Book Notification

JK Brandon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Howl Books

A Howl in the Night (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Howl at Midnight (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twilight Howl (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Howl for Help (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howling through Darkness (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Most Howl (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Less Howl, More Wag (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shoot First, Howl Later (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howl of the Wild (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howl No Evil (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Dogs Don't Howl (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Steel Violin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kennedy Rifle (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kind Word and a Gun (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tactical Reload (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

JK Brandon is an American author that writes mysteries and thrillers. Before he wrote novels, JK Brandon pursued a highly diverse career that saw him work in homebuilding, retailing, architecture, manufacturing, and financial trading to mention but a few.

It wasn’t until he sat down to write novels that the author discovered his true passion. A resident of Scottsdale, Brandon loves sports bikes and precision rifle shooting. The author has a tolerant wife but it is for his two black Labradors that he is known for.

While JK Brandon garnered a few new fans for his Michael Cole series, it is for the Howl books that the author cemented his place in the literary genre. The books are mystery suspense thrillers told from the perspective of dogs.

Brandon based the protagonists of the series on his own dogs. And for a while, he marketed Zoe and Bungie as the real writers of the books. Zoe was always the alpha dog and the writer while Bungie did the editing, with Brandon himself only coming into play as the human pet that they convinced to publish their first story.

The concept appealed to dog lovers everywhere and elevated the Howl series above some of its mystery counterparts.

+The Kennedy Rifle

Michael Cole’s father isn’t famous. But the man always claimed that he should be. Maybe he couldn’t be elevated to the status of JFK but the fact that he was shot from the Grassy Knoll in Dealey Plaza that same day should have meant something.

But all Cole’s father had where words. Fortunately for him, Cole was inclined to give him a listening ear. And as a certified firearms expert, he was in a position to explore the man’s outlandish claims.

And that is what he did. He searched for the truth. He even wrote a book about a second Dallas Assassin. But then the years became decades, Cole’s father died and everyone that cared moved on.

So Cole abandoned the investigation unaware that the claims in his book had garnered the wrong kind of attention.

When a woman with an unbelievable story walks into Michael Cole’s life, he is uncertain as to how he should react. According to Kate Marlowe, her uncle had a hand in the assassination of JFK.

To be specific, he was the assassin’s driver. And once the deed was done, he went into hiding, taking the sniper rifle that killed JFK with him. Kate tells Cole that on his deathbed, her uncle told her the truth about the events of Grassy Knoll.

He also confessed to the location of the rifle. He wanted her to get the rifle and finally unravel the conspiracy of JFK’s murder. Now Kate wants Cole’s help in acquiring the rifle and bringing to light all that has been hidden.

Unfortunately for Cole, who is definitely interested, word of the Kennedy rifle has hit the streets and now everyone wants it. From arms dealers to billionaire collectors, a hunt ensues for an artifact that will either shed light on one of America’s darkest days or see it hidden forever.

And if Kate and Cole are not careful, they might not survive the ordeal.

The Kennedy Rifle is the first book in the Michael Cole series. The book builds upon the popular conspiracy theory that the rifle discovered with Oswald—the man who supposedly shot JFK—had nothing to do with JFK’s assassination.

The so-called Grassy Knoll rifle is said to be the real gun that carried out the deed and people believe that its discovery could shed light on the true party behind JFK’s murder.

In ‘The Kennedy Rifle’, Michael Cole’s father claims to have been shot by a stray bullet from the Grassy Knoll rifle. A woman called Kate comes to him claiming that she can lead him to the rife which, in turn, could reveal the real grassy knoll shooter.

Unfortunately for the pair, there’s an auction brewing. Everyone wants the Kennedy Rifle. One particular bidder is ready to pay six million dollars to whoever delivers the rifle to him.

So the hunt is on. Kate and Cole must outwit numerous foes to acquire the Kennedy Rifle.

Emphasis is placed on Cole’s ballistic and firearms expertise. JK Brandon does not set out to resolve any of the major questions raised by JFK conspiracy theorists.

+A Howl in the Night

Taser went through a rough couple of years with his previous owner. He ended up in a county dog pound and he has worked hard to put those difficult years behind him. Taser has a good home now.

His owner Robert lives in an upscale neighborhood in Scottsdale, Arizona. Robert loves Taser and takes good care of him. Taser thought he would spend the rest of years in peace alongside his buddy Meatloaf.

But then a woman dies and everything begins to go wrong. A sense of insecurity has infiltrated the community and now Taser’s owner is thinking of moving out. Taser cannot have that.

The black Labrador wants to trust in Robert. However, the last time his owner decided to change homes, Taser ended up in the county dog pound.

The canine refuses to see everything he has worked so hard to attain disappear. So he joins forces with meatloaf and the rest of the dogs in the neighborhood. They must solve the Scottsdale murder before Robert takes any drastic measures.

The task is no walk in the park. Taser’s understanding of the human language is pretty limited and so is his knowledge of the world. He must also contend with the coyote population in the desert, not to mention the challenges to his position as an alpha dog which keep emerging.

‘A Howl in the Night’, the first book in the Howl series, is written with mature readers in mind, specifically audiences 13-years-old and above. For a book about dogs and written from the perspective of dogs, JK Brandon isn’t afraid to tackle issues of violence and sex.

Taser takes center stage as a black Labrador trying to protect his home. When a woman gets murdered, Taser must solve the crime before his master decides to upend their comfortable living situation.

Because the book is written from the POV of a dog, the author uses very simplistic and straightforward language.

Book Series In Order » Authors » JK Brandon

One Response to “JK Brandon”

  1. Karyn: 1 year ago

    You haven’t had a Teaser & Meatloaf book out since 2017. What gives? I’ve gotten several adults into this series, because DOGS, and nada? Did you get a real job? Did you run out of ideas? Did something happen to you? Inquiring minds want to know. Please let me know. I miss the boys, and I work in animal rescue, so I get my fair share of goobers. I just miss the fun, and my friends do, too.


Leave a Reply