Nick Petrie Series

Joe Grey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Joe Grey Books

Cat on the Edge (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Under Fire (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Raise the Dead (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat in the Dark (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat To The Dogs (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Spitting Mad (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Laughing Last (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Seeing Double (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Fear No Evil (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Cross Their Graves (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Breaking Free (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Deck the Halls (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Pay the Devil (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Playing Cupid (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Striking Back (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat on the Money (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Coming Home (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Telling Tales (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Bearing Gifts (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Shout for Joy (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Shining Bright (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat Chase the Moon (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Shirley Murphy is an American author who is well-known for writing the Joe Grey book series. She grew up in southern California riding and showing her father’s horses. Later, she attended the San Francisco Art Institute. Murphy later worked as an interior designer as her husband, Pat, attended USC. After Pat finished his studies, she started to weld metal sculptures and exhibit paintings in the West Coast juried shows. The couple later moved to Panama for a 4-year tour due to Pat’s position with the US Courts. Shirley was forced to put away the paintings and weld torches and started writing.

Joe Grey Series

The first book in Joe Grey series, Cat on the Edge was published in April 1996. Cat on the Money was one of the books in the series which made it to a Cats Magazine. This magazine was then discontinued after the story came to an end. The major character in the series is Joe Grey who is a tomcat private investigator. Joe solves most crimes with the help of his colleague, Dulcie. The entire series is set in the fictional California coastal town of Molena Point.

Cat on the Edge

With nothing interesting going on, the week was very quiet for Joe Grey – a perfect week for any cat. However, this large and yet powerful tomcat discovers that he has the ability to understand the human language. To make things worse, Joe learns that he can also speak. This is a nightmare for a cat who prefers to lie down and sleep the day away carefree.

Joe Grey is strong enough to handle this unexplained phenomenon. Everything goes smoothly until the day he witnesses a murder. That’s not all! He gets spotted by the killer. Joe knew that his 9 lives are at risk unless he brings the killer to justice. He knew that his mouse hunting days are over.

Cat Under Fire

This is the second book in the series. This time, Joe Grey has adapted to his ability to not only understand but also communicate with humans. To spice things up, he has a companion, Dulcie. Dulcie undergoes a similar accident that enabled Joe to speak and read. However, there is only one flaw – this cute tabby female believes every word that comes from humans.

After a local artist is murdered and her studio is set on fire, Dulcie believes that the man in custody is innocent – just because he said so. She is determined to do anything to prove that this man is innocent. She digs up evidence and this determination makes Joe curious…and curiosity killed the cat.

Cat Raise the Dead

Clyde who is Joe Grey’s human companion decides to send Joe to an Animal Therapy program offered by a local nursing home. According to Joe, this is Clyde’s worst timing. The feline cat was in the middle of solving a series of burglaries which shook the residents of Molena Point.

Dulcie, Joe’s cute tabby cat-friend is the one who came up with the idea of sending Joe to the nursing home. She believes that something big is cooking up at the old folk’s home. Joe is the only one who can help her get to the bottom of the suspicious set of deaths…

Cat in the Dark

This time, a pair of thieves have decided to pay a visit to Molena Point, California. A yellow-eyed tomcat who despises the law has an alliance with a scruffy human who is even worse. The two are very silent and clever during heists – this is so far the worst kind of robbery.

Joe Grey and Dulcie decide to take a closer look into the case. A good friend to Joe and Dulcie turn up dead. The death of an innocent couple in the library garden takes place sooner than later. The worst thing about these murders is that they are linked to the pair of thieves. In learning so, the dynamic duo decides to do anything to unmask the killers and bring them to justice.

Cat to the Dogs

An earthquake decides to shake things up in Molena Point, California. This triggers a chain reaction which was the perfect ingredient for big trouble. However, Joe Grey is un-naturally calm probably because he has solved more murders than an average human detective. Clyde, Joe’s unpredictable owner thinks that cats should not interfere with work. This results in Joe and Dulcie being locked out of the house when Officer Max Harper pays a social visit.

One thing about Joe is that once he sets something in his mind, nothing is going to stop him. He is ready to face any obstacles as he brings the killer to justice.

Cat Spitting Mad

The fury of an enraged feline is worse than taking a trip to hell. Joe Grey and Dulcie are housemates – housemates who harbor a strong sense of justice. They are mad that Max Harper, chief police of local authorities, has blamed Joe’s harmless pranks for the double murders. The duo decides to restore Joe’s good name. However, finding the missing little girl who was the only witness to the crime will not be as easy as anticipated…

Cat Laughing Last

Elliot Traynor, a famous novelist, comes to Molena Point for a temporary stay. He and his family are secluded by local people. This doesn’t bother them as no one likes Vivi. Unfortunately, their arrival comes with peculiar events – burglary in Susan Brittian’s home who is in her 60’s. Susan is a very close friend to Joe Grey and Dulcie who are not willing to let this crime go unpunished.

Cat Seeing Double

Everyone is excited about the wedding of Max Harper and lovely Charlie Getz. Romance saturates the streets of Molena Point, California. Even the feline detective, Joe Grey, is cool during this period. However, the ceremonies are interrupted when someone tries to blow up the church. In addition, Ryan Flannery, one of bride’s good friend, lands into trouble when her husband is found dead. Everyone blames Ryan. Joe, Dulcie and Kit set to prove her innocence. This lands them into the biggest cat fights of their lives…

Book Series In Order » Characters » Joe Grey

Leave a Reply