Book Notification

Joe Hunter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Joe Hunter Books

Dead Men's Dust (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Fall (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Judgement and Wrath (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slash and Burn (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cut and Run (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Ashes (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Men's Harvest (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Going Back (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rules of Honour (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Stripes (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lawless Kind (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Anvil (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hot Property (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Safe Place (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marked for Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Option (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joe Hunter is a man who used to be used as a weapon in his former life; he goes in after all the planning has been done and beats up on people. He is an ex-military officer and ex-CIA agent with an ability to find people. Joe used to hunt men as a counterterrorist agent in a Special Forces; he did this job for fourteen years. Joe is married, but the two have separated at the start of the first book. Their relationship evolves as the series goes on. He has a half-brother (named John) who goes missing in the first book of the series, and Joe must find him, even though the pair are not on the best of terms at the time he goes missing. He is told about John going missing by John’s ex-wife; she does not want him back, but does want him found for their kids’ sake. This woman has been left by John, when he wanted another woman.

Unlike Jack Reacher, Joe Hunter does not work alone; he has two people helping him out on his cases. The man’s name is Jared Rington (a.k.a. Rink), who used to work with Joe while they were both in the Special Forces. He is burly, half-Japanese and half-Scottish. He is also ex-Ranger and Joe’s best friend. Rink helps Joe in his cases by fighting with Joe, and by being a sounding board whenever the case comes to a stand still.

“Dead Man’s Dust” is the first book in Matt Hilton’s Joe Hunter series. Tubal Cain is a bright, sentimental, sneaky, and smug killer. He finds out that his favorite knife (one of his Bowie knives) has gone missing, he will stop at nothing to get the knife back. The person who stole it, is Joe Hunter’s brother. Bad news for both his brother and himself. Joe must find Cain to find his brother in an area that is said to be a prime dumping ground for dead bodies due to its ability to turn bones into dead man’s dust.

The book currently has 148 five star reviews on Goodreads. Fans of the book believe that this is the best action hero to be created in a decade. Readers enjoy that they keep turning the pages as they hope that Joe will find his brother. The book is filled to the brim with action, and will keep readers coming back for more stories about this character. Fans are easily able to finish the book off in one sitting, and feel that the book features writing that is engaging and professional. The plot, some say, features twists that are different from other thriller novels that they have read. Other fans think that this book starts with a simple premise of someone appealing to the main character to find someone, and throws it off balances when a very original villain comes along to drive the novel and make it even better.

Some readers did not like the book and felt that they had to force themselves to finish it. They found the dialogue to be what a twelve year old would have a tough guy say. Readers that did not like the book found that they could not get past the first 35 pages of the book. They found that it had weak plot, and was filled with a lot of killings that led readers to believe that there would be more to follow. Some find that they did not care about whether or not Joe is able to succeed in finding his brother.

“Judgment and Wrath” is the second book in Matt Hilton’s Joe Hunter series. After the events of “Dead Men’s Dust”, Joe has changed his life, partly by moving to Florida, in search of a quieter life. That quickly ends when a man asks him to find and bring home his daughter Marianne from an abusive millionaire boyfriend (named Bradley) that she has. Joe is told that he will need to use whatever means to get her back, Bradley will not let her go away that easily. Things get a little complicated when he sees that she is apparently happy and there seem to be no signs of abuse on Bradley’s part. A killer, by the name of Dantalion, is moving in on the couple, and only Joe can save them. Dantalion is a contract killer, who is not all there mentally; he believes that he is really a fallen angel (Dantalion is the name he goes by).

The book currently has 95 five star reviews on Goodreads. Fans enjoy that this book keeps them turning the pages until the very end, and does not skimp on action, but continues the tradition that the first book started. They like the way that you find out who the bad guy is as you read the book (almost as though the villain emerges from the shadows), as it is not very clear from the get go. Fans liked that they did not know what would happen next and keeps them flipping the pages in order to find out. Fans liked that the book kept them firmly on the edge of their seats the whole time they were reading.

While some readers believe that this character is the latest in a growing line of great characters, some are not. They believe that this character is too lucky and the plotting that is so present and sharp in the “Reacher” series, is missing and is drug out, creating several different denouements. Additionally, they feel that the book starts to mimic the first book in the series in the second half and fails to take this installment to new heights. Some readers felt that Matt Hilton makes too many references to the previous book that it becomes almost an advertisement for that book rather than as helping to develop Joe’s character.

It has been said that Hilton’s Joe Hunter series gives Lee Child’s “Jack Reacher”, series a run for its money. Some fans say that Joe Hunter is as good as Reacher, Repairman Jack, Joe Pike , and others.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Joe Hunter

Leave a Reply