Book Notification

Joe Hilley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mike Connolly Mystery Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

What The Red Moon Knows (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of Dell Briggers (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunset Motel (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sarah Palin: A New Kind of Leader (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Observations Regarding Non-Prime Odd Numbers (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Other People, Other Places (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Smoke and Mirrors(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joe Hilley is an American author of fiction. He had a previous life working as an attorney but left the field in order to pursue his dream of writing novels about things that he’s interested in. His 2008 nonfiction novel was titled Sarah Palin: A New Kind of Leader and explores the principles of leadership that Hilley claims made her so successful. He also wrote the 2009 fictional novel, What The Red Moon Knows. The book concerns an older lady that believes that she has seen Elvis standing next to a yellow Cadillac on the street.

Joe Hilley is also the author of The Mike Connolly Mystery Series. The first book is titled Sober Justice and it was released in 2004. It is where the reader is first introduced to the main character of Mike Connolly. He is an attorney that is somewhere in his fifties and spends most of his time where he resides on the Gulf Coast. He is not only divorced but an alcoholic and he is totally estranged from his family. There are five books in the series in total, ending with the fifth book, The Deposition.

Sober Justice is the first book in the Mike Connolly Mystery series. Mike is fifty-something years old and has a whole host of problems. He is an alcoholic whose drinking problem and choices caused him to get divorced. He is estranged from his family. He is an attorney whose life has totally fallen apart and the only thing that helps him to get through the day is a bottle of gin. That and the attention of the exotic dancer Marisa at that strip club located on the state line.

However, the attorney finds out that his life has just taken a turn when he gets a new appointment. He is going to defend a man who is indigent and has been charged with murdering the attorney of a prominent plaintiff. Mike takes the case and does his best to provide a suitable defense for his client. But things start to get out of hand quickly– a little too quickly for his taste.

Despite his good intentions, the lawyer quickly finds himself in a conspiracy that is beyond anything that he has ever faced before. As things go on, Connolly finds that a simple defense case has become so much more and now he is in the middle of a tangled web of lies, deceit, and intrigue unlike anything else that he has ever seen.

As the action continues, Mike is starting to wonder if his life is in jeopardy. All of this action is building up to a conclusion that will blow the reader’s mind as it speeds toward the end of the novel. Will the lawyer face his own mortality as outside forces work against him? Or will this time be different as a higher power intervenes to make circumstance bend to their will? Check out the exciting novel Sober Justice from Joe Hilley in order to take in every twist and turn in this gripping story.

Double Take is the second book in Joe Hilley’s exciting Mike Connolly Mystery series. Mike is totally lost in life, but that’s not going to stop the attorney from having to deal with all of life’s little bumps in the road. Everyone’s favorite alcoholic attorney is back and fresh off surviving getting killed as part of a huge conspiracy from his last case.

Things are a little better for Mike. He actually has gotten over his girlfriend, who used to live in his apartment and was a comforting presence. Even though he did use to drink quite a bit, he is now sober and remains sober– no more gin for him. He’s feeling a lot better and it seems like things are starting to improve little by little. If he can keep this up maybe he won’t crash and burn in a combination of booze and hitting the strip club.

Even though his life has improved on a personal level and he’s no longer drinking and totally dry, one thing that isn’t improving much is his law practice. The practice has been doing poorly for a while, but when Mike is asked to interview someone it may be his chance to turn things around with some fresh work and fresh cash injected into the business. Finally, things appear to be turning around.

Mike is finally asked to do a gig. The lawyer is asked to represent a former cop that was only ever suspected but not convicted of a murder. The murder is the bombing death of a case that involves the death by bombing of a Southern heir that was very wealthy and as far as suspects go, this is one of the only ones that was ever pinpointed by the authorities, and it was one of their own
— a police officer.

Mike really needs every bit of help that he can pull from strangers and friends along the way. This case is going to be more intense than any he’s worked in the past, he can already tell. As the case develops, he finds out that he is right. This case is way more complicated than ones he’s tackled previously and ends up involving everything from tons of money to drugs, spying, infidelity, violence and more.

The detective finds himself attempting to take on a case that might have him beat before he’s started. That’s no matter, as Connolly finds himself getting help unexpectedly along the way. Plus, when it comes to putting things together, he’s starting to enjoy a new sense of foresight that is making him see everything clearly.

This book is full of excitement and the classic mystery writing that one has come to expect from Hilley. Set in Mobile, Alabama in the Deep South and packed with all of the shrimping, strip clubs, bars, and southern entertainment you would expect if you love mysteries or Sober Justice you won’t want to miss a second of the action when it comes to this rip-roaring novel from Joe Hilley. Check out Double Take and get in on the adventure!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Joe Hilley

Leave a Reply