Book Notification

John Burdett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sonchai Jitpleecheep Books

Bangkok 8 (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bangkok Tattoo (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bangkok Haunts (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godfather of Kathmandu (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vulture Peak (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bangkok Asset (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Six Million Seconds (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Personal History Of Thirst (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

John Patrick Burdett was born on 24th July 1951 in England, United Kingdom. Little is known regarding his early life or his family.

He can be best described as a British crime novelist in the literature world. He is the best-selling author of many books including Bangkok Tattoo, The Godfather of Kathmandu, and Bangkok 8.

John Burdett went to Warwick University, where he studied English and American Literature, specializing in metaphysical poetry and Shakespeare. However, as a result of his despair at the time of British political and economic crises of the 1970s, Burdett became a lawyer.

Burdett lived and practiced law for twelve years in Hong Kong. Eventually, after accumulating sufficient funds, he left law to pursue a career in writing novels. Reportedly splitting his time between Bangkok and France currently, he continues to research his novels in different locations in Thailand.

Of his work as an author, he is most well known for The Sonchai Jitpleecheep Series. In the series, John Burdett introduces us to Sonchai, who is a “leuk krung” or half-caste. Sonchai is the son of a former “rented-wife,” a prostitute. Sonchai’s father is a U.S military officer whom he has never known.

Having spent part of his early life in the United States and Europe, Sonchai has acquired some cultural insights, yet he is considered a “born outsider.” Due to the circumstances surrounding his life, Sonchai finds himself constantly alienated from his colleagues.

Based in Thailand, the series involves the red-light districts of Bangkok and Thailand’s sex industry. It presents the conflicting norms and morals of Thailand and Western states, with characters brought to life through humor and sometimes bizarre crimes.

Bangkok 8, the first book in the series, is set in what John calls a city like no other, one of the world’s most exotic. It opens with the murder of a Marine sergeant.

The sergeant is murdered in front of goggling spectators under a Bangkok bridge, unable to escape a Mercedes-Benz. Among the witnesses are Sonchai Jitpleecheep and his partner, but his partner is also murdered and Sonchai is on a mission for revenge.

As Sonchai investigates the murder of his colleague, he is grudgingly forced to accept the help of a female FBI agent to help him. As the two try to capture the killer, Sonchai ends up winning the heart of Agent Jones. Sonchai finds himself embroiled in a world more evil than he had thought, and his quest for vengeance puts him at the center of sinister intrigue.

In the second book, Bangkok Tattoo, Sonchai has to investigate the death of a foreigner whose mutilated body was found in a Bangkok brothel jointly owned by Sonchai’s boss and his mother. The foreigner was a CIA agent, and the prime suspect is Chanya. Chanya is not only beautiful but is also the brothel’s top earner and above that, Sonchai has loved her for some time. Sonchai is torn between his loyalties. If he solves the murder, he may send Chanya to prison. If he considers a cover-up, he endangers his karma.

The published works of John Burdett have been considered for films; however, the multi-racial characters and exotic location have made casting and scriptwriting difficult. Millennium Films and Sony Pictures have both purchased the rights to some of the novels.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Burdett

4 Responses to “John Burdett”

  1. Kit Laughlin: 2 years ago

    And just bought both. Thanks Graeme.

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      You’re welcome 🙂

  2. Heinz Haublein: 2 years ago

    Why aren’t John Burdett’s Death Effect and Freedom Angel available anywhere?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Heinz – they are both ebooks only.


Leave a Reply