Book Notification

John L. Campbell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Omega Days Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Cruel and Bitter Nothing (As: Atticus Wulf) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Judge from Salem (As: Atticus Wulf) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cannibal Kingdom (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Red Circus (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
In The Falling Light (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

John L. Campbell

Author John L. Campbell was born in Chicago, and went to college in New York and North Carolina. Besides writing, his jobs have included store detective, investigator, bouncer, and limousine driver. Campbell has studied Kendo, and has been professionally trained in interrogation.

His short fiction has appeared in numerous online ezines, anthologies, and literary magazines. He writes the “Omega Days” series of zombie apocalypse novels.

A short fiction piece, called “Courageous Little Philomena’s Wondrous Bait” was nominated for a Pushcart Prize in the year 2013. The next year, he was a juror for the Bram Stoker Awards.

He is a member of both the Horror Writers Association and the International Thriller Writers, and he is active on the comic and horror convention circuits.

“Omega Days” is the first novel in the “Omega Days” series, which was released in the year 2013. Eight million walking dead are stalking the streets of the San Francisco Bay Area, and there are more on the way. Scattered refugees, including: a college girl turned sniper, a priest with a bloody past, and some escaped San Quentin inmates as well as others are going to learn some important rules of survival. Don’t fall behind. Make your bullets count. Most importantly of all: do not get bitten.

Readers had a ton of fun while reading this book, and found parts exciting and quite intense. The progression of the zombie epidemic is seen through different perspectives, telling multiple stories all at once. Fans enjoyed how there is a bunch of action and characters to sink your teeth right into.

“Ship of the Dead” is the second novel in the “Omega Days” series, which was released in the year 2014. The weeks after the Omega Virus outbreak, survivors make up desperate clusters, as they unite to defend against some hordes of walking dead. They are only able to hide for so long.

Father Xavier Church never wanted to become a leader. Nevertheless, he has grown attached to all of his fellow survivors, and he is not going to allow anybody to cause them harm. Although, he might be the one that leads them to destruction inadvertently.

Ex-con Bill Carnes may be craving his freedom, but he still prefers to stick with the group rather than going to Mexico with TC, his former cellmate. He could be changing, or TC has a look in his eyes that is much more dangerous than the undead.

EMT Rosa Escobedo gave up all her hope the moment she saw the man she loved rise up from the dead. A patient appears to begin getting better, she can’t help herself in hoping for a cure, even if she has to risk her own life.

While the numbers of dead continue to rise, the living runs out of safe havens. Especially when their biggest threats are lying in their own ranks.

Campbell does a great job of allowing you to connect with each and every character in the book. He gets you rooting for them, and you want to see them make it through, despite all of the danger surrounding them. Readers enjoyed the cliffhangers, the detail, comedy, and suspense found here.

“Drifters” is the third novel in the “Omega Days” series, which was released in the year 2015. Those that have survived the Omega Virus make a desperate attempt to find the living. However, the walking dead are far from finished with them.

Vladimir Yurish, a helicopter pilot, is a man of his word. The last thing in the world he wants to do is to abandon the safety aboard the U. S. S. Nimitz as well as his newly adopted kid Ben. A promise is a promise, and it does not matter just how close to death it will bring him.

Angie West has battled hard to keep the strangers alive, now it is time for her to see to her own. She discovers that her family is missing with their hideout looted and burned. It makes her realize the threat to her family is not only the undead, but it is the living that is able to do a lot worse.

Given the circumstances, Halsey has done pretty well for himself. Between his precise shooting and remote ranch, the plague has yet to touch him. That ends when a Black Hawk crashes on his property, and brings the war right to his own front door.

The survivors encounter a new threat, amid all the chaos of their destroyed civilization. Nobody can out run or outwit these new monsters.

Campbell does a great job here of getting your attention, and then making you nervous about what is going to happen next. The book has a smaller scale, as it focuses more on the main characters, which is something readers liked about the book.

“Crossbones” is the fourth novel in the “Omega Days” series, which was released in the year 2015. As leader of the U. S. S. Nimitz survivors, Father Xavier Church is required to make some difficult choices, but he has still protected his entire flock. Only thing is, his fortress is close to falling, and this time around, he may not be able to save all of them.

Most people lost everybody they loved to the walking dead, only Evan Tucker had no one to lose. The people onboard the Nimitz are the closest thing to family that he has ever had. He is going to fight until his last breath to make sure there is nothing comes between them; doesn’t matter if it is the living or the undead.

Elizabeth Kidd, Coast Guard captain, has always been a professional, the exact opposite of her cruel pirate ancestor bearing the same name. The Omega Virus does not just turn people into zombies, as for some, the change is a lot more nefarious and more subtle.

While the safe-haven on the Nimitz gets besieged by brutal marauders and horrifying Hobgoblins, they are faced with the most deadly obstacle they have ever faced so far. One that they have got no chance of beating: nature’s cruel whims.

Book Series In Order » Authors » John L. Campbell

Leave a Reply