Book Notification

John Bierce Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mage Errant Books

Into the Labyrinth (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jewel of the Endless Erg (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Traitor in Skyhold (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost City of Ithos (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Siege of Skyhold (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tongue Eater (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Echo of the Lord of Bells (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gorgon Incident and Other Stories (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

John Bierce
John Bierce is a history and science buff, fantasy novelist, SFF fan, and general all around dork. John’s also got a background in the earth sciences. He’s also walked face first into automatic doors on multiple occasions, which is a real talent.

“Into the Labyrinth” is the first novel in the “Mage Errant” series and was released in 2018. Hugh of Emblin is, as far as he is concerned, the worst student that the Academy at Skyhold’s ever seen. He’s barely able to cast any spells, and those he does cast usually fail explosively.

If that was not bad enough, he has also managed to attract the ire of the most promising student of his entire year, who just happens to be a king’s nephew. Hugh’s got zero friends, no talent, and certainly does not expect a mage to pick him as an apprentice at all during the upcoming Choosing.

When an incredibly unusual mage does select him as apprentice, however, his life begins to take a sharper turn for the better. Now all he’s gotta worry about is the final test for first years. Getting sent into the horrifying labyrinth that’s below Skyhold.

John takes things we’re all familiar with from this genre and woven all of them into a uniquely new universe which feels both new yet familiar. His characters are developed just well enough to make us want to hear more.

“Jewel of the Endless Erg” is the second novel in the “Mage Errant” series and was released in 2019. Hugh and his friends, after surviving Skyhold’s lethal labyrinth, are just looking forward to having an uneventful summer. Alustin, their teacher, has chartered this sandship for training expedition into the vast sand sea known as the Endless Erg, and aiming for the powerful and wealthy desert city Theras Tel.

Hugh is happier than he has been in such a long time, and is quite excited for the sunshine, fresh air, and quiet. Obviously, given Hugh’s luck, their summer will be anything but quiet.

They are about to get thrust into a morass of warring cults, pirates, monsters, flesh tearing sandstorms, and a conspiracy Indris Stormbreaker, the dragon queen of Theras Tel herself. At least Hugh is going to have plenty of sunshine and fresh air.

“A Traitor in Skyhold” is the third novel in the “Mage Errant” series and was released in 2019. Hugh and his buddies have, to his great displeasure, become the center of attention among the student body of Skyhold. As it turns out surviving the depths of the labyrinth and helping stop a coup each tend to attract notice.

If Hugh had his own way, he would happily return to being yet another anonymous student. He’s got more than enough to deal with already while starting his second year, between training as a prospective candidate to the Librarians Errant, his crushing load of schoolwork, and navigating through a long distance relationship.

Oh, and there’s the little fact that Hugh and his buddies have just been dragged into catching a traitor on the Skyhold Council certainly does not make life any easier. Nor does it help that this traitor is working with the demon Bakori, who has been lurking in the depths of the labyrinth underneath Skyhold, just waiting for a chance to get revenge.

“The Lost City of Ithos” is the fourth novel in the “Mage Errant” series and was released in 2020. Half a millennium ago, the sphinx Kanderon Crux and all of her allies banished the city of Imperial Ithos out of the world of Anastis, in this desperate attempt to defeat the Ithonian Empire. The Exile Splinter, her dread weapon, even erased the memory of its location from the universe. Now it is returning, and bringing the Exile Splinter back with it.

The great powers of this continent are desperately hunting for the site of the lost city, knowledge that’s even lost to Kanderon herself. No one knows what ancient Ithonian weapons and enchantments may still be found in these ruins, however even the Exile Splinter alone would be a prize justifying war.

Hugh and his friends find themselves getting dragged into this search, where they will face sea monsters, enemy warlocks, liches, a man eating tiger, and unnatural storms. There is something they’re not being told about this lost city, though. Something that has even Kanderon and the other great powers horrified.

“The Siege of Skyhold” is the fifth novel in the “Mage Errant” series and was released in 2021. The Havath Dominion is marching to war. Embarrassed in the ruins of Imperial Ithos, The Exile Splinter getting stolen out of their grasp by the ancient sphinx Kanderon Crux, Havath’s Duarchs have amassed an army which dwarfs the whole population of Skyhold. Led by their Great Powers, mages and monsters that are individually capable of leveling a whole city, they pose this threat which even Kanderon, one of the mightiest of Great Powers, and her equally monstrous allies may be unable to stop.

While the Havathi forces keep pushing even closer to Skyhold, Hugh and his buddies train relentlessly, hoping they can make a difference in the upcoming siege. As they venture into the dangerous realms of untested experimental magic, however, they are already all caught up in currents well beyond their control. Once you are a pawn in the Great Powers’ games, there is no escape.

“The Wrack” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2020. Plague has come to the continent of Teringia.

While the Wrack makes its slow and relentless march southwards, it’ll humble healers and kings, merchants and seers, warriors and priests. Behind, it just leaves suffering and screams, while before it, spreads fear.

Lothian, which is the birthplace of the Wrack, desperately attempts to hold itself together while the plague starts burning its way across it and its neighbors start circling like vulture. The Moonsworn healers would battle against the Wrack, however they have to navigate violence and distrust from the peoples of Teringia, Proud Galicanta prepares itself for war, while the Sunsworn Empire is watching and waiting for the Wrack to bring its rival low.

And the Wrack advances, fully unconcerned with the men’s plans.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Bierce

Leave a Reply