Book Notification

John Boyne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Thief of Time (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Congress of Rough Riders (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crippen (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Next of Kin (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mutiny on the Bounty (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Special Purpose (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Noah Barleywater Runs Away (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Absolutist (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
This House Is Haunted (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stay Where You Are and Then Leave (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A History of Loneliness (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy at the Top of the Mountain (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart's Invisible Furies (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ladder to the Sky (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Brother's Name is Jessica (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Traveler at the Gates of Wisdom (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Echo Chamber (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Broken Places (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Water (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Earth (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Beneath the Earth (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Grist Anthology of New Writing(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
From the Republic of Conscience(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dubliners 100(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond the Stars: Twelve Tales of Adventure, Magic and Wonder(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

John Boyne is an Irish author of fiction. He was born in 1971 in Ireland and currently lives in Dublin. In his time as an author, he has written many books and also won a few awards ever since he got started. He has been the recipient of the Bistro Book of the Year Award. He has also found himself on the short list when it comes to many considerations for literary prizes abroad for his works.

John Boyne’s works have sold very well and his novels can be found all around the world as they have been published in over forty languages. He came out with multiple other books after that, including The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, and countless more novels. The Pajamas book was about the Holocaust and was developed into a movie in 2008. The books have sold over five million copies and Boyne has said that unlike his other novels, the concept took him just over two days to sketch out.

John Boyne has contributed to the collections From the Republic of Conscience as well as The Great War and Beneath the Earth. Boyne also contributed to two series, Open Door Series 6 and The Second Child as well as Quick Reads 2009’s The Dare. He also wrote The Brockets Get a Dog as part of the Beyond the Stars series.

The Thief of Time features the main characters of Matthieu Zeia. It is the 18th century– the year 1758 to be exact. John Boyne takes readers back into the pages of history with this gripping tale. We start off with Zeia fleeing the streets of Paris in order to go to Dover. He is doing so because he saw his mother get murdered at the hands of his stepfather. His stepfather was caught for it and executed as a result, and Matthieu wants nothing more to get out of Paris for good and move on with his life, taking care of the ones that he loves. There can be no life for him here.

Complicating things is the fact that Matthieu has his brother Tomas in tow. He is five years old and Matthieu does everything that he can to look out for him. Along with the two brothers is the beautiful Dominique Sauvet, someone that Matthieu would call his one true love in the universe. He is tasked with looking after all of them, and he’s going to do his best to make sure that they all get to Dover okay and in one piece.

Violence is how Matthieu’s life started. While the origin point of much of what happens to him is the murder, his life is characterized by an even more defining feature. It may be the eighteenth century but he is someone that has actually ceased to age. So while he had a very traumatic start to his life, he is fully equipped to look after the people that he loves– at least he thinks he does.

By the time he gets to the close of the twentieth century, this unique man can say something that no one else can: that he’s lived several lives. And indeed he has, and worked in many fields and worn many hats. He has been a movie mogul and a rogue, an engineer and a soldier. He has also worked as an executive for cable TV and a financier. He’s been doing more than just taking up odd jobs, however: he has taken many lovers in this time as well. Gone is the lovely Dominique, but there are plenty of others that come along the way.

Matthieu never expected his old life to fade away so quickly. Everything about it seems really ephemeral, and he remembers it even as he continues to experience life. So much has happened to him during the course of one lifetime– more than many men could ever fit into ten. There is everything in this, from love to treachery to murder, passion, despair, and more. Will he live forever or end up dying? You’ll have to pick up this exciting book to find out!

The Congress of Rough Riders is the second fictional novel written by John Boyne. This one is set a little later, in the seventies and later on in London. The main character in this book is William Cody. Brought up alone in the world by Issac, his father. There is definitely a huge generation gap between the father and son. But Issac does his best to bring up his young son alone in the world. He tells William the stories of their ancestry and ancestors. He likes to tell him in particular about Issac’s grandfather and William’s great-grandfather– who happened to be the famous cowboy out of history, Buffalo Bill.

William decides to go to Japan in his twenties. In the meantime, he escapes his father and the stories of Buffalo Bill, which are becoming increasingly brought up amongst his stories. He falls in love with a woman while they are abroad named Hitomi. She is someone who reminds him of nothing– she is totally different from the world that he left behind, which was full of storytelling, ancestry, and history. They have a magical time together, but eventually, William goes back to England to see his father.

His father has a plan for him and William is dismayed to learn that Issac is talking about a business plan (which involves money) and Buffalo Bill (which is starting to seem like a delusion). Buffalo Bill was an invented fantasy, according to his father, and he was not really a historical figure of the Wild West but a stage presence who toured the states with his stage show.

Issac proposes that his son and he introduce the shows to a contemporary audience and bring the show back to life, all while attempting to make their fortune. But William, who sees the folly of such a plan, refuses. He leaves England and once more runs into Hitomi. But when something horrible happens, William must come back to England once more. Lyrical and unforgettable, this is a novel that you can’t forget. Pick it up today and find out what happens with William, Issac, and Hitomi in this incredible story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Boyne

Leave a Reply