Book Notification

Jocelyn Green Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Heroines Behind the Lines: Civil War Books

Wedded to War (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Widow of Gettysburg (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yankee in Atlanta (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spy of Richmond (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of On Central Park Books

The Metropolitan Affair (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Windy City Saga Books

Veiled in Smoke (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of the White City (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drawn by the Current (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Mark of the King (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Refuge Assured (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between Two Shores (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A River Between Us (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Faith Deployed (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faith Deployed...Again (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 5 Love Languages Military Edition (With: Gary Chapman) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Free to Lean (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Message in a Bottle Romance Collection(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jocelyn Green
Jocelyn Green, an awarded winning author, inspires courage and faith in her readers through both nonfiction and fiction. A former military wife herself, she offers up hope and encouragement to military wives worldwide through her Faith Deployed ministry. Her books, which are inspired by real heroines on America’s home front, are marked by their gritty inspiration and their historical integrity.

She graduated from Taylor University, located in Upland, Indiana, with her BA in English, concentration in writing.

Jocelyn’s an active member of the Advanced Writers and Speakers Association, American Christian Fiction Writers, Christian Authors Network, and the Military Writers Society of America.

She loves Broadway musicals, Mexican food, Toblerone chocolate bars, reading on her patio, and the color red.

In order to get inspired to write, she looks for ideas everywhere. Online articles, books, roadside markers, documentaries on Netflix, museums, and historical societies. Even other people and their vacation pictures.

The seed for “The Mark of the King” was planted when her sister-in-law and brother, who lived in France at the time, told her all about the King’s Daughters, who were this group of girls sent from France to be wives of Canadian fur traders during the 1600s. Jocelyn quickly became intrigued, and started doing her own research. One click led to the next, and she eventually learned about the French that were forced to immigrate to Louisiana. It was history that was both new and fascinating to her.

There are all these books set in the British colonies, however the French colony in Louisiana seems to be a much lesser known one. The whole project offered her a chance to unlock a section of American history that many of us know so little about, which appeals to her a great deal.

If she’s really stuck, without any words coming at all, she will take a break from her computer and begin writing with pen and paper. Some of her absolute best and most creative writing began this way.

However what she’ll get more than just writer’s block is writer’s remorse, which is where she’ll write something, hate it, and delete the whole thing. She goes through this process again and again, particularly in the early chapters. It won’t be uncommon for her to attempt seven different ways of writing the first chapter.

To make it less painful to delete words that she has slaved over, she has this file called “chopped copy” for each book that she writes. So when she deletes a section, it won’t be gone for good. Because she will cut it out of the working document, and then paste into her chopped copy file. This way, should she ever decide that she wanted to use something from the “trash bin” she can retrieve it rather easily. It’s a little trick that makes her that much more willing to get rid of words that just aren’t working.

“Wedded to War” is the first novel in the “Heroines Behind the Lines: Civil War” series and was released in the year 2012. When the war erupted, she gave up her own life of privilege for a life of significance.

Tending the sick and wounded of the army meant leading a life that her mom doesn’t understand and giving up an approved and handsome suitor. But Charlotte selects a life of service over privilege, exactly like her childhood friend did when he became a military doctor. She soon learns that she is battling more than the rebellion by becoming a nurse.

Are the two men that love her continue to stand by and watch while she fights her own battles herself? Or is their desire for her going to wage war on her desires to serve God?

This may be a work of fiction, but it’s inspired by the real life story of Georgeanna Woolsey, a Civil War nurse. Her journals and letters, written more than 150 years prior, offer up a thorough look at what exactly pioneering nurses had to endure.

“The Mark of the King” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. Julianne Chevalier, a midwife, was branded and imprisoned, which marked her as a criminal beyond any redemption. Hoping she could reunite with her brother, who is a soldier, she trades her own life sentence away for exile on a fledgling French colony known as Louisiana. The cost of her transport, though, is a forced marriage to one of her fellow convicts.

New Orleans isn’t anything like she was expecting. The settlement is steeped in mosquitoes and mud, and there is no news about Benjamin, her brother. When tragedy strikes, she goes to an officer in the military, named Marc-Paul Girard, to help her. However does he know more about her brother than he’ll admit to her?

With Julianne’s dreams ruined, she has to find her way in this dangerous land where only grace, not to mention love, can possibly overcome the stigma that the king’s mark has left upon her shoulder.

“Shadows of the White City” is the second novel in “The Windy City” series and was released in the year 2021. The one thing that Sylvie Townsend wants most is what she feared she’d never be destined to have: a family all her own. However taking in Rose Dabrowski, a Polish immigrant, to raise and love quells these fears, up until Rose, age seventeen years old, goes missing at the World’s Fair, and Sylvie’s entire world unravels.

Sylvie, getting brushed off by the authorities, turns to Kristof Bartok, her boarder, to help her. He is Rose’s violin teacher and the concertmaster for the Columbian Exposition Orchestra, and his language skills are crucial to helping her navigate the immigrant communities where their search is leading.

From the fair’s glittering architecture to the dark houses of Chicago’s poorest neighborhoods, they have taken a search on that points to Rose’s long-lost family. Could Sylvie be willing to let this girl go? And while Sylvie and Kristof grow ever closer to each other, can she reconcile her craving for control with her own yearning to belong?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jocelyn Green

Leave a Reply