Nick Petrie Series

Joanna Brady Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Joanna Brady Books

Desert Heat (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tombstone Courage (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shoot Don't Shoot (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead to Rights (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Skeleton Canyon (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rattlesnake Crossing (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Outlaw Mountain (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Devil's Claw (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Paradise Lost (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Partner in Crime (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Exit Wounds (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Wrong (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Damage Control (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fire and Ice (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Judgment Call (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Old Blue Line (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Remains of Innocence (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Random Acts (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Downfall (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Field of Bones (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Missing and Endangered (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Joanna Brady is the lead character of the “Joanna Brady” series which is written by the author J.A. Jance. The series is a mystery series which has been going on for more than 22 years now. The series is liked a lot by the audience and has been praised over the years for the well written books of mystery by J.A Jance. The series started from 1993 and is still going on with 21 books released till date and the 22nd is about to release in September 2016. The fans are waiting eagerly for the new book to release.

Joanna Brady is the character of a young woman who used to live in country side Bisbee Arizona. The character was living a very happy life with her husband there and with their 9 years old daughter Jenny. Her husband was in the police department and was an honest man who was very committed to his job and people knew him because of his honesty and commitment to the work. They were very happy together and Joanna Brady was living a perfect life. This peace in their lives was destroyed and the whole series is based on the after effects of that. All of the books portray different situations after the incident which Joanna and her family had to face. The series focuses on the life of Joanna Brady in all of the books and there is a mystery which is being created in every new book which has released.

Joanna and her family’s life changed when her husband who was a fine policeman and was praised for his honesty was killed by a bullet. This happened because there were some elements in the police department who were jealous of him and because “Andy Brady” (Joanna’s Husband) was standing in elections for becoming a sheriff and he had very strong chances of winning as well because of the number of people who liked him on his job and wanted to see him getting promoted to a higher post. Once Andy was killed the way of his enemies was clear and they can take control by letting someone else win the sheriff position in the town. The Police department investigated the death of Andy Brady but since there were some elements against him the police department it was told that Andy was not killed but instead it was a suicide. This was not it but there were also some allegations which were pulled towards Andy Brady, which was that the Andy was a Drug trafficker and was involved in various illegal activities in the town which is the circumstances went out of his hand and he had to attempt suicide.
The same story was told by the police to Joanna Brady. She believed it for a while but she lived with Andy for so long and they loved each other and Joanna knew that there was nothing as what the police is saying about her husband. When she further looked into the matter, she realized that it was not a suicide but instead a murder because she understood the fine difference between the murder and suicide of her husband. She knew him very well and she was positive that her husband could not have attempted suicide. So, despite of the police blaming Andy of killing himself and closing the case by saying that there was nothing more to search about and Andy was a threat to the society, Joanna decided that she would find out who killed her husband and bring the in front of the society. Joanna starts investigating into the matter and the things she discovered during the investigation were shocking for her and during her investigation she faced different threats for herself and her daughter and she dodged them and became successful in proving that her husband did not attempt suicide and that it was a murder and she brought the culprits in front of the world.

Once Joanna was successful in bringing her husband’s killers to their final destination she decided to avenge her husband more by doing the same what her husband used to do and become a sheriff and be as honest and as committed to the job as her husband. She decides to fight in the elections her husband was about to stand in and become what her husband was about to become. She stood in the elections and because she had so many people started to like since she brought her husband’s killers in from of the world, she won the elections. She was able to get the votes of all the people who liked and admired her became the sheriff if the town she used to live in and her husband used to be an honest police officer in. But with her winning the elections she was exposed to a lot of dangers which were already present there for her family because her husband was killed in the same city and their enemies were still living there. Although Joanna was able to get to the culprits of her husband’s killing, there were still their supporters living in the same city and it was time that Joanna not only became strong to protect herself and her daughter from this evil but to pay off what the people have given her by supporting her becoming the sheriff and making her husband’s dream come true.

This is what the whole series is about and the way Joanna proves herself in front of the people and saves her daughter as well from all the people who want to harm them is very interesting to read about. Joanna is solving different mysteries in each book and it is a different situation in every book of the series but the major storyline of the series is same throughout and the readers have liked the series very much from its very start and are hoping to have some more of the books in the series with the latest one being released in September 2016. Let’s hope the next one proves to be up to the expectations of the fans and continues the legacy of the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Joanna Brady

One Response to “Joanna Brady”

  1. Twyla Smith: 1 month ago

    I really like the Joanna Brady series. When I’m reading, I feel as if I’m right there among the others. It is hard to put the book down.


Leave a Reply