Book Notification

John Dalmas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Yngling Books

The Yngling (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Homecoming (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Yngling and the Circle of Power (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Yngling In Yamato (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The FanglithBooks

Publication Order of The Regiment Books

The Regiment (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Regiment (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kalif's War (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Regiment's War (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Three-Cornered War (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lizard War Books

The Lizard War (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Helverti Invasion (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lion of Farside Books

The Lion of Farside (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bavarian Gate (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lion Returns (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The MilleniumBooks

The Second Coming (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Signature of God (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chronicle from the 31st Century Books

Soldiers! Volume 1 (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soldiers! Volume 2 (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Varkaus Conspiracy (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Touch the Stars (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scroll of Man (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reality Matrix (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Walkaway Clause (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Playmasters (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The General's President (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lantern of God (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soldiers (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Puppet Master (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Analog Science Fiction, November 1969(1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
Analog Science Fiction Science Fact, November 1986(1986)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author John Robert Jones (who wrote science fiction under the name John Dalmas) was born on December 3, 1926. Dalmas grew up in Michigan and Minnesota, and for a time, lived in Spokane, Washington where he moved with Gail (his wife), their daughter and one grandson, starting in the year 1985. He died on June 15, 2017.

He majored in forestry, but took creative writing while at Michigan State, and would later go back to college, and get a degree in Ecology, which at the time, no one had really heard of. This PhD course he was a part of led to almost twenty years of research, a lot of which was done in the plateaus and mountains of states such as New Mexico, Arizona, and Colorado. John took creative writing course, during his time obtaining his first forestry degree,
that was taught by two professors, Bradshaw and Randall; one thing was unusual for these two professors: they actually wrote fiction for a living.

During the second world war, he served as a parachute infantryman, and in the year 1946, he was discharged without seeing much harm. Through the WW2 GI Bill he was able to attend college the first time. During his life, he had quite a few jobs outside of writing, some jobs that he had include: construction worker, longshoreman, smoke jumper, and merchant seaman.

“The Yngling” was his first published novel, which was originally serialized in Analog during its October-November 1969 issue. John had become dedicated to reading science fiction stories, as well as magazines focused on men’s adventure. He started writing the book after reading a novel that was poorly written titled “Brak the Barbarian” in August of 1968 and thought he would be able to write something that was better. By March of 1969, the book had sold.

Under the John Dalmas name, he wrote the “Lion of Farside” series as well as the “Yngling” series, the “Fanglith” books, and “Lizard War” books. Under the John Jones name, he wrote about governmental and military themes.

“The Lion of Farside” is the first novel in the “Lion of Farside” series and was released in the year 1995. Macurdies are a farming family, and had been for generations. Curtis Macurdy was content just living his life with Varia (his exotically gorgeous wife) and making a living tilling his piece of land in America’s Midwest. She has green eyes and red hair.

Varia comes from a place called Yuulith, which is a magical place that is separated from the Earth by a dimensional barrier that can be broached during certain times. She is abducted by her own family and they take her back to her magical homeland of Yuulith.

He buys a revolver and a rifle, and goes in pursuit for her. There are complications that pop up. His guns will not work, magic runs rampant, and he gets captured by some slavers the instant he goes into the new world.

“The Bavarian Gate” is the second novel in the “Lion of Farside” series and was released in the year 1997. Curtis Macurdy has two lives he leads. He is a farmer on planet Earth, but on the opposite side of a hidden cross dimensional gate in Yuulith, he is an unstoppable mystic warrior. He is known as the Lion of Farside.

The war has ended and Curtis simply hopes that he go back to life as a simple farmer. Trouble grows in Europe, while Hitler rises up to power. The Nazis threaten much more than just Earth’s fate.

“The Lion Returns” is the third novel in the “Lion of Farside” series and was released in the year 1999. Curtis goes through the gate into a place where his peculiarities are not cursed, but honored. It is here that he finds some old foes and one more war he must fight. He also finds a peace that comes with a large price. His old rival starts preparing a major weapon of doom.

Some felt this book has a good ending to it, and it was a wonderful read, something that they are glad they picked up in the first place. This is an interesting series, if you are expecting something fun and light.

“The Yngling” is the first novel in the “Yngling” series and was released in the year 1971. Earth in the year 2081. European tribes are ripped apart by some petty rivalries and broken apart into some factions at war. They are unable to unite against the Kazi the Undying’s evil legions. A hero, or Yngling, has to emerge, or it will mean the fall of Europe forever.

He is called Nils, he is a fiar youth that has a seasoned warrior’s iron arm. He is a leader of men from the Barbarians’ Dark Lands. It is Nils that has the supra natural power to view the Kazi the Undying’s mind. Nils is also the one that is going to be able to bring the European tribes in union to fight of Kazi’s horrible hordes. Nils has to take the title of Yngling, and quickly. Who would take the boasts of a simple stripling? Will any of these tribes vouch for this young alien and give him a sacred sword for conquest?

Fans felt this was a superb novel and were glad they had read it, finding it to be a fun fantasy escapist read. It is a thoroughly enjoyable read, and is full of interesting characters with an excellent flow to the story being told here. Some would be interested in reading more from this interesting and entertaining series. These books are able to transport readers, not just to the time they are set in, but even to the period that they were published in.

“The Yngling in Yamato” is the fifth novel in the “Yngling” series and was released in the year 1994. with all of the neo-Vikings roaming this post-apocalyptic world, the Yngling is a mystic warrior that has no tribes and is the peacemaker and lawgiver of this world.

He is now aided by his buddies of the Star Men friends. He heads off to Japan to talk with a prominent holy man. The voyage is a disaster and it proves to be a monumental challenge for all involved.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John Dalmas

Leave a Reply