Book Notification

Joanna Hickson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Catherine de Valois Books

The Agincourt Bride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tudor Bride (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Queens of the Tower Books

The Lady of the Ravens (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen’s Lady (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Red Rose, White Rose (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
First of the Tudors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tudor Crown (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joanna Hickson is a popular author from The United Kingdom, who is famous for writing historical fiction books. She was born in Hertfordshire and then went on to spend her childhood in England and Australia, where she obtained her education. As a school going girl, Hickson developed a great love for history after watching the history plays of Shakespeare. But, as she had earned her degree in English and Politics, it was better for her to have a career in the field of journalism. Subsequently, author Hickson worked for BBC for a period of 25 years. She was assigned to work as an arts and news journalist. Hickson has also worked as a presenter on television and radio in Scotland and London. As of today, author Hickson writes and resides in an ancient farmhouse in the East Lothian. Author Hickson continued with her passion in medieval history. She grew fond of studying about the life and style of Catherine de Valois, the daughter of the 15th century French King named Charles VI. It has been an interest of author Hickson for all these years. With the help of her research works over the years, author Hickson has created a remarkable character in Catherine. Her fascinating story of life is told through the point of view of Mette, who was the daughter of a baker from Paris and who later becomes the wet nurse as well as a close companion of Catherine.

Author Hickson has also given a description of the troubled life of Catherine when she was a young girl at the court in France. The other elements from the life of Catherine as described by Hickson include her wedding to Agincourt battle’s victor, and the birth and rise of the clandestine Tudor dynasty. The journalist career of author Hickson is over as she focuses mainly on writing novels on a full time basis. She has succeeded in obtaining a 3 history book contract with the Harper Collins. The house in which author Hickson lives is 200 years old. Hickson’s family is a large joint family. In order to interact with her fans and readers, author Hickson contacts them on social platforms like Facebook and Twitter. However, she is available in her spare times and at all other times, she keeps herself with the development of her characters and plots. Hickson gives out information to her fans about the latest happenings in her writing career and the publishing dates of her upcoming books.

The Catherine de Valois series written by Joanna Hickson is comprised of only 2 books in total, which were released between the years 2013 and 2014. The first book of this series is entitled ‘The Agincourt Bride’. The Harper Collins publication released it in the year 2013. The story of this book tells an epic tale about the queen who laid the foundation of the Tudor dynasty. It is told from the eyes of the loyal nursemaid of the queen. Author Hickson believes that this novel is perfect for the readers who like to read the books written by Philipa Gregory. At the start of the book, it is depicted that Mette’s first child is still born tragically. After this, the young woman is passed into the service of the mad king called Charles VI to work as a wet nurse. The young charge of Mette is Charles VI’s daughter, princess Catherine. When Mette meets her for the first time, she finds that Catherine is caught in the middle of the chaos and turbulence of life at court. Seeking each other’s support in the difficult times, the two become very close and forge an unbreakable bond of friendship and trust. However, the bond transcends the lowly position of Mette. After a while, as Catherine nears her womanhood phase, her unique status decides her fate in the form of a pawn between 2 powerful dynasties. Catherine’s brother named The Dauphin, and the sinister and dark Burgandy’s Duke seem to have decided to make use of Catherine for furthering France’s cause. It is not within the power of Catherine to stop what is about to happen to her. But, as a result of the defeat of the French forces at the Agincourt Battle, things take a drastic turn and the value of Catherine rises even higher all of a sudden. Now, it is to be seen what Mette does to protect her friend and companion from getting ruined by the forces in the court. Mette knows that they only wish to harm Catherine and use her for their enjoyment and benefit. So, she prepares herself to risk everything and save Catherine. But, she fears that her loyalty and closeness to Catherine might put her own life in a great danger.

The next exciting novel of this series is called ‘The Tudor Wife’. This book was released in 2015 by the HarperCollins publication. Author Hickson has mentioned the primary characters in this novel as Owen Tudor and Catherine Valois. Once again, the book follows that life story of Catherine, who goes on to become the queen of England. At the beginning of the book, it is depicted that Catherine dazzles the huge crowd in England as the newly wed French Queen of King Henry V. However, she remains highly unaware of the undercurrents of the court that builds against her. Catherine’s loyal companion named Guillamette senses that conspiracies are being carried out against the queen. She warns Catherine about unfavorable outcomes if she does not remain alert, but she does not pay any heed to the warnings saying that she has produced an heir and so she has become invincible. But, tragedy strikes as King Henry gets falls ill with high fever in France and dies eventually. Catherine quickly visits her deceased king at his deathbed. The dowager and weak queen follow the funeral through France, while Owen Tudor, who is the King’s Harper, does not pay any comfort to her. In England, the council decides to remove the young king from Catherine’s care, which forces her to retire to the dower estates. Catherine takes Owen Tudor as her Steward. While staying in the Hadham manor, Owen and Catherine grow close to each other and become lovers. But, they fear that they cannot keep their love as a secret for very long. Later, another attempt is made by the Gloucester Duke to use Catherine’s high status for grabbing the opportunity of gaining power. This puts the life of Catherine and all her near and dear ones in a terrible danger once again. Catherine knows she must find a way out of this situation and Tudor is ready to assist in whatever ways possible within his capacity. He is even ready to risk his life for the safety of this beautiful lover.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Joanna Hickson

Leave a Reply