Book Notification

John H. Cunningham Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Buck Reilly Adventure Books

Red Right Return (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Green To Go (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crystal Blue (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Chance Gold (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maroon Rising (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Free Fall to Black (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silver Goodbye (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Knight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Indigo Abyss (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Purple Deceiver (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried in Orange (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tropical Adventure Books

Graceless (With: Nick Sullivan,Wayne Stinnett,Nicholas Harvey) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Timeless (With: Nick Sullivan,Wayne Stinnett,Nicholas Harvey) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shameless (By: David F. Berens,Steven Becker,Chris Niles,Douglas Pratt) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Priceless (By: Deborah Brown,Don Rich,Nicholas Harvey) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faceless (By: Nick Sullivan,A.J. Stewart,Chris Niles,Nicholas Harvey,Douglas Pratt) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

John H. Cunningham

John H. Cunningham is a fiction author best known for his Buck Reilly Adventure series. After working as a bouncer for a nightclub in the Key West, a pilot, diver, commercial developer, and magazine editor, Cunningham decides to settle on what he enjoyed most, writing. This talented author has lived in or visited all the islands highlighted in his series, and he says that he has seen enough in his travels to keep the words flowing for a long time to come. Cunningham splits his time between New York, Virginia, and the Key West as he manages a real estate business, his writing career, and carries out his roles as a father and a husband.

Red Right Return

Red Right Return comes first in the Buck Reilly Adventure series. The book introduces Buck Reilly, a man who has hit rock bottom more than enough time. Buck started as a treasure-hunting internet millionaire before everything came crushing, and he ended up in bankruptcy. His wife left a while later, and once the bankruptcy was investigated, the FBI descended on what was left of his company. As if this is not enough, his parents pass on, leaving him in sadness and in despair. People will not stop talking about his failures, and his business partner is already incarcerated. To escape all the troubles in his life, Buck decides to move to the Florida Keys.

In the freaky Florida Keys, Buck is looking forward to some quiet time and a break. He has Jimmy Buffet’s seaplane, which he hopes to use to offer salvage shuttle service while treasure hunting in his free time. Buck has never been a bad guy; he just made a few mistakes and involved himself with all the wrong guys. While he hoped that life in the Florida Keys would be easy, things begin to change when he unknowingly ferries a local minister’s daughter to a missionary boat headed to Cuba. When the missionary boat is reported missing, the minister asks for Buck’s help to salvage it. It turns out that there are powerful forces that do not want the boat found or buck anywhere near it.

Things turn political when some people state that they should finish up whatever was started between Cuba and the USA in the 1960s. As this unfolds, Buck’s secret past is revealed, so he will be fighting to maintain his dignity as he works to solve the mystery and possibly rescue the missing girl. It is refreshing having such a wonderfully strong protagonist. Buck has his flaws, but he is also an honest man trying to give the world his best. The plot is outstanding, and the author introduces twists that help keep the story fresh and entertaining. From his writing, it is clear that Cunningham has a deep love for the ocean, Florida, and seaplanes.

Red Light Return is an intriguing story starring a lone amateur detective with a complicated past. Buck is trying hard to fly under the radar only to be caught up in a political issue that is way beyond him. He will be forced to investigate a mysterious disappearance and make all the mistakes you expect from an amateur. Fortunately, Buck has his old flying boat and ingenuity to help him navigate the murky waters he finds himself in. Will the minister’s daughter be found? What about the looming battle in Cuba? If you are looking for a fun read for the holidays, this book is perfect.

Green to Go

Green to Go comes second in the Buck Reilly Adventure series. The book picks up where the last one ended with Buck finally solving the puzzle behind his parent’s Swiss bank account. Thanks to the unexpected contents in the accounts, Buck has a chance to dig himself out of his deep financial hole. However, he must recover the clues and treasure maps he lost at sea before accessing the accounts. When a friend is accused of organizing the biggest theft in the region’s history, the FBI brings up Buck’s past and uses it against him. Now Burk has to halt his plan and help find the thieves who escaped using a hundred-year-old schooner. It doesn’t matter that he had nothing to do with this theft.

What Burk doesn’t know is that his search for the thieves and treasures would pit him against rogue Cuban police, a mercenary, and Peruvian rebels. There is also a beautiful woman in the middle of it all who doesn’t know whether to help Buck or turn him over to the police. How Buck’s life would have been different had he not been at the wrong place and time. Now his friend’s lives are in his hands, and he has to fight people who are more powerful than he could ever imagine. Buck will be making a trip all the way to Panama in search of answers, and his old enemies in Cuba will not be making his life any easier.

Like everyone else, Buck is trying to make money as he hopes for better times. He doesn’t ask questions when people charter his seaplane as long as it is making him money. His no-questions-asked policy is going to land him in trouble a few times, but somehow, he always manages to find a way out of it. Join Buck on yet another romp across continents. His mechanic and Betty will be with him throughout the adventures, and it is going to take a lot of luck to get Buck out of trouble. Will Buck manage to recover the treasures?

Green to Go is another adventure-filled story filled with unforeseen twists, great characters, and a solid plot. You will think that you know how the story is going to end, only for an unforeseen turn to throw you completely off-guard. It is amazing how the author manages to make the story light-hearted while highlighting serious political issues. Buck continues to evolve, and he remains positive despite his misfortunes. There is also something about the settings and their descriptions that will make you want to keep on reading. This is a great holiday read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John H. Cunningham

Leave a Reply