Book Notification

Joe Plantagenet Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Joe Plantagenet Books

Seeking The Dead (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing with Bones (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kissing the Demons (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Watching the Ghosts (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walking by Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joe Plantagenet is the name of the main character in the crime fiction novel series of the same name. The series is written by noteworthy author Kate Ellis from Liverpool, United Kingdom. It features four different novels based on the mystery genre. The novels were published from 2008 to 2012. Author Kate Ellis is still working on the series and is expected to release the fifth installment of the series soon in 2015. The mysterious plots of the series are set in North Yorkshire, where the protagonist Joe Plantagenet works as a detective inspector. The series is regarded as a compelling thriller because of its mysterious plot settings. The first novel of the Joe Plantagenet series was titled ‘Seeking The Dead’ and was published in the year 2008 by Piatkus Books. It opens up with the introduction of Carmel Hennessy, who is depicted as beginning her new job in the country of North Yorkshire. In her initial observations, she finds out that Eborby, the historical city of North Yorkshire is gripped with fear of a killer who specializes in killing his victims by binding and asphyxiating them.

After killing the victims, the killer leaves their dead bodies in the isolated churchyards of the country in naked condition. The news of the specialized killer spreads all over North Yorkshire. He is given the name of the ‘Resurrection Man’ by the press. The protagonist Joe Plantagenet is introduced as a detective inspector to Carmel. He is newly appointed to serve in the North Yorkshire Police Department. He linkage with Carmel Hennessy is based on some tragic events from the past. Joe works under his new boss Emily Thwaite, who is the DCI of the region. His first job as the new detective inspector is to identify and catch the killer. Joe faces this difficult job in order to prevent other people from getting victimized by the killer. Based on his investigations, he comes to know that all the previous victims do not have anything in common except for the fact that they were killed in similar manners by the Resurrection Man. Further investigations lead Joe to a pub which has a criminal history. The lead from his detection force him to believe that the case might be linked with occult connections.

Soon, Carmel feels the presence of someone in her new flat and begins to receive threats in mysterious ways. She thinks of no one else but Joe, who assures her complete safety. Due the interference of Joe, the killer sets him as his next victim. Joe is required to react quickly and find out the ruthless killer before he endangers his life. The author, Kate Ellis was praised for her efforts in controlling the murder mysteries in the first series, in a well planned manner. The critics regarded the novel as the best read during the dark winter nights with rainfall pouring through the windows. A few others found it as a well written and an extremely enjoyable novel to read. One of the publishing houses described the novel as the combination of a Pacey plot, huge human interest and a perfectly readable style of writing by the author Kate Ellis. It was considered to be filled with an exotic story line that catches the eyes of the readers right from the first page. As it tends to move towards the conclusion, it keeps the readers guessing with distorted perceptions and unexpected parallel narrations. The unique fusion of the crime thriller and a ghost story by the author adds an exciting depth to the intricate plot of the novel. The novel series was considered as a marvelous addition to the list of series written by Kate Ellis. The well paced stories of the novels keep the readers engaged till the last page.

The second novel of the Joe Plantagenet series was published with the title ‘Playing With Bones’. It was published by Piatkus Books in the year 2009. It is based on the mysterious plot set around a haunted place in North Yorkshire named Singmass Close. It had a criminal past during the 1950s, when it was believed to be haunted by the ghosts of children. Using this false belief of the people, a ruthless killer named Doll Strangler used to commit his crimes. The place used to serve as his hunting ground and he was never caught and brought to justice. During the present times, several murders take place in the city in ways similar to that of the Doll Strangler. Detective Inspector Joe Plantagenet discovers the dead body of a teenager named Natalie Parkes in a strangled condition. He begins to suspect that someone is trying to copy killing style of Doll Strabgler after finding a mutilated doll near the dead body of Natalie Parkes. Later, the news of the disappearance of a young model and the escape of a convict, makes the job of Joe and his team even more difficult. They stretched beyond their limits in trying to nab the killer.

However, Joe’s continuous efforts and investigative questionings bring him closer to the killer. He also becomes successful in revealing the shocking connection between the murders. The second novel of he Joe Plantagenet series received wide appreciations from a large number of readers due to its exciting and spooky setting. The readers found the story of the novel quite gripping which enabled them to read it through. Author Kate Ellis has built the plot like an expert in the field of mystery and suspense. The climax of the novel seems quite unexpected with an exciting drama and thrill. Various publishing magazines have described the novel as spooky and thrilling in nature. Unlike the normal mystery novels, this one does not allow the readers to be able to guess the upcoming sequences of the plot and keeps them intrigued till the very end. The readers were also fascinated by the multifaceted character description of Joe Plantagenet. Author Kate Ellis was successful in showing her talent through the novel and received very good reviews from the critics as well as the fellow authors of the crime fiction and mystery genre. People loved to read the novel with great interest because of its coincident happenings and intriguing plots.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Joe Plantagenet

Leave a Reply