Book Notification

John Milton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of John Milton Books

Chronological Order of John Milton Books

1,000 Yards(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tarantula(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleepers(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cleaner(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saint Death(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Driver(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sword of God(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salvation Row(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Headhunters(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ninth Step(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jungle(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackout(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alamo(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Redeemer(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twelve Days(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bright Lights(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man Who Never Was(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killa City(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ronin(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Let Me Down Again(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bulletproof(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sandman(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uppercut(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodlands(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Sin(2025)Description / Buy at Amazon
John Milton also appears in the Beatrix Rose novel Phoenix and the Group Fifteen novella Scorpion.

The John Milton series of books follows a dangerous hitman known as John Milton. He is the one that the government sends after people when everything else has failed and they need to get the job done. Milton treates his work like an art or a craft, and he is brilliant and ruthless at his chosen profession. He’s been at the job for ten years when The Cleaner, the first book in the series, begins and is now looking to get out. Unfortunately for him, this isn’t the type of job that a person can just walk away from.

The series of books is written by Mark Dawson. He is an English author who grew up between Manchester and Chicago. Prior to becoming an author, Dawson worked as a lawyer as well as in the London Film industry. Mark was a child of the 80s and one of the influences on John Milton was the film, The Equalizer. He currently makes his home in Wiltshire with his family. In addition to writing the John Milton series, Dawson is also the author of the Soho Noir series.

The Cleaner is the first book in the John Milton series. The story introduces us to the ultimate problem solver in John Milton. The British government only calls him when they need to take care of the worst of the worst. He is sent after enemies of the state that the Secret Service and military have been unable to stop. He’s great at his job, but after years of service he is starting to struggle with it. Milton is now plagued with nightmares and makes the decision that his next job will be his last. When he’s finished he hopes to start making amends for all of the things that he has done.

He ends up in the East End of London where a young mother needs his help getting her son off of the streets. He’s fallen in with a gang with a charismatic leader that is unwilling to let him go. This is an unfamiliar enemy for him and he’s not quite sure how to handle it. Then he’s given a job by his employer that sends him after another agent which puts even more on his plate.

The John Milton series continues with Saint Death. The story of this one picks up six months later as Milton has been off the grid. He surfaces in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico where he is then drawn into a battle against some narco-gangs that control the area. A young journalist reporting on the area is targeted for death by the gangs, but Milton manages to save her which puts a target on his back. Now, Milton will need to smuggle the reporter into Texas if he wants to keep her safe. The narco-gangs aren’t messing around though and they send the legendary assassin Santa Muerta – Saint Death – to stop them.

The Driver is the next book in the series and Milton is starting to have hope for his future. He’s taken a job in San Francisco as a taxi driver which has given him not only solitude, but anonymity as well. That invisibility to the world has given him a comfort that he hasn’t felt in some time and he doesn’t want to be found. Then one day he takes a woman to a party and then she goes missing, followed by two dead bodies which lead police to consider him a suspect. The attention is the exact opposite of what he needs and could draw him attention from those who is trying to stay away from. The body count rises and as the details begin to emerge, Milton is looking like he was at the wrong place at the wrong time. In order to protect himself, he’ll set out to put a stop to these murders.

The eleventh book in the John Milton series is called The Alamo and finds Milton in New York. He finds Coney Island in the off-season to be a great place to escape to. There are few people and a lot of peace and quiet, just what he needs. That peace and quiet doesn’t last long though when a local boy witnesses a murder and Milton decides to investigate. The case will lead him to a vicious drug kingpin and a precinct known as The Alamo that is filled with crooked crops.

Redeemer is the twelfth book in the series and takes place in Rio de Janeiro. He’s here to see an old army friend who runs a private security company. One day, a bodyguard doesn’t show up for work and Milton offers to take his place for the night. It’s a simple job to take the wife and daughter of a judge to a recital, but things quickly go awry when the girl is taken off the street and Milton nearly killed. Now, he needs to find the girl and take care of the ones who did it. The people here think that Milton is old and washed up, but they couldn’t be more wrong. His lethal quest will take him right into the heart of darkness in Rio.

The twentieth book in the series is The Bulletproof. Milton has been outrunning his past for a long time now, but his enemies have remained close on his tail. Now he’s been captured by his former organization and they are demanding another job for him in exchange for his freedom. He’s assigned as a bodyguard for a weapons deal between Russia and India. Milton has worked with the billionaire Tristan Huxley before, but his world has gotten much darker since Milton saw him last. Now he has the chance to wipe his slate clean for good, but can he really trust them to keep their word on the deal? Can he get out of this one alive?

Book Series In Order » Characters » John Milton

Leave a Reply