be posing as her lover. She tries to ditch the man but fails and has to grudgingly agree to take him along thinking that she will manipulate him once they arrive. But she soon finds the man more desirable and difficult than she anticipated. When she is nearly assassinated, they are forced to team up to unravel the mystery. With her family trapped off-planet, she needs to persuade her newfound friend and ally to return to Earth and finish the deadly battle. But it will not be so easy convincing Alexander on why they should be the ones infiltrating hostile territory.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jessie Mihalik

Leave a Reply