Book Notification

Jodi Meadows Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fallen Isles Books

Before She Ignites (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
As She Ascends (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
When She Reigns (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Lady Janies Books

with Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton
My Lady Jane (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Plain Jane (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Calamity Jane (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Contrary Mary (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Imaginary Mary (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Salty Mary (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Newsoul/Incarnate Books

Publication Order of Nightrender Duology Books

Publication Order of The Orphan Queen Books

The Orphan Queen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mirror King (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Orphan Queen Prequel Short Stories/Novellas

The Hidden Prince (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Glowing Knight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Hand (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Knife (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jodi Meadows, a self-proclaimed book addict, lives in Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, where is also works on her books. She had always wanted to become a professional writer though she had to abandon her astronaut ambitions in the process.

From a young age, the author was heavily invested in books and would spend hours in the local library, discussing whatever she was reading with the staff of librarians. As she says it, those discussions along with the efforts of the librarians to introduce her to even more books fueled her even further and lead to a lifetime of reading everything she could get her hands on. Though she did not realize it back then, that addiction to books would be the very thing that would change her entire life.

Shortly after becoming an adult, at the age of twenty, she moved away from home in order to marry her significant other. Her husband helped with everything while she stayed at home to write and the results of that should be obvious to everyone. Jodi Meadows and her husband share their home with a cat named Kippy, a number of ferrets, and a spinning wheel named Bob. When she is not busy writing or reading, the author enjoys knitting as well as spending time with her pets.

Works by the author

The author’s first published book is ‘Incarnate’ which is the first part of the synonymous trilogy. Incarnate is set in the fictional area of Range, a place where souls are reborn time and time again. The book focuses on Ana, the first new soul in thousands of years. When Ana was born, even her own mother thought of her as a “nosoul”, a bad omen which could only signal bad things to come. Because everyone was either afraid or troubled by Ana, her mother moved away from the city of Heart to keep her hidden from the world. After her eighteenth birthday, Ana leaves her home in order to search for the truth, learn more about reincarnation and find a reason for her existence. Along the way she also meets Sam, the only person who has ever believed her to be worthwhile. Together, they must uncover the truth before everything they have come to know is destroyed.

The second book of the series, ‘Asunder’, continues the story of Ana and Sam in their quest for truth. After many of Heart’s residents were tragically lost in the Templedark, many people held Ana directly responsible. As she continues to uncover more secrets about reincarnation, she must also understand the wider forces of the universe and learn about why she is so different. At the same time, she must learn how to love and how to accept her short life. After all, everyone around her is immortal and no one knows how to accept a “newsoul”, a person who will only live for a short period of time before disappearing from the world.

In the final part of the trilogy, ‘Infinite’, Ana must stop Janan from ascending as she has learnt everything she can about the true cost of reincarnation. Since their world has been thrown into chaos, many of the “oldsouls” feel threatened by Ana and everything she represents. Her quest brings her to the North, where she is confronted with new obstacles and new decisions that she has to make. This time, however, Ana has allies who she can trust, newsouls that she must protect, and a world she must save even though most people in it hate her.

After finishing the Incarnate trilogy, Jodi Meadows shifted her focus to ‘The Orphan Queen’, the first book of a duology. The book follows Wilhelmina, an orphaned princess who became a spy while staying at Skyvale in order to reclaim her kingdom and fix its woes. After training for ten years, she and her friend Melanie must infiltrate the Skyvale Palace to get more information on their enemies and strike where they can. Wrath, the toxic effect produced by the use of magic, is simultaneously spreading across the kingdom even though magic has been outlawed for a century. Though Wilhelmina has magi of her own, she must hide it from everyone, especially from the vigilante Black Knife who seems responsible for the disappearance of magic-users across the kingdom.

Meadows has also published several novellas. The first, ‘Phoenix Overture’, is a prequel to the Incarnate series and is written from the viewpoint of Sam. Readers get a closer view to the life of Sam while also learning more about Heart and the world of Range. The novella also introduces us to more of the world’s creatures while also detailing the backstory of reincarnation and its dire consequences.

The author has also released a collection of four prequel novellas set in the world of ‘The Orphan Queen’. The novellas revolve around Tobiah Pierce, who also happens to be one of Jodi Meadows’ favorite characters. The stories take us through the life of Tobiah, the crown prince who also holds an important secret. During the course of events, the prince breaks free from his shackles and turns from a sheltered, ignorant youth to a man filled with secrets who simply wants to uncover the truth about the world and save his kingdom from certain destruction. The novellas not only enrich the character of Tobiah Pierce, they also allow us to understand magic in the Orphan Queen kingdom, learn more about the city of Skyvale, and unwind even more clues about the history of the world and what the future holds for the citizens of the complex city.

The author’s tales showcase different place where things like magic and reborn souls are not just real but very much woven into the foundation of the world. Each character is carefully crafted, making decisions and performing actions that correspond to their own personality, like real people. Nothing seems black and white, much like our own world, as the characters find themselves in situations that have no clear answer. Proud, flawed, and adventurous, they move through their lives in search of the truth and aim to find their own place in the world, whether they enjoy it or not.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jodi Meadows

2 Responses to “Jodi Meadows”

  1. Nancy Goodrich: 2 years ago

    I am wondering was my lady Jane written by 3 authors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows? In my school, My Lady Jane is cataloged by Hand, not by the other authors listed on the cover.

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Yep it was written by all 3 of them


Leave a Reply